Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
430 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Queen of Peace Catholic Academy is a high school preparatory high school in Gainesville, Florida whose goal it is to educate and empower all students in an environment that inspires academic excellence. The Academy is committed to providing our students a superior education that is relevant in today’s rapidly evolving world to ensure they are well prepared for a successful high school career in which they can realize their full potential and achieve their dreams. Beginning with the 2014-2015 school year, we went Full STREAM Ahead to engage all students in active learning with real-world, hands-on experiences in a rigorous middle school curricula focused on coursework in Science, Technology, Engineering, Religion,  Mathematics and the Arts. The Academy continues to re-define 21st Century learning with their unique academic programs that include Technology, the Arts and Robotics. At the Academy we encourage students to translate faith into action through in school service-learning, the National Junior Honor Society and community programs that assist those in need. Our students enjoy a highly competitive athletic program with 1st Place District Wins in Volleyball, Basketball, Golf and Soccer as well as our Cross Country, and our Track and Field Athletes who have placed in State. The Academy provides opportunities to strengthen interpersonal skills, explore interests, and develop leadership skills. Our mission is to search for truth, to encourage collaboration, to instill leadership, to promote dedication to service, and to inspire a passion for peace and justice. The Academy prepares students for high school by empowering intellectual, spiritual, moral, and emotional growth in a safe and loving environment. For a personal tour of the Academy, please contact Darlene Coogan at 352-448-4552
October 22, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Queen of Peace Catholic Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Mrs. Coogan for making our first encounter with the academy, 7 years ago, a great one.

Queen of Peace Catholic Academy 5

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
We love the school. My boys receive an excellent education and their catholic identity is integrated in their daily instruction. The school is such a welcoming place with teachers and staff that truly care about their students' success.


Queen of Peace Catholic Academy
no rating

Posted October 22, 2015
- a school leader
Queen of Peace Catholic Academy is a high school preparatory high school in Gainesville, Florida whose goal it is to educate and empower all students in an environment that inspires academic excellence. The Academy is committed to providing our students a superior education that is relevant in today’s rapidly evolving world to ensure they are well prepared for a successful high school career in which they can realize their full potential and achieve their dreams. Beginning with the 2014-2015 school year, we went Full STREAM Ahead to engage all students in active learning with real-world, hands-on experiences in a rigorous middle school curricula focused on coursework in Science, Technology, Engineering, Religion,  Mathematics and the Arts. The Academy continues to re-define 21st Century learning with their unique academic programs that include Technology, the Arts and Robotics. At the Academy we encourage students to translate faith into action through in school service-learning, the National Junior Honor Society and community programs that assist those in need. Our students enjoy a highly competitive athletic program with 1st Place District Wins in Volleyball, Basketball, Golf and Soccer as well as our Cross Country, and our Track and Field Athletes who have placed in State. The Academy provides opportunities to strengthen interpersonal skills, explore interests, and develop leadership skills. Our mission is to search for truth, to encourage collaboration, to instill leadership, to promote dedication to service, and to inspire a passion for peace and justice. The Academy prepares students for high school by empowering intellectual, spiritual, moral, and emotional growth in a safe and loving environment. For a personal tour of the Academy, please contact Darlene Coogan at 352-448-4552

Queen of Peace Catholic Academy 1

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
I do not like the school I don't know I just don't I don't like the teachers and they do not help at all they just tell us about stuff

Queen of Peace Catholic Academy 5

Posted April 02, 2013
- a parent
This is our second year at Queen of Peace Academy, and my daughter loves it. The school is such a warm, welcoming place with teachers and staff that truly care about their students' success. We love it there!


Queen of Peace Catholic Academy 5

Posted March 08, 2013
- a parent
We have two children enrolled at QPCA. This is our children's second year at QPCA and our plan is to have them enrolled at this school through eighth grade. We feel their needs are being met academically, socially and spiritually. We have been pleasantly surprised that whenever we have a question or concern, both the teachers and/or the administration have been more than willing to talk to us and address any of our questions/concerns. We thank God that our children have the opportunity to experience and benefit from QPCA.

Queen of Peace Catholic Academy 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
Queen of Peace Academy is a wonderful place for my son. He is challenged academically, has made many good friends, and has enjoyed every one of his teachers and assistants. I like the school's emphasis on faith and the high standards for expected behavior. I am thankful to be a part of this community and we will be here through the 8th grade!

Queen of Peace Catholic Academy 5

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
We have been a part of Queen of Peace Catholic Academy since the day the school opened. My oldest daughter had the privilege of getting the "new" teacher every year and being part of the 1st graduating class. Our other 3 were right behind her. Two of our children went on to St. Francis Catholic High School and 2 to Eastside IB Program. All 4 had great high school experiences and were extremely well prepared for the high level classes they took. With 1 in college and 3 starting this August, we are extremely thankful for the education and the Christian foundation they received at Queen of Peace Catholic Academy. We are on round 2 at QPA with our 5 year old. Although the school has grown since we were first there, the excellent teachers, amazing leadership of Sister Nancy and the love they show to every single child of God has not changed. This is an amazing place for your child to grow and learn and we are grateful to God for this school in our children's lives!


Queen of Peace Catholic Academy 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
Our child has truly thrived since coming to Queen of Peace. We have terrific relationships with the teachers, and our child's class truly supportive of each other. Students demonstrate their commitment to the Christian faith on a daily basis and poor behavior is not tolerated. Children are held accountable for actions taken, be it incomplete work or inappropriate actions. This instills responsibility and positive growth. Academically, the curriculum is challenging and the teachers demanding but positive and supportive. No school can be perfect for all children, but we have found QPCA to be an absolutely perfect fit for our child and our family.

Queen of Peace Catholic Academy 5

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
My children are receiving or have received (a graduate) an outstanding education at Queen of Peace Catholic Academy. The faculty are a hard working motivated group who challenge the gifted while acknowledging that some students need additional help to succeed. Having lived in many other locations I consider myself fortunate to have been able to send my children to Queen of Peace and the success my older children have had in high school proves they are way ahead of their public and private school counterparts because they attended QPCA! The school is very open to new ideas and is welcoming to all parents interested in their child's education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Queen of Peace Catholic Academy
10900 SW 24th Ave, Gainesville, FL  32607
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (352) 332-8808
Last modified Queen of Peace Catholic Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top