Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gainesville High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

I have had two children attend this school, one being in the highly academic Cambridge program and the other in mainstream classes. Most of the teachers are involved and very concerned about their students, overall a 4. The biggest negative is the administration and lack of support for children and parents. Starting from the principal, lip service is given but no real action gets taken if there is an issue/problem/question. The students best interest or academic need are never ahead of the status quo. The typical perception of public school. There are exceptions, such as Mr. Mercer and Mr. Testa in the administration/Guidance, they actually seem to care. The deans, counselors, etc. are not that helpful and very disappointing if you actually need their assistance. Parents are not very welcome, and the attitude of the school seems to prefer if they stay away. The band and sports programs are highly successful at this school, but beware of some of the volatile directors and coaches which also follow. Basically, your child, due to the teachers, will get a good education, but students will not leave feeling warm and fuzzy. Not a community school you want to embrace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

GHS is a great school ! My son is taking honors classes and is high ranking in NJROTC. The teachers are wonderful and are easy to get a hold of. The school offers online classes which are wonderful but I think that there needs to be more instruction for the online classes by the class monitor. Otherwise, I highly recommend this school to others!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

I just read the last evaluation written by a student and have to respond. My daughter is a senior at GHS and in the Cambridge program. With probably one exception, she has had very excellent teachers and an a great experience! She is challenged, and has been very comfortable asking teacher for letters of recommendation for college; she has never felt unsafe. We cannot say enough wonderful things about GHS. Yes, the teachers and the work are tough, but some of the most challenging classes for her have turned out to be the most valuable. Cambridge probably isn't for everyone :) We are very happy this program is offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

I attended GHS in the Cambridge program as i found it to be below satisfactory. The environment at this school does not make you feel safe and is also very overcrowded, almost to the point of danger. The teachers don't have any one on one focus with you, even when having a good relationship with your teacher is a glorified characteristic of the cambridge program. This school is horrible and i do not recommend it to anyone and that is why I am pursuing other schools and options.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2013

Great school as a whole but needs to treat students fairly along the lines of dress code within women. Its seems as though the school is a bit racist and misogynist, calling out only women for dress code, and only blacks for trouble making. If you wear a skirt even a fourth of an inch shorter than your finger tips, or wear a shirt with no sleeves, you'll be sent to the office to ruin your day and cut into your valuable learning time just to call your parents to cut into their working time to bring you a new outfit. Because instead of teaching young men not to over-sexualize normal female body parts, GHS shames young women for wearing shorts in warm weather. Let the reigns go a little, GHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2010

I'm pretty sure all these ratings are from parents which kids are doing great in schoo, but when it comes to the ones that are doing really bad in school, it's another story. They never answer e-mails (they're using technology), I sent two of them. Once, they asked me to go to school to talk about my son, and instead of trying to help him realize how important an education is, all that person (that doesn't even deserved to be mention by name) did was tell him he wasn't going to accomplish anything in live, he wasn't going to be able to work not even at McDonalds, she was really rude and disrespecful to my son, my husband and I. The English he speaks to his friends it's not the same English (the proper one) used in classes, and she was completely ignoring the fact that Spanish is his 1st language.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

I'm a student who is not in the Cambridge program and it's difficult for me to find something positive to say about this school. The Cambridge program has absolutely destroyed the school for anyone who's not in it. Even the AP classes are now worthless because most of the decent teachers and resources went to AICE and pre-AICE classes. The discipline problem is also very serious. If it's possible, this school should really be avoided.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2007

As a former teacher at GHS, I would strongly urge parents to research and visit the schools prior to enrolling your children here. The school has changed over the last 10 years. There are some great programs and some absolutely outstanding teachers and youth at Gainesville High School. The Cambrige Program is excellent and the band, chorus, and drama departments are full of teachers who go above and beyond. Unfortunately, GHS also has some serious problems with discipline that tend to outweigh and out shine the positive attributes of the school. Teacher turn-over is unbelievably high and classes are often taught in sub-par classroom conditions with excessive mold and extreme (extreme!) lack of materials. The physical structure of the campus makes it possible for anyone to just walk into the student areas. Safety was a high concern of mine while teaching there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 23, 2007

Gainesville High School has provided an absolutely outstanding education for my daughter in her freshman year. She is in the Cambridge program, and the quality of her teachers cannot be understated. GHS has given her the benefits of a private school education in a diverse student population (minus the cost!). We are very impressed by both the faculty and administrators that we have encountered at GHS. This is truly a 'great school'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I have been fortunate to have a child currently in GHS and a older child that graduated from another school in town. GHS has shown to be be a more friendly atmosphere for both parent and student. Academically, I think GHS has just as much to offer if not more than the other two high schools in town. To the parents that didn't think there was enough challenging opportunities for their children, you obviously did not check out the Cambridge program. That program is more rigorous than any honors program I have looked at. There is no room for looking left or right for those students. Even the elective schedule is purely high level academics. And quite frankly AP is AP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

GHS is a good school that could be a great school. There needs to be better control of students and bad students need to be more harshly punished. Class sizes are too big, in the lower level classes, and there is not enough teacher/administrator/resource officer presence around campus to prevent the problem students ('the bottom 10% of the bottom 10%') from getting into trouble. The county will need to address this population and provide increased vocational training if GHS is to become the school it used to be, academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

This school was a big disappointment. It is probably fine for the majority of kids whose parents have lived in the Gainsville area since theie children were young, but ninth graders needing accelerated learning opportunities were not available. I also found that if your child is not directly involved in a group sporting activity than you were looked upon indifferently. The caliber of most of his teachers has been shockingly poor. It has therefore given none of the advantages of a city school, with all of the disadvantages. I can recommend it only in contrast to most of the other public schools in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2004

Although GHS is a large high school, the faculty meets the varied needs of its students. My children have been successful in the Advanced Placement curriculum offered at GHS, and I have been impressed with the educators who have prepared my children to pass their AP exams. High school is about more than 'book learning', so I am pleased to say my children have enjoyed being involved in the many extra curricular activities offered at GHS. Sports, Clubs, and Student Government are accessible to all students at the school as long as they get involved and keep their GPA's up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

Gainesville High School is a school in training. It is geered towards lower to median middle class and has a mediocre curriculum and education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

520 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

451 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
61%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

409 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

420 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 42%
Black 36% 23%
Hispanic 9% 29%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 1%N/A2%
Graduation rate 77%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 47%44%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 3%2%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Shelnutt
Fax number
  • (352) 955-7283

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 NW 13th St
Gainesville, FL 32609
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 955-6707

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mycroschool Gainesville
Gainesville, FL



Sidney Lanier Center
Gainesville, FL




Loga Springs Academy
Gainesville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT