Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

711 students|Alachua
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Idylwild Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
A year ago, we moved from a country where our main language was spanish, my child knows the english language only from an academic environment, but it was not a barrier for her or her teachers. They did a great job helping her to adapt to the new school, new culture and new friends. Is an excellent school, the principal is very nice and respectful with their students, as well as the teachers. My child really had a great experience in this school! I'm grateful for all the help and the feedback that I received from the teachers through her year in Idylwild.

Idylwild Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2009
- a parent
I am a pto/pta working mom. Idylwild is a great little school, that has lots of caring teachers and staff. Yes the school is very diverse, but that is how the real world is. To have a great school in these times, you must show your support. I have a second grader and for the past three years I try to do as much as I can to make his school day the best that I can. I think every single parent at this school is a working parent, but everyone has a little time that they can do something with there school. So go to a pta meeting or ask your childs teacher if they need any help. We need it and your child can only benefit.


Idylwild Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
Great school and it is getting better every year. There has been some big changes and these changes have proven to be positive in the development of our children. Keep up the good work.

Idylwild Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2009
- a parent
Idylwild is a great school. Parents shouldnt get so caught up on school ratings. Yes this school has a big percantage of economically disadvantaged students, but education starts in the home. The teachers have the same education or even higher education than grade A schools, so you see its not the education nor the teachers it is the parents. We need to work with our children and make the decision to be involved!

Idylwild Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 15, 2009
- a parent
Both my kids went to Kinder Garden in this school. Although I felt that the kids at higher levels a bit rough - I believe that the teachers and staff do an excellent work. There are periodic notifications of the Parent-Teacher-Organization meetings. There is no pressure to get involved, but there is a real opportunity to get involved if one is interested. Their class teacher did a wonderful job and both my children benefited very much from her and the class and extra-class (like library) involvement.


Idylwild Elementary School 2

Posted May 22, 2008
- a parent
Some teachers in KG, I don't think they are doing their best to help there students the way it was plan, I believed they are all good teachers but not as good doing the best for the pupils.

Idylwild Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2008
- a parent
Both of my kids are doing great they both are straight A student. The school teachers and Administration are very supportive of their students. I believe school rating is not enough to secure your childs education. Its a team work between the school and us parents. 'Learning starts at home'.

Idylwild Elementary School 2

Posted November 19, 2007
- a parent
It takes a while to get things done if your child is struggling with school.


Idylwild Elementary School 3

Posted June 18, 2007
- a parent
Ms. Emily was a good teacher as far as academics go. One major thing that concerned me was field trips that was taken wasn't as safe as I thought they would be. There were also ignorant staff working in the cafeteria. Principal wasn't at events, only graduation. He didn't seem to show support. Children should also be in a loving environment as well as an academic one.

Idylwild Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 13, 2006
- a parent
Academic program offered in Mrs. Schmidt's 5th grade class is exceptional. This teacher really knows how to engage 5th graders and keep them interested in learning. She is a credit to the school and is probably the best teacher my son has ever had.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Idylwild Elementary School
4601 Southwest 20th Terrace, Gainesville, FL  32608
(352) 955-6709
Last modified Idylwild Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Idylwild Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top