Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Idylwild Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 682 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

A year ago, we moved from a country where our main language was spanish, my child knows the english language only from an academic environment, but it was not a barrier for her or her teachers. They did a great job helping her to adapt to the new school, new culture and new friends. Is an excellent school, the principal is very nice and respectful with their students, as well as the teachers. My child really had a great experience in this school! I'm grateful for all the help and the feedback that I received from the teachers through her year in Idylwild.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

I am a pto/pta working mom. Idylwild is a great little school, that has lots of caring teachers and staff. Yes the school is very diverse, but that is how the real world is. To have a great school in these times, you must show your support. I have a second grader and for the past three years I try to do as much as I can to make his school day the best that I can. I think every single parent at this school is a working parent, but everyone has a little time that they can do something with there school. So go to a pta meeting or ask your childs teacher if they need any help. We need it and your child can only benefit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Great school and it is getting better every year. There has been some big changes and these changes have proven to be positive in the development of our children. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

Idylwild is a great school. Parents shouldnt get so caught up on school ratings. Yes this school has a big percantage of economically disadvantaged students, but education starts in the home. The teachers have the same education or even higher education than grade A schools, so you see its not the education nor the teachers it is the parents. We need to work with our children and make the decision to be involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

Both my kids went to Kinder Garden in this school. Although I felt that the kids at higher levels a bit rough - I believe that the teachers and staff do an excellent work. There are periodic notifications of the Parent-Teacher-Organization meetings. There is no pressure to get involved, but there is a real opportunity to get involved if one is interested. Their class teacher did a wonderful job and both my children benefited very much from her and the class and extra-class (like library) involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

Some teachers in KG, I don't think they are doing their best to help there students the way it was plan, I believed they are all good teachers but not as good doing the best for the pupils.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

Both of my kids are doing great they both are straight A student. The school teachers and Administration are very supportive of their students. I believe school rating is not enough to secure your childs education. Its a team work between the school and us parents. 'Learning starts at home'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

It takes a while to get things done if your child is struggling with school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2007

Ms. Emily was a good teacher as far as academics go. One major thing that concerned me was field trips that was taken wasn't as safe as I thought they would be. There were also ignorant staff working in the cafeteria. Principal wasn't at events, only graduation. He didn't seem to show support. Children should also be in a loving environment as well as an academic one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

Academic program offered in Mrs. Schmidt's 5th grade class is exceptional. This teacher really knows how to engage 5th graders and keep them interested in learning. She is a credit to the school and is probably the best teacher my son has ever had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2005

My son attended Idywild for K-2. We have chosen to enroll our son in a charter school where he has been thriving for the last 2yrs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

Low level of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

the teachers are a wonderful, nothing is too much bother. it has a high free lunch percentage, but the learning environment is great with the extra help available for students who need it, as well as those who are gifted.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 53%
White 22%
Hispanic 12%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 42%44%61%
Master's degree 52%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 6%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DANIEL FERGUSON
Fax number
  • (352) 955-7123

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4601 Southwest 20th Terrace
Gainesville, FL 32608
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 955-6709

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Children's Center-South
Gainesville, FL




Star Christian Academy
Gainesville, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT