Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stephen Foster Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 459 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

My school is fun and awesome the teacher's go over thing's with you and also you will have fun and meet new friend's you will also love the afterschool program EDEP it is 17 dollars a week and it's fun at EDEP they help you with math reading or anything else and they help you with homework. And if you can't afford EDEP the teacher's start math or reading tutoring I love my school and you guy's will too. At my school i like how the first day everybody helped me and told me were things were and they were really nice to me because i thought that everybody was going to be mean to me i also on the first day found my best friend. One thing i love about my school is how when i need help my teacher helps me alot and she always pushes me to do my best when i think im about to give up. One thing i think my school can improve is that they should hire subsitutes more often because so many people want to be a teacher and i think that hiring a subsitute will be a good idea because it shows the teachers ad everybody else what people no which in a good case is good. And that's what i think of my school.


Posted June 9, 2010

My Grandson attends Stephen Foster and the teachers there have been wonderful with him. He loves the after school program here as well and chose to go there over going home in the afternnon because everyone here is terrific with the children. I tell all of my neighbors that they will not be disappointed with the progress their children will make at this school.


Posted October 4, 2009

well balanced curriculum and the art/music programs are still alive
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

Wonderful school. Magnet program excellent especially in science! We came from a good private school to attend this magnet program and have not been disappointed. My daughter loves the school. She thinks her 5th grade teacher is the 'best ever'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

My biggest problem with this school is the default assumption that any time a child acts up at school there is something wrong at home. Several of the teachers are wonderful however. Academics seem to be average to slightly below grade level in spite of constant reassurance that monitor testing happens often.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

The school monitors student progress closely and makes sure that students are placed in the right class at the right level. Adjustments are made throughout the year to keep students challenged. The attention to individual performance and recognition of academic achievement at the regular flag ceremonies is noteworthy. The school also has an outstanding magnet program in math, science, and technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

Principal is not receptive to parents involvement and is very defensive to questions asked of the curriculum. The magnet program does not perform as billed except for science. The math portion of the program is quite weak. It also does not meet the needs of enrichment students. Parents should closely examine the program if one their goals is to advance the academics of an enrichment child. My child attended the magnet program and it was obvious after just one year that she was significantly behind her peers in enrichment math at her zoned school. The science teacher, however, is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2004

My son has been part of the Stephen Foster Family since he was in Kindergarten and everything that the staff of the school has being doing for him is wonderful. Now he is getting ready to begin 3rd grade and also he will be doing 4th grade math and reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 44% 23%
White 31% 42%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Hispanic 8% 29%
Asian 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 25%44%61%
Master's degree 67%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 8%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. James E Kuhn,iii
Fax number
  • (352) 955-6746

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3800 NW 6th St
Gainesville, FL 32609
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 955-6706

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Z.L. Sung S.D.A. School
Gainesville, FL


Sidney Lanier Center
Gainesville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT