Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK, 9-12|Public district
1,402 students|Clay
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Clay High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 27, 2016
- a community member
Thank you for my freshman year and more to go. Thank you Mrs.dunham Thank you Mrs.LedBetter Thank you Especially Mrs.Dillon for trying to show me and teach me how to do algebra work. I'm sorry you had to try so hard for someone who doesn't deserve it.

Clay High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 27, 2016
- a community member
If there is one thing my freshman year taught me is that I should never shy away from things- Mrs.Dunham taught me to come out of my shell Mrs.Ledbetter taught me that no matter how much someone teases you, in the future they might be working for you one day. Mrs Ledbetter also taught me to stand tall and live in no fear.


Clay High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 27, 2016
- a community member
They care and we care about eachother. We are family They treat us like the family we wish we had.

Clay High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 27, 2016
- a community member
The teachers, faculty, friends. They always tell us how to live life and how to be the very best. They are very honest with us and others. Recently we had a lockdown and they told us what was going on, the principal told us that a shooter was loose and on the lookout and he calmly said that we have a code red and we already knew that it wasn't practice so we all went under our desks and put our backpacks in front of us. The teacher locked the doors and she turned off the lights. We were all quiet, then when the announcements came on, the principal had a sadnesses in his voice and you could tell it was serious. He said " Hello there. Um... I just got the news that someone we know has lost their life today" The someone who we knew was the secretary's daughter. For blue devils, we make a promise. They protect us, We protect them. Once a blue devil, always a blue devil.

Clay High School 5

Posted July 27, 2016
- a community member
STILL A STUDENT AND I FEEL LIKE IM AT HOME. THE FACULTY MEMBERS ARE LIKE FAMILY TO ME! CLAY HIGH IS THE BEST FAMILY I EVER JOINED


Clay High School 5

Posted December 27, 2011
- a parent
Our daughter had a choice between Fleming High and Clay High. After getting opinions from neighbors, most said go with Clay. We viewed Fleming High and Clay High both just to make sure. Fleming is new , large and offers a bit more in sports advantages but on the con side it was a bit too big and felt unfamiliar. Teachers were a new to the school as well (couple of years there at best so it didn't feel as family like) Clay is an older building, smaller facilities but a staff and administration that has been there for years and years. Everyone was very caring and old-school and my daughter chose it because it felt like a smaller family atmosphere. She loves it there. She made friends easily, likes her teachers and is doing very well. I think staff is very helpful, teachers and counselors are caring and the small environment keeps it family -like. Website could use improvement since it doesn't show all sports and activities offered but other than that we couldn't be happier. Our daughter is thrilled to be a Blue Devil.

Clay High School 4

Posted September 01, 2011
- a parent
I just want to know if anyone that has used the pk what do you think about the school and the pk program? I have 2 children that already attend Clay High a Sr. & a freshmen, but next year I will have a pk so just trying to find the best one.

Clay High School 2

Posted August 30, 2011
- a community member
I went to this school in the 90s and I absolutely hated it. It was the worst school I ever went to, and I was in a military family so I had been to quite a fe schools. I had the hardest time of my teenage years at this school. Hopefully it has changed since then!


Clay High School 3

Posted July 16, 2011
- a community member
im going to be a new student at clay this year, ill be a senior,,how are the other kids about new students?

Clay High School 5

Posted July 13, 2010
- a community member
This school is an answer to prayer. My son was struggling and they accepted him into their school. The environment is such a wonderful place for students to learn and be accepted. The principal is the BEST. Teachers are very responsive to parent's requests. I am so happy with my progress/improvement in son's attitude, grades and involvement while he has been a student at CHS.

Nearby schools

Clay High School
2025 Florida 16, Green Cove Springs, FL  32043
(904) 529-3000
Last modified Clay High School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top