Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Howard W. Bishop Middle School 4

Posted September 07, 2012
- a community member
I am a 7th grade academy student and I love this school! The teachers are great and make learning fun. They will assist you if you need helf. and go out of there way to make sure you make your best effort!

Howard W. Bishop Middle School 5

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Howard W. Bishop Middle School 4

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
My son is in 7th grade at the HBMS Academy! It has been a great challenging program for him, a perfect fit. It is a great place for a child who is self motivated and able to be independent with school work. Technology is as good as they make it out to be. Math is challenging with different levels of teaching in each grade. Science is very creative. World HIstory truly expands your child's imagination of the world around us. Language arts leaves a bit to be desired. The course is not big into reading classic novels or critical about kids writing. In general it is probably the school's weakest subject! Band has always been a fun class for the kids with concerts to showcase their work. However, with only one band teacher this year, it can get a bit chaotic there.. Great education overall.

Howard W. Bishop Middle School 5

Posted August 21, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Howard W. Bishop Middle School 0
no rating

Posted July 06, 2009
- a community member
The high ratings for this school, which is actually two schools in one, must have come from the gifted academy parents. Mainstream teachers get precious little parental involvement, and endure frequent violent disruptions among the students.


Howard W. Bishop Middle School 5

Posted June 17, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Howard W. Bishop Middle School 5

Posted March 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Howard W. Bishop Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2008
- a student
i attend Howard bishop Middle school and i have been going there for three years now. I am an 8th grader and i am in the academy of gifted and technology studies and it is the best program ever! Of course your gonna say your school is the best but when i was a 6th grader i wanted to attend Lincoln people say we are worse than they are but they have fights every other day and we have won the mathematics competitions since before i was a student they may have a bigger school but we have the academic scores! and also we have the best teachers around especially the math teachers in the academy which are Mr. Rummel, Mrs. Masuda and Ms. Emma they are the best teachers and the really prepare us for high school


Howard W. Bishop Middle School 5

Posted August 04, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Howard W. Bishop Middle School 4

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
Music program at HBMS is great. The 8th grade academy teachers are incredible!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Howard W. Bishop Middle School
1901 Northeast 9th Street, Gainesville, FL  32609
(352) 955-6701
Last modified Howard W. Bishop Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Howard W. Bishop Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top