Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Green Cove Springs Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 795 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

The teachers were pretty good with communicating, did a great job teaching, and it's apparent they care about the school and the students. They were very helpful when we sought 504 accommodations for our son. I was disappointed when we notified the school that we were leaving Clay County. I called and left a message for his counselor, asking what I needed to do to make sure his records were forwarded or sent to me so I could hand carry a copy to whatever high school our son would be attending. I never heard back. Our son gave notification that he was leaving the county, and I'm pretty sure we gave notice on the piece of paper the school sent home. School has been underway for nearly a month, and I have received a call from the school our son would have attended in Clay County had we remained there. (FIHS) Green Cove sent his records to them instead of the high school he attends now, whch is in the next county. I registered him there in JULY, and signed two records release forms, one of which his receiving school promptly mailed to GCSJH. Teachers: GREAT! Records and counseling staff: Not so much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2012

Worst experience ever! Came from overseas (DOD Schools) . The Records Clerk was the most unfriendly to other issues within this faculty! What a impression this school made with us! So sad to not be more interested in making are children transition into a public school. Very happy with Florida Virtual School! Teachers take such an interest! Will transition my son into High School. I thought this school was rated high????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

This school is one of the oldest in the county and shows it. The school board needs to improve this school's physical being. Because of the socio-economic makeup of the majority of the children served, I believe this school is often overlooked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

This school is overcrowded and barely has anything to offer with activities. It is horrible I would not recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2010

Love this school great teachers working enviorment and students that go here with me
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2008

No worth while program for children with learning disabilities. They have the children watch movies all day long and they learn nothing. Once your child moves to another school you're told they are 2 years behind. No progress reports or homework is sent home on a daily basis. No emails or phone calls to parents when their child is not doing well in class. This school has very poor communication skills. In fact they do not have any skills when it comes to understanding and providing knowledge to disabled children. It's a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

so far great teachers that care about the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

This school is the best junior high! It has a great staff, and everyone of the students try their best, and succeeds when they put their mind to it. The teachers are very motivational, and are always encouraging! There are so many opportunities there as well, and the test scores are wonderful too! Go Cougars! PS. The majority of their sport teams are undefeated! Go Cougars!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2007

I have 2 kids at GCSJH this year and couldn't be happier with the school. They have both excelled academically and enjoy participating in many of the extra-curricular activities. There is a great mix of ethnicities and socio-economic classes, which adds to the quality of the school. The staff and faculty have proven to be very caring and helpful. I wouldn't send my kids anywhere else if given the chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

My son attended last year and is an 8th grader this year. The teachers 'ALWAYS' put the students first. They offer special tutoring designed to help students take the FCAT tests. In my opinion, GCSJH is the #1 middle school in Clay County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2006

it a great school alot of caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

This school has a weekly tutoring program in the mornings and a Saturday school to help students succeed. Extra-curricular activities vary from Step team to Dance team and Academics to Sports. Exceptional school overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

This school has not showed me much. There are very few activities, the school is overcrowded, the schools website is not updated, and very little to no communication with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2004

Green Cove Springs Junior High has long been touted as being in a 'dangerous' neighborhood and parents often hesitate to send their kids here because of this. In my six years of teaching elementary school, I have not had a single student or parent return to me with ill news of this school. The principal works hard to keep his teachers and students both safe and happy. I will not hesitate to send my own children there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2003

My son went to green cove and now my daughter. Would drive them there if i had to. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

As a parent I feel the Principal and Teacher's have done a more than excellent job at this school. My child who is currently in the 8th grade enjoys coming to school everyday, that means he likes what is going on at this school. Thank you Green Cove Junior High School for making my childs Junior High years special.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

363 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

383 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

305 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

408 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

407 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

403 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

438 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 76%
Black 10%
Hispanic 9%
Asian 3%
Two or more races 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 192%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 21%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 78%64%61%
Master's degree 22%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MR. JEFF UMBAUGH
Fax number
  • (904) 529-2144

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1220 Bonaventure Avenue
Green Cove Springs, FL 32043
Website: Click here
Phone: (904) 529-2140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Clay Virtual Academy
Green Cove Springs, FL



R. C. Bannerman Learning Center
Green Cove Springs, FL


St Jude Academy
Green Cove Springs, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT