Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Gainesville, FL
Students enrolled: 1,715

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gainesville High School 5

Posted December 09, 2014
- a student
GHS is a great school. As a sophomore in the Cambridge program, I feel challenged but not overwhelmed. There's a variety of interesting classes, electives, clubs, and sports. The faculty is friendly, reachable, and very helpful. The school is clean and well kept with the administrators pitching in to keep campus clean. Mr. Shellnut can always be seen around campus picking up trash and engaging students in conversation. I've never felt unsafe or in danger at school, and dress code and discipline policies are well enforced. The students are very diverse and there are many cultures and socioeconomic backgrounds represented, resulting in a relaxed comfortable environment. I think this is because no one feels judged. There isn't much of a hierarchy among the students, which is nice because no one feels pressured to conform to any standards. Academically, all of the subjects are well taught and represented with classes outside of your standard high school curriculum offered. Students have a variety of academic electives to choose from. There's a great tutoring program run by the teachers in the library after school that's very helpful. GHS is an awesome school and I highly recommend it.

Gainesville High School 3

Posted October 28, 2014
- a community member
I am concerned that some of the Deans do not take discipline serious. If the troublesome kids are allowed to stay with no consequences they disrupts the classroom. If too many classrooms are disrupted then GHS may lose its A rating that it worked so hard for.


Gainesville High School 3

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
We chose GHS with great expectations for the Cambridge Program. GHS has been profoundly disappointing, anyone moving here from the NE would find woefully inadequate teachers, classrooms without AC, sub par labs and overall pitiful infrastructure that seems unchanged since the 1950s. GHS Cambridge faculty are far below New England's mainstream teachers. 9th and 10th grade math teachers at GHS (especially Ms. Rapp) teach by intimidation, humiliating and bullying the students. The Cambridge Program has great potential, but the faculty at GHS are clearly over their heads and unqualified to offer this program. If you are an academic family with school age children thinking of relocating to Gainesville, don''t do it! It is really like a move back in time, and not in a good way.

Gainesville High School 3

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
I have had two children attend this school, one being in the highly academic Cambridge program and the other in mainstream classes. Most of the teachers are involved and very concerned about their students, overall a 4. The biggest negative is the administration and lack of support for children and parents. Starting from the principal, lip service is given but no real action gets taken if there is an issue/problem/question. The students best interest or academic need are never ahead of the status quo. The typical perception of public school. There are exceptions, such as Mr. Mercer and Mr. Testa in the administration/Guidance, they actually seem to care. The deans, counselors, etc. are not that helpful and very disappointing if you actually need their assistance. Parents are not very welcome, and the attitude of the school seems to prefer if they stay away. The band and sports programs are highly successful at this school, but beware of some of the volatile directors and coaches which also follow. Basically, your child, due to the teachers, will get a good education, but students will not leave feeling warm and fuzzy. Not a community school you want to embrace.

Gainesville High School 4

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
GHS is a great school ! My son is taking honors classes and is high ranking in NJROTC. The teachers are wonderful and are easy to get a hold of. The school offers online classes which are wonderful but I think that there needs to be more instruction for the online classes by the class monitor. Otherwise, I highly recommend this school to others!


Gainesville High School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
I just read the last evaluation written by a student and have to respond. My daughter is a senior at GHS and in the Cambridge program. With probably one exception, she has had very excellent teachers and an a great experience! She is challenged, and has been very comfortable asking teacher for letters of recommendation for college; she has never felt unsafe. We cannot say enough wonderful things about GHS. Yes, the teachers and the work are tough, but some of the most challenging classes for her have turned out to be the most valuable. Cambridge probably isn't for everyone :) We are very happy this program is offered.

Gainesville High School 2

Posted January 12, 2014
- a student
I attended GHS in the Cambridge program as i found it to be below satisfactory. The environment at this school does not make you feel safe and is also very overcrowded, almost to the point of danger. The teachers don't have any one on one focus with you, even when having a good relationship with your teacher is a glorified characteristic of the cambridge program. This school is horrible and i do not recommend it to anyone and that is why I am pursuing other schools and options.

Gainesville High School 3

Posted August 14, 2013
- a student
Great school as a whole but needs to treat students fairly along the lines of dress code within women. Its seems as though the school is a bit racist and misogynist, calling out only women for dress code, and only blacks for trouble making. If you wear a skirt even a fourth of an inch shorter than your finger tips, or wear a shirt with no sleeves, you'll be sent to the office to ruin your day and cut into your valuable learning time just to call your parents to cut into their working time to bring you a new outfit. Because instead of teaching young men not to over-sexualize normal female body parts, GHS shames young women for wearing shorts in warm weather. Let the reigns go a little, GHS.


Gainesville High School 0
no rating

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
I'm pretty sure all these ratings are from parents which kids are doing great in schoo, but when it comes to the ones that are doing really bad in school, it's another story. They never answer e-mails (they're using technology), I sent two of them. Once, they asked me to go to school to talk about my son, and instead of trying to help him realize how important an education is, all that person (that doesn't even deserved to be mention by name) did was tell him he wasn't going to accomplish anything in live, he wasn't going to be able to work not even at McDonalds, she was really rude and disrespecful to my son, my husband and I. The English he speaks to his friends it's not the same English (the proper one) used in classes, and she was completely ignoring the fact that Spanish is his 1st language.

Gainesville High School 5

Posted July 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gainesville High School
1900 Northwest 13th Street, Gainesville, FL  32609
(352) 955-6707
Last modified Gainesville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gainesville High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top