Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gibsonton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 590 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2013

Although there are alot of students that I have heard of that head lice, I'm not sure why other parents believe that it's the SCHOOLS responsibility to control it! Head lice come from the home into the school, so at some point parents need to start taking responsibility of how there homes are managed and stop trying to blame the SCHOOLS fro everything. I love Gibsonton they all do as much as they can in the time that they can. Instead of complaining all the time take the time to take with the school about what YOU can do to assist them instead of putting them on FULL BLAST on a website!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

This school has a BIG problem with headlice and they can NOT seem to keep it under control. Also some of the teachers have a problem with keeping in touch with parents I have two daughters who attend here and the one of the reading teachers would pass messages to my oldest daughter about my youngest instead of calling me herself they have my number and email ..this school had better start turning things around or my daughters will not be students at this school any longer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

My daughter was in 1st grade there receiving an award at the end of the year for reading level and comprehension. I am shocked at this as I was made aware of that three quarters of the class was special needs with my daughter being in the upper percentile of the class. There was no consistancy of the education to the class as a whole as children were constantly being pulled because of special needs development. On several occasions, my wife and I had to talk to the principal of the school to discuss the physical abuse that daughter showed on her arm back and face from another child. The response we received from the principal was that the child was coming from a difficult home where this was how the family dynamic was. This is how the child believes affection is displayed. In my home, my the guidelines of DCF, Hillsborough county school system, that demonstrates abuse and possible bullying which are both significant offences for students. End of the story, the parents are not involved and the staff is not sympathetic to meet all of the students needs toward education and safety. At the end of 1st grade, my daughter was no longer a student being enrolled in private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

Gibsonton Elementary school is an excellent school. The teachers are so good with the children and they make learning fun. The principal is a great leader and a role model for the students. The guidence counslor is very supportive and does a great job at cheering the students up.


Posted September 16, 2009

Our school is awesome because we have a lot of people who put their hearts and souls into making it safe, happy, fun and educational place for kids that aren't always surrounded by life's good things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We are always working hard for our student's success in all areas and grade levels.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

Gibsonton Elementary does a great job reaching all students. It is very child focused and innovative in its instruction. Gibsonton Believes, Students Achieve.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

Gibsonton Elementary is a top notch school. The students are happy to be here because the teachers are caring and plan exciting learning opportunities for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We have a wonderful staff. Everyone is very helpful and caring. Its my second year at Gibsonton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

When I was a sub this was the only school that welcomed me with open arms from admin to the teachers. I didn't feel as though I was just a sub!! Now I'm working here at GES, and I love it!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The staff that I work with is great and we all work together to promote the best for all of the students. We share ideas and think of the students as ours, not as individual teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 15, 2009

I love Gibsonton Elementary School because of the caring people and the sweetest students in the world. It is a place children can learn that they can be successful in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Gibsonton Elementary School is a great place to work as a teacher and a great place for a student to study. Teachers genuinely care about students and work hard to meet individual needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

Five stars for safety - they checked my ID every single time I went in to volunteer. They knew who I was after 40 visits, but still had to check everytime. I wonder what teacher retention is like there - at the end of the school year, many teachers would completely clear out their rooms (I think hoping they'd get transfered out of there). I liked my son's teacher, but felt she stayed on par with basic requirments and held the whole class back to accomodate a few students' learning disabilities. I was truly glad we were there one year. I hope this school gets back on track - the students deserve so much more than what I've seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

Ms Bolander the kindergarten teacher at that school is the bomb she was fantastic for my little one
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

my child just started school there this year what a wonderfull staff my child is really learning a lot what a difference they have made
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

Some serious work needs to be done at this school. I have attended several events with my children throughout the school year and never once saw the principal actively participating. There is a core group of teachers that seem to do everything and another group that always seem to be in the office signing children out, making announcements, etc. I am thankful that my family is moving and my children will be attending a different school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

The Principle cares more about getting/maintaining federal funding than academic improvement. Staff refuses to raise their expectations of student achievement. Yes, there are some kids in hard family situations, but they are the exception and not the rule. Staff & some parents just need to raise the level of expectations and stop rewarding mediocre achievements with A's. Mediocre work rates a grade C at best. If you do not demand more, then you will not get more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2006

The quality of the academic programs needs much work that staff very well educated but are disconnected from each other. The supplies and equipment is also a issue at this school. I have visited this school on various occasions and have also volunteered my time to help out in anyway. Volunteers have signed up to help an various ways to help improve the school experience for the staff and the students. My heart goes out to the students because they are the ones that pay the price. The school needs to develop a plan of action that actually works and can have measures goals to improve not only the work atmosphere but also encourages the students that school pride and academics really do matter. The availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities is of great help and next to non existing. The parental involvement needs organization to truly help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

If we cannot say nothing else we have to give the staff credit for trying!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
28%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
28%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
23%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 46%
White 45%
Black 5%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 72%67%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%0%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. AMBER STATHAM
Fax number
  • (813) 672-5003

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7723 Gibsonton Drive
Gibsonton, FL 33534
Website: Click here
Phone: (813) 671-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT