Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
200 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gainesville Country Day School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
somewhat repetitive/overkill in the homework, but then again most schools are that way, so GCD is not a real outlier in this regard.

Gainesville Country Day School 4

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
There are many great things about this school, in particular some very good, compassionate teachers who really get to know your child and understand his/her strengths and challenges. Not as rigid or bureaucratic as some other schools. Small classes, with a teacher and aide for each class. Some of the best teachers in Gainesville are at GCD in my opinion. The ethos of the school is warm and accepting and the curriculum is good.


Gainesville Country Day School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
My child is in the preschool level of GCDS so I cannot speak much of the academic side since they are learning much of the same things I teach at home (colors, shapes, letters, counting, etc) . What I can speak on is the strength of character the teachers and other staff have demonstrated in our time thus far. My child was particularly sensitive to the new environment following a recent traumatic event. The staff really has gone above and beyond to make my child feel welcomed and safe. In addition to the primary teachers, the librarian, Spanish teacher, music teacher, and other "floaters" that pop in and help where needed solidified my decision to have my child at GCDS. Other parents whom have seen my child acclimating to the school have also found reassurance in their respective decisions to educate their kids at GCDS. This is truly a quality environment for your prospective little student. I highly recommend Gainesville Country Day School!

Gainesville Country Day School 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of 2 children at GCDS can not speak enough about the school. They are very caring and involved in each child's performance. I can not see sending my children to a better all around elementary school!

Gainesville Country Day School 5

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
The broad range of academic experiences offered through the elememtary school years are designed to expand each child's learning opportunities, Teachers know their stuff and are very interested in the progress of each student. Lots of experience in art, music, PE, Spanish, logic, and poetry. My fifth grader had 6 wonderful years there.


Gainesville Country Day School 2

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
{Just to preface this - I'm reviewing the preschool of the 24th Avenue campus.} The teachers are very nice & caring, but the preschool program is more like daycare than an actual school. The principal is totally unapproachable & defends the school / teachers no matter the circumstances - so you might as well save your breath. My son went here for 3 years of preschool prior to going to kindergarten elsewhere & he is so far behind!! They do not push academics at all & they don't communicate well with parents unless it's about a fundraiser. We had no idea that he was completely unprepared for kindergarten because they never talked to us about his progress. I've recently heard that other preschool programs actually have conferences with parents to make them aware of how prepared your child is for kindergarten!! GCDS doesn't do anything like that whatsoever. If you're looking for an expensive daycare, this is it! If you're looking for an academically rich school that will prepare your child for "real" school then look elsewhere. I hear Brentwood, Abiding Savior, and O2B Kids have good programs - but I have no experience with any of them because we ve wasted so much time & money at GCDS!

Gainesville Country Day School 1

Posted May 02, 2011
- a parent
My daughter said this school was "happy and totally stupid. It was stupid for me and stupid for you to take me there." On our last day here, the teacher insulted me for not going to their extra fundraising activity, saying "Did you FORGET?" No, my daughter had ballet lessons, and I received a sneer. They mandatorily use bug spray on every child, which gave my daughter a severe allergic reaction. Their big lesson was having parents come in to explain all about their families, just an excuse for a nosy, ignorant teacher to have something to gossip about, (like their whole class' families) if you ask me. The laugh's on you, parents! Wow. No thanks.

Gainesville Country Day School 1

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
GCDS has been incredibly disappointing. While some of the teachers seem nice on a parent level, the way in which they deal with the students has, from our opinion, been cold and unnurturing . It felt as though we were sending our son to more of a daycare rather than a high end educational school. In addition, the teachers do not communicate with the parents at all. We would not recommend this school to others.


Gainesville Country Day School 5

Posted November 16, 2009
- a parent
GCDS has been a wonderful preschool experience for my daughter! I am excited about her watching her continue to grow in the elementary program.

Gainesville Country Day School 5

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
GCDS is well worth the investment. The experience of sending my 3rd child through the elementary program has been wonderful. It seems the teachers just keep getting better.

Nearby schools

Gainesville Country Day School
6801 Southwest 24th Avenue, Gainesville, FL  32607
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (352) 332-7783
Last modified Gainesville Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top