Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

2,202 students|Alachua
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


F. W. Buchholz High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
The culture of this school encourages racism. The sports program is the worst offender yet nothing is done about it.

F. W. Buchholz High School 2

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
Racism is rampant at this school in particular the sports program. Well known in the community yet nothing gets done. Scandals abound yet nothing gets done. Best to look elsewhere.


F. W. Buchholz High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted March 03, 2016
- a community member
It's not all the teachers who act the same age as the children and that's unprofessional just a few

F. W. Buchholz High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a community member
They spend more time and patience with the white students it should be fair ground for every student inspite of race

F. W. Buchholz High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a community member
They have favoritism and racism here with some staff here at this school. Most of the staff should be replaced including the principal. It starts with the head if he would be professional and do his job the staff would follow along and do theirs with honesty and decency.


F. W. Buchholz High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a community member
Because I have had teachers here at this school fake grades, destroy my child work, singled out my children because I approached them about not doing their jobs. And the principal and other staff are aware and they cover up the situation.

F. W. Buchholz High School 2

Posted March 03, 2016
- a community member
Some of the teachers, staff and even the principal need to be replaced. There is definetly some favoritism.and racism occurring at this school. If you are a outspoken parent and believe in fighting for fairness and complain to the school administrators and the school board. Your child will be singled out by staff. Teachers who do not like students will single your child out, will allow other students to pick on, disrespect, bother your child and turn a blind eye to the situation until your child defends themselves then your child will be reprimanded. Principal does not answer emails or phone calls. Secretaries who monitor the calls do not give messages to administration. Your business and well as your child's is discussed amongst other staff and students within the school. Majority of the children at the school who are reprimanded in some way or form are black. The lunch detention consists of your child being faced towards the wall, being told to wait until every child who has that lunch shift has gotten lunch to receive lunch to eat, no cellphones, no talking. No cell phones and no talking understandable but facing these young men and woman towards the wall is demeaning. These are high schoolers not elementary they shouldn't be placed in time outs. Again majority of the students receiving lunch detentions are black. Its time that the truth be revealed about this school.

F. W. Buchholz High School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a student
Buchholz is one of the realest schools you will find in gianesville, every school has its down-sides when it comes to the environment of which the students are in. The learning environment is great, students are challenged in all courses from intensive courses to the AP College Courses, about 97% of teachers truly want students to succeed and do everything in their power to make sure they do. As for the social environment, I appreciate, SO much that this is a racially diverse community with different religions, races and ethnicity's. This is a great way for people to better understand what the real world is going to be like, a place of unfamiliar worlds. I loved that this school wasn't segregated like the previous high school I was in for half the year. This school encourages races and groups of kids to get involved in clubs and activities and to interact with one another instead of avoid each other. The Principal & Deans Faculty is great for helping out with situations, the school could improve a bit when it comes to Guidance Counselors but otherwise I truly love and appreciate this school and all it has to offer me & my friends & family.


F. W. Buchholz High School 5

Posted September 09, 2014
- a student
Attended Buchholz and had an amazing education and an amazing experience. The teachers are caring and take the time to know their students. Their theater department is amazing and the language offerings are wonderful.

F. W. Buchholz High School 1

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
Not too impressed with this school. We never spoke to our child's guidance counselor 1 time in the 4 yrs that our child attended Buchholz. They seemed disinterested in him as he was not a 'top' student, nor was he in the bottom, nor was he a discipline problem. So he was just shuffled through the system. This school is horribly overcrowded. The quality of the finance and entrepreneurship magnet programs there has gone way down hill over the years. It used to be selective. A lot of kids, uninterested in finance, apply for the program so they can attend Buchholz because some of their sports teams are quite good. So pretending to be interested in entrepreneurship and finance is a way to get into the school. BHS has the reputation of being the 'rich kid' school but it also draws from some impoverished areas as well. We are zoned for Buchholz but our other kids chose to attend academic magnet programs at the other high schools, and they had much better experiences at the other schools than our 1 son had at Buchholz.

Nearby schools

F. W. Buchholz High School
5510 Northwest 27 Avenue, Gainesville, FL  32606
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (352) 955-6702
Last modified F. W. Buchholz High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top