Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William S. Talbot Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 707 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

We love Talbot. The teachers and staff are dedicated to providing the best education for our children - this includes academic achievement as well social and moral responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

My school is committed to society. Develops activities that is contributing to the good training of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

We recently moved out of state, but our daughter attended Talbot from grade 2 through 5. She had a wonderful experience with teachers who engaged the students and really seemed to care. We also enjoyed occasionally meeting up with other families at nearby parks after school. LOVED the Halloween Carnival!!! We miss this great neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

My son did not adjust to kindergarten very well. But with the help and cooperation of Ms. Skipper, Mr T. and the principal we made some real progress and a good understanding of the issues/problems he was having. I really appreciated the time and effort that was made to help him. I knocked off a star because I do agree with prior poster concerning EDEP. I did not like my son there and honestly did not feel that Ms. Amanda was very kind. My son already had issues in his classroom and him having to stay after school I think most likely exacerbated the problem. Overall I felt this was a very good school, with good staff and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2010

After we moved here,our youngest child started Talbot. He has an excellent teacher,has made friends,and is doing great academically-learning more than we would have imagined. Talbot is full of positive people and effective teachers, and the vast majority of parents I have spoken to couldn't be happier with the academics.That said, there are some concerns. First, the After School program (EDEP) is a joke. Parents are caught between a rock and a hard place; they work and have to pick their kids up after work, and don't want them riding buses to other after school alternatives which ride them all over town.Here your kid is just one of the many, and ALL ages (K-5th) are lumped in activities together, leading to little ones picking up on much too mature behaviors, and even getting bullied. Parent concerns fall on deaf ears, and many parents feel the same way but feel stuck. A word of caution in case you need after school care-EXPLORE OTHER OPTIONS. Also, while the PTA is active, it seems cliquish, and unfairly meets when most parents are working (8 am!)-neither my wife or I have yet to be able to make any of the meetings. Otherwise the school is solid and A+ in our book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

I like the teachers here really care about every kids, really care about the students are studying not just have fun. My daughter went to 2nd grade in Ms. Winnermark class, she is so great a teacher, she is like a mother who has every kids in her hearts, and know every things about each kids, when you talk to her, she can give you the most valueble advice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

Talbot is a hidden pearl in the Gainesville area. It's a great school with high academics and teachers' involvement in the students' progress. The school is safe and good behaviour is a must. The enrichment or gifte program is very good with very excelent teachers. I just wish it could be longer in the lower grades. I'm very happy with Talbot and the parent involvement is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2010

We sent our son to Talbot after he had attended a small, private school for several years. I had friends who were very pleased with Talbot, but I knew that I would not be as pleased with this school as I had been with the private school. Or so I thought. I have been extremely impressed with the caring attention that the teachers give the students and the warm feeling at the school. All staff throughout the school have been pleasant and helpful. I recommend this school highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

I absolutely adore this school! The teachers are wonderful, the staff is always happy and helpful, and the principal is available. There are plenty of involved parents and the PTO raises a lot of money each year. I'm very happy with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

This school rates very poorly if you have a child with a learning disability. You have to keep on the faculty to ensure they are meeting your child's needs in an IEP. I was also very unimpressed with the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

There are some great teachers and some really lousy teachers. My daughter had one of the lousy ones. We're still trying to undo the damage that 2 months with this teacher has done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

I am sure it is a fine school unless your child has Autism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

My daughter attended Talbot from K-4 and we have since moved to another southern state. You don't know what you have until you move to another area. We came from the North East where schools are ranked much higher and Talbot was not a disappointment. We wish we could move back and return to this school for our younger child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

Unfortunately this school is becoming very average. Talbot was a very special place to be at one time, unfortunately, most of what was special has now become mediocre like many of the other florida schools. Communication has become very poor from the school to the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2008

Talbot is the best public educational institution at the K-12 level that I have ever experienced and my education was mostly public education. I am thrilled with my childrens' education. Bob Tucker
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

I am a travel nurse and my kids went to this school. This was the first time they went to another school in another state. This school was wonderful from the teachers to the counselors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

We moved from NE of US. At the beginning, I really doub about the public education systom in Florida. However, everything in Talbot suprised me. The principle and teachers are great. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

I have had several children which attended this school. Both were in enrichment programs which were quite good until 5th grade. The reading and writing programs become quite weak. In hindsight I would have removed them from this program if I had known the lack of substance. I think better writing skills would have been addressed by their homeroom teachers. Although, this has been mentioned over the years by many parents, nothing seems to change about enrichment in this area for 5th grade. The enrichment math class is strong and the teacher is quite good. However, the enrichment math class at times lacks structure and the teacher does not seem to have a structured daily plan. This can be both good and bad. The principal at this school is quite receptive to parents and overall, it was a good learning experience for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2005

Talbot is a great school if your child is a motivated, above average student. However, if your child has attention problems of any kind, I would ask you to consider a smaller, more attentive program. Talbot can be very competitive and impersonal for an ADHD child. My son struggled there for three years before I finally realized on my own that he had profound ADHD. He's now in a private school and flourishing. Talbot's after school program under Ms. Roundtree was very good and I thought the principal, Dr. Colvin, was very easy to talk to/work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

Great academic school....Not the friendliest of principal and guidance teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 53%
Black 20%
Asian 11%
Hispanic 10%
Two or more races 6%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 43%44%61%
Master's degree 49%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 4%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5701 Northwest 43rd Street
Gainesville, FL 32653
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 955-6716

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Star Christian Academy
Gainesville, FL


Family Worship Center
Gainesville, FL


Cornerstone Academy
Gainesville, FL




Z.L. Sung S.D.A. School
Gainesville, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT