Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenacres Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 715 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2011

my daughter went to this school she liked it but i didn'd it took 2 month to get an appointment with the teacher. my daughter got a C in math the 2nd trimester and when i finally got in touch with the teacher and she told me what my daughter needed help on i went on line and printed out the stuff, she did the work and had no problem doing it. i dont know what is wrong with her teacher. also at the end of the year for the 5 graders there was no graduation and the day the "graduation" was on they change it the day before. they also sent spanish paper home with my daughter and we didn't speak spanish, they did that alot. the date on the calender was wrong alot of the time and when u called the office no one knew anything
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

Use to be a great school til they got the new principal....the last three postings hit it right on the head! They aren't parent friendly AT ALL.They don't enforce The Anti-Bulling Law for one thing.Big issues in my kids life that! They don't care and they pretty much have this snotty better than you attitude ...granted there are a handful of great teachers there and thank god that horrid school has THEM!!! Its all a click with that school...god forbid you have a parent teacher conf...cause they already have the cards stacked against you before you even walk in there..(BRING PARENT REPRESENTATIVE WITH YOU!!) I hate this school and they have failed my children numerous times...and I don't mean grades!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

Ok, I know it's only day 2 of school and things get out of sorts but really??? My son is new to this school ( a transfer from another palm beach county school) I have had they worst experience ever .Upon enrollment i was approaced by a woman standing in the hallway eating a bananna telling me "are you sure this is your school"? uh yea lady i'm sure !!! is what i wanted to say.. I had a hard time understanding her because i don't speak a 2nd language. i talked w/vice princ. ( no one returns calls) they thought edline was a free lunch online site and sts they dont use it? WOW this place really makes me want to home school!!! I guess 2 months paid vacy does a number on some.. Greenacres ( is not the place to be) staff GET IT TOGETHER !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2008

'This school has the worst councelors, administration and teachers. I went to this school several years ago and enjoyed it. So when my son started school I was so excited and knew it would be great but I was wrong. I felt that they really didn't care for the students or parents. Also, it was hard for ... Read more me to get involved with the school since all the pto and sacc etc. meetings were afterschool. They need to make it avalible for those of us who work so we can voice our opinion. Read less Posted by a parent on 06/30/07' When I read this review, I just thought, 'exactly.' My child was never commended for doing well, when school choice was offered we moved her and we are all ecstatic! :( Shame on this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

This school has the worst councelors, administration and teachers. I went to this school several years ago and enjoyed it. So when my son started school I was so excited and knew it would be great but I was wrong. I felt that they really didn't care for the students or parents. Also, it was hard for me to get involved with the school since all the pto and sacc etc. meetings were afterschool. They need to make it avalible for those of us who work so we can voice our opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

This is a great school. The teachers and staff are very knowledgeable and caring. They work as a team to make every child be the very best student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2004

Greenacres Elementary is a wonderful school! All the teachers are so helpful. I went there, it is a great place to learn and have fun doing it! I think every child should go. Everyone there is so extremley nice and caring. Also the education is excellent. I got into advance classes from going to Greenacres. So Greenacres is the place to be!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 4, 2004

Greenacres is a wonderful school with great caring principle,teachers and councelors. They are very concientious and work closely with the parents to give your child the education he/she deserves. I look forward to my son's graduation next year, knowing he will be fully prepared to go to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2003

I was a student at Greenacres from 1990 until about 1995. The school is really good and everyone is really friendly.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 75%
Black 14%
White 7%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%73%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MELISSA PATTERSON
Fax number
  • (561) 649-7250

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

405 Jackson Avenue
Greenacres, FL 33463
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 649-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Forest Hill Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT