Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Baker County Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1249 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2013

There are a lot of opportunities to get involved at BCHS even though a lot of students don't take advantage of them. The athletic programs range from mediocre to above average. The football team has gone to the state playoffs 4 times out of the past 7 years. Every year AT LEAST 2 players are signed to a Division 1 college and at least 5 more commit to other schools. Most come back after a year though because they received special treatment from their teachers in high school and can't keep up in college. There are lots of clubs that cost around $10 to join at the beginning of the year. There used to be elective programs, but I think most of those are gone since moving to a 7 period day (instead of 4). Some teachers really care and give a great foundation for college and life, while others just... don't. One big problem I have is the guidance counselors only care about Seniors so you will not get the attention you deserve for a good 3 years! I didn't get into a University because I was never counseled about which classes were best for me. Dual enrollment is for the "elite". I was technically a part of that "in", but the program isn't put out there for everyone to take advantage of.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2010

Okay, So i haven't been at this school a long time. I was a freshman, then I had to move in like December but I loved it. The classes could be some more challenging for the students. This is a great school, made many friends that include teachers. Mrs.Weeks is the awesome as well as Mr.C(Mr.Cook), I loved his class and not because it was a cooking class. This is a great school and it's a place that one day my children will attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2010

The education I received at this school was lacking. I graduated with honers but when I began college I quickly realized how little I really learned. The professors expected my classmates and I to know certain things and it seemed that most of the other students learned the things that the professor expected in high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2009

This is no where near the best school! They have very poor faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

I'm a rising senior at Baker County High School, and BCHS is definetly a one-of-a kind place to be. There are some phenomenal teachers and staff here, who want nothing more than to see students make something out of themselves. There are some great ways to get involved here, and activities range from FCA to the golf team. The only flaws BCHS would have (which are none of the staff's fault) are the recent budget cuts, and the number of students that engage in high-risk activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2009

I am currently a Junior at BCHS. I love this school. I can't imagine going anywhre else! The teachers are pretty awesome, and really help you. I am in the band, and Ms. Sams is the best ever! Everyone loves her. Go Wildcats!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2008

I graduated from BCHS and I loved it. The teachers were great and know what their doing. The coaches there are amazing and work hard with the students and are very involved with the students education. Education is their number one priority. They want everyone to succeed and will do everything in their power to make it happen. The only problem is the school is getting over crowded and I think that it's finally time to rebuild a bigger and better school. I believe that if the community would work together that building a better school would not only bring everyone together but also be a better place for the staff and students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2007

The teachers are excellent and full of enthusiasm about teaching. Students that attend Baker County High School seem very nice and full of energy. I enjoy being at BCHS. The problem the school has is the amount of kids and so little room. With a growing county and growing amount of kids, it is very crowded.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2007

I recently graduated from BCHS, after attends another 2 high schools. Baker County High was my favorite. The amount teachers care about their students is unimaginable! If the students want to succeed, everything is at their foot steps! I plan on teaching at Baker County one day because the teachers their impact lives daily!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2005

Baker County offers a wide variety of courses, including several vocational programs that enable students to fast track on their career choices in nursing, automotive and food service. In addition students can get a jump on their collegiate studies through the dual enrollment program with Lake CIty COmmunity COllege. There are a few problems with the school however. Because the population of the county is so small preference is shown toward students whose parents are either long time employees or who have lived in the county for generations. Unfortunately that special treatment applies across the spectrum from academics to athletics.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 26, 2005

Baker county high school has an awesome environment, even though it is getting a little crowded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

This is my senior year at Baker and I believe this school is all about sports rather than academics. Coming from a small town, I guess that is normal. I have enjoyed my four years at Baker County High School, because the classes are not challenging, unless you have colleges classes, which most students don't. The teachers are great and they treat the students as the young adults they are. This is not a bad school by any means. Just a helpful hint, if your child is not amoung the smartest in his/her class, then don't expect them to succeed on a high level with this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2003

This school has been a very bad place for my daughter. She is disrespected by students, and when she said something about she was told that it was just a part of growing up. The learning process at this school has also been a very easy thing for her, none of the honors classes are challenging, although she does have alot of homework everynight. My daughter has told me on many occasions that she doesn't feel safe at school, due to the fact that students have threatened her and nothing was done about it. She has also been disciplined for things that she didn't do, as if they were looking for someone to blame for them. I think that if it cannot be proven for a fact that a student did something they should not be punished, but Baker High doesn't see it that way.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 54% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

317 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 64% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
54%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 67% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1 and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Black 12% 23%
Hispanic 2% 29%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 2%N/A2%
Graduation rate 73%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%72%61%
Master's degree 33%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%1%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 34%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Wildcat Dr
Glen St. Mary, FL 32040
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 259-6286

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT