Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK, 9-12
Public district
Green Cove Springs, FL
Students enrolled: 1,399
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Clay High School 5

Posted December 27, 2011
- a parent
Our daughter had a choice between Fleming High and Clay High. After getting opinions from neighbors, most said go with Clay. We viewed Fleming High and Clay High both just to make sure. Fleming is new , large and offers a bit more in sports advantages but on the con side it was a bit too big and felt unfamiliar. Teachers were a new to the school as well (couple of years there at best so it didn't feel as family like) Clay is an older building, smaller facilities but a staff and administration that has been there for years and years. Everyone was very caring and old-school and my daughter chose it because it felt like a smaller family atmosphere. She loves it there. She made friends easily, likes her teachers and is doing very well. I think staff is very helpful, teachers and counselors are caring and the small environment keeps it family -like. Website could use improvement since it doesn't show all sports and activities offered but other than that we couldn't be happier. Our daughter is thrilled to be a Blue Devil.

Clay High School 4

Posted September 01, 2011
- a parent
I just want to know if anyone that has used the pk what do you think about the school and the pk program? I have 2 children that already attend Clay High a Sr. & a freshmen, but next year I will have a pk so just trying to find the best one.


Clay High School 2

Posted August 30, 2011
- a community member
I went to this school in the 90s and I absolutely hated it. It was the worst school I ever went to, and I was in a military family so I had been to quite a fe schools. I had the hardest time of my teenage years at this school. Hopefully it has changed since then!

Clay High School 3

Posted July 16, 2011
- a community member
im going to be a new student at clay this year, ill be a senior,,how are the other kids about new students?

Clay High School 5

Posted July 13, 2010
- a community member
This school is an answer to prayer. My son was struggling and they accepted him into their school. The environment is such a wonderful place for students to learn and be accepted. The principal is the BEST. Teachers are very responsive to parent's requests. I am so happy with my progress/improvement in son's attitude, grades and involvement while he has been a student at CHS.


Clay High School 5

Posted July 30, 2009
- a student
as a former student of clay i had a wonderful time. Its a place i am truely and honestly going to miss. I loved my teachers and the advanced classes were challenging but not overwhelming. Sports are amazing. tons of school spirit. I enjoyed it beginning to end. I had straight a's in all advanced and ap classes and was able to maintain playing on a sports team. This school is one in a million. Go Blue Devils

Clay High School
no rating

Posted April 07, 2008
- a student
At first i was sad about leaving my friends at LAJH, who were all choosing to go to Fleming (after the first semester most of them came to Clay or just went to school hating it).Now i love Clay, its super amazing. There are a lot of cool teachers and its just a good school. There isnt any violence, rarely any fights and i feel safe going there. I recommend Clay to everyone! Mr. McCabe does a wonderful job!

Clay High School 5

Posted March 30, 2008
- a parent
This spring my daughter will graduate from Clay High. She began at a larger school in the county where she was overwhelmed. We transferred her to Clay in the 10th grade. She has blossomed from a withdrawn teenager to a involved, concerned young lady with several college scholarships. I truly put all the credit at the doorstep of this awesome school, where the administrators have a sense of humor & perspective &the teachers are not only dedicated, but leaders in their field. CHS sees the best in each child & manages to help them reach their greatest potential. Students are not a face in the crowd, but individuals who are looked after & cared for. They are expected to behave with courtesy & respect the diversity in their classmates. At any county competition, whether music, sports, etc., the CHS students stand out due to their good manners and sportsmanship.


Clay High School 4

Posted May 13, 2006
- a parent
Best School in the county. Hands down. Watch for teachers who will allow children to slide through. There are always a few of those in every school. But for the most part this school has dedication and drive. Vision and disipline. Pete McCabe, principle...awesome!

Clay High School 5

Posted March 09, 2006
- a parent
Clay High School has been a wonderful place for my freshman. She came from a small private school into the larger arena of high school. She has excelled. The teachers have been great in providing opportunities to encourage growth for the students. When she was sick, the school went above and beyond to make sure her work was provided for her and to ensure tests were made up. I couldn't be happier.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clay High School
2025 Highway 16, Green Cove Springs, FL  32043
(904) 529-3000
Last modified Clay High School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Clay High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top