Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Gainesville, FL
Students enrolled: 687
 

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

13 reviews of this school


Howard W. Bishop Middle School 4

Posted September 07, 2012
- a community member
I am a 7th grade academy student and I love this school! The teachers are great and make learning fun. They will assist you if you need helf. and go out of there way to make sure you make your best effort!

Howard W. Bishop Middle School 4

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
My son is in 7th grade at the HBMS Academy! It has been a great challenging program for him, a perfect fit. It is a great place for a child who is self motivated and able to be independent with school work. Technology is as good as they make it out to be. Math is challenging with different levels of teaching in each grade. Science is very creative. World HIstory truly expands your child's imagination of the world around us. Language arts leaves a bit to be desired. The course is not big into reading classic novels or critical about kids writing. In general it is probably the school's weakest subject! Band has always been a fun class for the kids with concerts to showcase their work. However, with only one band teacher this year, it can get a bit chaotic there.. Great education overall.


Howard W. Bishop Middle School
no rating

Posted July 06, 2009
- a community member
The high ratings for this school, which is actually two schools in one, must have come from the gifted academy parents. Mainstream teachers get precious little parental involvement, and endure frequent violent disruptions among the students.

Howard W. Bishop Middle School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2008
- a student
i attend Howard bishop Middle school and i have been going there for three years now. I am an 8th grader and i am in the academy of gifted and technology studies and it is the best program ever! Of course your gonna say your school is the best but when i was a 6th grader i wanted to attend Lincoln people say we are worse than they are but they have fights every other day and we have won the mathematics competitions since before i was a student they may have a bigger school but we have the academic scores! and also we have the best teachers around especially the math teachers in the academy which are Mr. Rummel, Mrs. Masuda and Ms. Emma they are the best teachers and the really prepare us for high school

Howard W. Bishop Middle School 4

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
Music program at HBMS is great. The 8th grade academy teachers are incredible!


Howard W. Bishop Middle School 5

Posted February 02, 2008
- a parent
This school is great. It has the best academic program around. It is high- staked.

Howard W. Bishop Middle School 4

Posted December 16, 2007
- a parent
I'm not worried at all about my child as she climbs up the steps of her bus on hervway to school. When she gets to HBMS I know she'll be in a safe enviorment where there are loving teachers and staff there to keep her safe.

Howard W. Bishop Middle School 4

Posted October 22, 2007
- a student
Im a student at Howard Bishop a 8th grader to be exact. It has great faculty in cluding tachers,students, and you deffinatly learn a great deal. It is not the prettiest school as far as looks though and sometimes thats annoying but it is great with academics. you get to take tachnology as a class unlike many other schools. I used to type 14 words per minute now i type 96 words per minute. Its great with acedemics and students can really excel at Howard Bishop.


Howard W. Bishop Middle School 5

Posted January 21, 2005
- a parent
the acadamy program at hoard bishop middle school is both exciting and educational. each teacher plan has a focus on individual subject while intertwinig all other subjects together. all five main subject teachers combine their lesson plans to create an individualized learning process. the teacher's are very accessable and are available for any questions. the focus for each student is goal oriented and each student is treated as an individual not a group.

Howard W. Bishop Middle School 4

Posted November 30, 2004
- a parent
The Academy of Gifted and Talented at Howard Bishop Middle School is absolutely the most nurturing and enriching enviornment for middle school students. The science and technology program is excellent. All of the Academy teachers are truly gifted certified and are extremely knowledgeable in teaching the gifted student. My daughter attended HBMS in her 6th grade year, and we were devistated to have to move and leave this fantastic school behind. For more information on the Gifted Academy of Science and Technology at Howard Bishop Middle School, just visit their website. It is a fantastic magenet program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Howard W. Bishop Middle School
1901 Northeast 9th Street, Gainesville, FL  32609
(352) 955-6701
Last modified Howard W. Bishop Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Howard W. Bishop Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top