Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Abraham Lincoln Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

Abraham Lincoln Middle school has excellent magnet program. School band and the after school clubs have so much offer to kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

My school is da best. Some teachers don't get the fact that some people need more attention than others. Half the kids have behavior problems. But I still love this school most teachers get the very best scores on the likability and good teacher status some don't but I still love this school. I'm in 7th grade at Lincoln Middle School and living a good life.


Posted August 1, 2013

My Child is in lyceum program at Lincoln middle , i can only say this is a great school. Standard of teaching is excellent, wish there was more resources for kids at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2013

I am an 8th grader at Lincoln and have attended for 3 years now. Its an okay school, there are lots of fights, which keep it pretty interesting but its still scary. I am pretty popular in the lyceum but the teachers put so much stress on the kids. Recently, i have developed an eating disorder (like the previous review) from all of the stress of being a student here. I am so exited to finally leave the Lyceum program at Lincoln.


Posted March 5, 2012

My child will complete the 6th grade in the Lyceum program this year. I am impressed with the 6th grade team's coordination of the learning process across their classes. I am also pleased with the principal/assistant principle and dean leadership, all being very available and supportive. The majority of the teachers answer their emails from me in a timely manner. The LMS PTA is active and supports the entire school population. The transition from elementary school to 6th grade is challenging for any student and the 6th graders in the Lyceum program have a lot of support at Lincoln. With help from mom and dad, my son has learned how to manage his time to complete his work and enjoy extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

This school has many great teachers yet has an equal amount of teachers who either aren't fit to teach, or over-estimate the capabilities of their students and assign them workloads fit to frustrate an IB student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

This school prepared my child to excel in high school. The integrated curriculum was well thought out with critical thinking, development of excellent writing skills, and I can't say enough about the math program, it was incredible for her. In addition, she learned a language and was able to transfer the credit to high school so she could take take her AP French test by 11th grade. I think that the biology curriculum could be enhanced but the geology and physics were really fun and well taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

Horrible School! They said to prepare kids for the IB program, but is really just a horriable school, where there is a lot of voilence. I saw my child study for hours and when he got to IB, he was not better than the ones who had gone to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2009

The amount of work the Lyceum Program at Lincoln allots to their students is insane. I was a very diligent worker and stayed up until one in the morning to finish my work. I developed insomnia and an eating disorder from all the stress Lincoln put on me. I understand the program has a noble quest to prepare the students for the I.B. program and college, but it is unhealthy for students to be put on so much pressure at such a young age.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

the lyceum program provided the best academic training of any school public or elite private that i have encountered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The lyceum school is a great middle school advanced program. It prepares the students very well for high school honors and advanced placement programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

My child is close to completing her third year in the Lyceum program, and it has been a wonderful experience for her. The quality of her education is superior, and the other kids provide a wholesome peer group for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

I love it here! I am a student. The teachers are amazing really, and I learn so much from them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2009

This is our first year at Lincoln and I have been very impressed with the teachers and quality of education that my child is getting. The teachers are very accessible by email and respond quickly. The webgrade makes it easy to know what your child is doing in class. I was very apprehensive about sending my child across town at first- but Lincoln has proven to be a safe and stimulating environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

frankly i don't like lincoln. Teachers do everything possible to stress kids out. at lincoln they'll drive your kid to the brink of exuhastion. Of course if your a parent you will love Lincoln but for a student its horrible. you take crap from everybody as a lyceum student you get crap from teachers and mainstreamers all day. The school drives you to depression. So if you want your get to get super advanced but lose his life and become depressed in the progress put them in the lyceum program. Oh yeah , and the teachers tell you that you should do sports but they assign a huge impossible load of homework it so stupid.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2008

I am currently in 10th grade at Eastside High School and I am in the IB program. I attended Lincoln all 3 years in their Lyceum program. The teachers are great and your classmates are from all races. The diversity of Lincoln was my favorite thing about it. Some complain about the workload, but if you stay on top of your game it should be no problem. Plus, there are so many things I learned there that really helped me this year and last year at Eastside. One of the things about Lincoln that you could view as good or bad is that Lyceum and the major program have very little interaction. For me, I made many friends in the major program and didn't like how segregated our school was, but I did still manage to spend time with them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2008

The Lyceum program at Lincoln surpasses all my expectations. My daughter has been inspired by all her teachers to strive for excellence in every aspect of her education. I am amazed by all that she has learned, and I give all the credit to the dedication of the wonderful teachers at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

My child attended the Lyceum program at Lincoln and was then able to go on into the IB program at Eastside. She was able to paricipate in the orchestra and enjoyed the many events that they participated in. The program gaver her a good foundation to 'hit the ground running' when she progressed to the IB program. It also seemed that they required activities such as volunteering which helped her quite a bit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

'disconnect' between school employees and reality. The school does not care about parents - students - or anything other than their own bureaucracy. As a magnet school they attract some of the areas best students but other than assembling these advanced students together in one building -they do nothing else but babysit. Smart students are forced to work at a slow tedious pace, and God help the kids who aren't in the advanced program... If you have a choice between this school and allowing your children to stay home with no supervised education - I think your kids would be better off in the long run watching cartoons on TV all day. At least then they wouldn't grow up hating education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

I've had the opportunity to work with the faculty and administration of Lincoln Middle School for about one year and have been very pleased and inspired by the level of commitment and support as well as the positive environment of this school. The teachers are very hardworking and dedicated and the quality of programs offered to students is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 56% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 79% in 2013.

234 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

214 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 23%
White 27% 42%
Asian 14% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 59%44%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 7%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Don Lewis
Fax number
  • (352) 955-7133

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 SE 12th St
Gainesville, FL 32641
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 955-6711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Pace
Gainesville, FL


Star Christian Academy
Gainesville, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT