Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Academy

Private | PK-12 | 250 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Gainesville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2014

I have a very bright teenager who struggled socially at both public and private schools locally. The Cornerstone staff has been very nurturing, and the students make every effort to include him both during school and in after school activities. Plus, the curriculum is challenging and requires kids to think a lot on their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2013

Independent thinking is fostered here in a loving Christian environment. The quality of education is second to non in the area. The students here go on to Senior College, many with scholarships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

I currently have two children in Cornerstone - one in elementary school, and one in high school. At elementary school level they are exposed to challenging, hands-on curriculum, in academics, as well as art and music. The classical education model really proves it worth in high school. The students are taught to think through issues, reason and write very well. I am extremely pleased with my high schooler's growth in maturity, and attribute a large part of it to the classical Christian education he receives at Cornerstone. The teachers are highly committed, and the administration have the students' best interest at heart. Overall a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

Fantastic leadership team, outstanding teachers and strong curriculum all in one school! Cornerstone is such a blessing to this community and we're so thankful for them! We would highly recommend this school to any family looking for a great Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

Cornerstone is a wonderful school. This is our first year and our child loves her teacher and the friends she is making. She is challenged by the work but we are thankful for that. The teachers are caring and the administration is responsive to parent concerns -- which isn't always easy with a large group of parents. They do a great job and are very committed to their Christian and academic mission.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

I have had horrible experiences at this school, and they have consistently ignored any and all problems that have been brought up by students and parents. They think that their school is perfect just because it is a christian school, and thus never shed any light on the multiple problems that are there.


Posted March 8, 2010

Being taught a Christian worldview with strong academics could stand alone as my reason for choosing Cornerstone, but there are others. These include nourishment, opportunity, acceptance, focus, responsibility, and friendship. I am so grateful for the opportunities my children have had through Cornerstone. Opportunities to include being able to participate in drama, sports, student government, event planning, even helping to prepare a new school! Being at Cornerstone teaches our kids that they matter, are significant, and have an effect on their community, either positive or negative. They learn self-control because they are in the forefront. There is no background for them to slip into to be 'unnoticed'. Seeds of leadership and talent that God placed in my children have been nurtured by gifted and dedicated teachers and coaches at Cornerstone. God is using Cornerstone to shape and mold our children for the future that He has prepared for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

I love how Cornerstone not only teaches my children but teaches them to think critically and logically. The classical education approach focuses on teaching a biblical worldview, something that is desparately needed today. My kids made friends so quickly too. It's like we've been here for years yet this is only our 2nd year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

A truly awesome, Godly school where the focus is a great classical education based on biblical principals. Restores my faith in the private sector where teacher education and classroom management is often lacking. Not so at Cornerstone . . . a dedicated board, HeadMaster, principals, teachers, parent support group, extra curricular clubs too numerous to list -WOW, what a great school! God Bless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

Great education. Wonderful teachers. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

Passionate teachers and leadership. none better. excellent academics, sports. Christianity and ethics are foundational and lived out. For connected parents as it is a mix of campus school and home school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

This school is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 44%
Hispanic 4% 24%
Black 2% 29%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • CSF
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (352) 378-7708

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3401 NW 34th Street
Gainesville, FL 32605
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 378-9337

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Family Worship Center
Gainesville, FL


Z L Sung SDA School
Gainesville, FL


Z.L. Sung S.D.A. School
Gainesville, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT