Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kanapaha Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 964 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

This school has excellent teachers and an awesome Principal. I think it is one of the best middle schools in Alachua county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

This school has been wonderful. My daughter loves all of her teachers and the administration has always been receptive, helpful, and quick to respond to any questions that I've had. The gifted program is the best around and they really prepared my daughter for high school. Great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2013

teechers are miserable, i ask a question and they make fun of me so all the students make fun of me to for asking. all we get is homework and busy work in school i wish i could learn more. i dont know how to fix things


Posted October 29, 2012

I asked my grandson what he thought about going to Kanapaha Middle School. He said that he likes it and is pleased with his school and his teachers. That made me smile!


Posted May 16, 2011

It's embarrassing to see students write in and not even know how to spell or punctuate correctly - that in itself speaks volumes - doesn't it? Maybe they like it because they are not challenged! Very Sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

This school is okay, compared to other schools in Gainesville, but the Gainesville school system is seriously behind the curve. I was so disappointed when my Sons started school here. I expected so much more for a big college town. The schools here are like 2 years behind the school up north. The teachers are okay. They seem to just teach out of a book and do not explain much. Also, it seems like for 8 months out of the year, they just teach for the FCATs. It's such a disservice to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

This school is the best im doing great im in an advanced class
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2009

i went to this school.! and i loved it.! i would love to go to this school again.! i liked everything about it.!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2009

Everything the satff does puts childrens education and well being first! Top notch academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

Great school with great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

I'm a student at Kanapaha. Kanapaha is by far the best school in Gainesville, Alachua county, and probably one of the top in Florida. I have fabulous teachers who always offer after school or during lunch help whenever needed. They give a lot of personal attention to those who need it. If a kid is struggling in class the teacher typically helps them out a little more than others, and that's ok. ~ 8th grader Kanapaha Middle School
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2006

Some excellent teachers but more are just OK or really not very good. One gifted class available per grade (l hour per day) but other classes not nearly challenging enough. Teachers on average do not foster mentoring relationships with students, but a handful do a terrific job at this. Administrative staff very personable, communicate well with parents and students. Band and chorus available, not much other music or art available. Excellent pta core group but other parent involvement low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

This school has been great for my child. Discipline is not a problem for the administrators and it is a safe environment. The teachers care about the kids and their school. This school also has a very involved parent base.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

The academic programs are challenged because of the inability of many of the teachers to deal with 'less interested and motivated' students. In addition, for students with ADD and similar issues, the teachers seem to 'brand' them as deficient resulting in a tendency to treat them poorly. As for music, art and sports, the Alachua County School system has the ridiculous opinion that these programs do not enhance or support the education process. The middle schools have no organized sports programs (one of the very few in the state) leaving that to United Way funded programs such as Boys and Girls Clubs and other independent organizations. The music program is constrained and it is my understanding that the choral program has been eliminated. Parental involvement seems solid for a select few...i.e. if the parents are interested, they are real interested. If not, then no involvement at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

The academic programs are first rate for a public school. The school's 'A' grades the past two years have proven that. The majority of the current teachers hold an advanced degree in education. Others are currently enrolled in classes to achieve this in the near future. The music program is phenom! The awards received from students in the jazz, festival, and concert bands are unmatched in the county. KMS also offers Spanish, Technology, and Physical Education as electives. Parental involvement at KMS is important for the school to be successful. Teachers use a telephone service called 'homework hotline' and many use email to correspond with parents. The PTA is very strong and supportive.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 23, 2005

One of the newest schools in town with a great faculty, wonderful student body, and caring administrators. If you want your kids to excell at academics in a public school environment, this is the place for them.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted March 9, 2005

The teachers are great. We have had a wonderful experience with this school. My child has enjoyed the technology program and has had opportunities for activities not available at other schools in town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

Excellent school. Exceptional in their ability to work with the child and the parents to fit into the right courses. ESE classes are exceptional. Teachers are understanding and accommadiating to children with special needs. Guidence coun(s) and Dean are very compassionate and work with the children and the parents. Quality of academic programs: Excellent. Level of parent involvement: Excellent....always available to assist the parents and children. Highly recommend this middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2003

too much homework, not enough discipline


Posted August 11, 2003

I have been going to Kanpaha for 6 and 7th grade and I think the teachers are doing a great job at teaching and preparing us for what life brings. -Kayanna H., 8th grader at KMS
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

284 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

285 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

337 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

337 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

315 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

314 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

313 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

308 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 50%
Black 27%
Hispanic 11%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 60%44%61%
Master's degree 36%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. JENNIFER WISE
Fax number
  • (352) 955-6858

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5005 Southwest 75th Street
Gainesville, FL 32608
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 955-6960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Christian Life Academy
Gainesville, FL



Oak Hall School
Gainesville, FL


The Rock School
Gainesville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT