Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frostproof Middle/Senior High School

Public | 6-12 | 1020 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 19, 2009

One of the best: even there is no money for betterments, as in extracurriculum activities, drama, dancing, mimics, since the performances for this excellent teathre are unque and specials that we hardly can wait... Concert, stage dramas and alikes are the best ever to happen in this small community...Thank you 4 the tremendously good performances the almost profecionals ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

I am a student here and this school is great! The teachers care about the students and the achievement levels if the students care, too. This is the best school in the county! To the person who said our school is dirty, horrible, etc, you're wrong! There's bullies in every school and it just happened that your son was targeted by the one here! I personally don't think there is a bullying problem here and I've been going here since sixth grade. Now I'm in eighth grade, almost ninth, and I have never saw a bullying problem. The acadmic area in this school is good, too. We recieve high test scores and the teachers prepare us well for the FCAT. This school is the best ever! -> Christa Jones
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2008

Frostproof is the best school I could sent my kids. Go Bulldogs!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

Frostproof High School is a great school. It is a safe place for children of all academic levels to learn. Teachers are cooperative and encouraging. They never give up on your child as long as the parents are also willing to be supportive. As a former student I might not have made it through these tough years if it wasn't for the teachers.


Posted March 9, 2008

First of all whoever wrote that disgrace of a comment about my school, needs to read this. Just because your kids were bullied by a low self-esteemed idoit does not mean that our school is dirty, smelly or horrible. I will have you know that i recieved a 6 (highest possible grade) on the writing part of FCAT last year thanks to my wonderful teachers & the advice of my principle. I do not appreciate ignorant people as yourself that go around blaming others for their mistakes. Yes some teachers are not as great but overall our school is one of the top schools i have attended. I would recommend this school to everone. Compared to schools that are in the rest of this country this school is a safe environment and a great place to learn. I am proud to be a bulldog! ------Fabiola Hernandez (freshman, 2011)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2007

This is the cleanest, most well run school in Polk County. The principal and administrators circulate through every class every day. We have excellent parent involvement and great kids. One of the finest small schools in America.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 23, 2007

This school was probably the dirtiest, smelliest, most horribly run school I have ever seen in my life. The teachers seemed to care nothing of the students, along with the pricipals. I wouldn't recommend this school to ANYONE! My son was bullied the six months we lived there, and nothing was ever done about it by faculty. The last day we lived in that town I pulled both my kids out due to the disrespect from the pricipal towards me about my son. Let's just say this school has a long way to go until it is five star material.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

THIS IS THE BEST SCHOOL EVER
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2005

FMSHS is a great school. 8th graders received a 4.0 on there Florida writes. FMSHS has a 14 to 1 student to teacher ratio. Us kids feel safe with the officer on duty all the time. As a student I would not chose any other schools to attend to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2005

Frostproof Middle/Senior has quality academic programs. They have experienced teachers and a great administration. There are many opportunities for students to become involved. Parent involvement is very active.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 4, 2004

As a former student of this school - Frostproof was an amazing and safe environment. It had the best and newest facilities and is a great school!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

169 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

170 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

150 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
23%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

147 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

140 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
32%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Hispanic 36%
Black 12%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 65%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 76%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 61%66%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:05am
School end time
  • 2:15pm
School Leader's name
  • MR. W. KYLE WINDAM
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (863) 635-7812

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 North Palm Avenue
Frostproof, FL 33843
Website: Click here
Phone: (863) 635-7809

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Virtue Academy
Frostproof, FL


Bok Academy
Lake Wales, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT