Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charles W. Duval Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 310 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

They have tutoring afterschool. Tutoring on the weekends. Tutoring during school hours. Accommodations are provided with 504 plans, and for children with Individual Education Plans.


Posted December 4, 2010

I study elementary schoool many years ago in 1992, im from mexico and whant to find my old friends there, if someone can help me i will apreseate it, my name is mario camino valencia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

I am incredibly proud of the Duval School. On of the greatest creative teachers works there. Ms Gloria Merriex is one of the best Math and Reading iteachers. She uses creative strategies to teach children. She ahsalso developed teaching schools to helpf parents with their children. I am so olease that Dr. McNeally the principal, is present for ever event. I enjoy seeing my child happy to go to school. I recommend Duval to any parent. Check there school scores to see what I mean. I am a proud parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

My son has attended Duval since kindergarden and we have seen all of its progressions and successes. The staff genuinely cares for the kids and the children are given numerous opportunities to excel. My son will be transitioning to middle school in August and I am confident that he is well prepared. I would recommemend the school to anyone! Way to go Duval..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2006

I am a student at the University of Florida, and I did my first practicum in the Elementary Education PROTEACH program at Duval. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. The teachers at Duval set their students up for success, and the students are given so many opportunities that they otherwise would not have. I learned so much in this environment, and I am considering applying for a job there after I graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2004

Duval is a great school that has made great strides in improvement. The teachers have genuine care for each student. I would recommend that parents consider sending their child to this school. It offers a great learning environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2003

Wonderful school with a fine arts program that no other school offers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

It's a pleasure to be a part of the Duval Dragon family. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
24%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
28%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 93%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%44%61%
Master's degree 50%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. LAWSON BROWN
Fax number
  • (352) 955-6967

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2106 Northeast 8th Avenue
Gainesville, FL 32641
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 955-6703

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Loga Springs Academy
Gainesville, FL


Loga Springs Academy
Gainesville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT