Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Okeeheelee Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1451 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2005

Given the limited resources to teachers by the school and district, teachers contribute extra money from their pockets to increase the chance for student success in the classroom. Many teachers in the school take additional time and effort to make students feel part of the community at Okeeheelee.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 18, 2005

This year I will have my 3 sons attending the school. I just hope that this year is better than it was 2 years ago when my eldest attended the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

My son goes to OMS since 2003. OMS is a school where the students, their education and their well being come first. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each student. The principal is kind, strict but fair and knows each student by name. OMS is the first school to have a bilingual program, where classes are offered in English as well as in Spanish. The school has an effective reading program that has helped student increase their scores in the FCAT. I do recommend this school for all it has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

Academic Programs ~ POOR My son attended this school for 6th grade and his Reading FCAT scores actually dropped! His Math FCAT stayed about the same. I was shocked to actually see a level 3 score on his FCAT results when he has scored 4's & 5's in Elementary School. I am still not quite sure with what knowledge he left OMS with. There are a few good teachers, but they do not make up for the poor level of education provided by their curriculum. The advanced classes do not offer much depth or challenge. However, OMS has an excellent band program with an outstanding band director, Ms. Shearon. She is a unique find in this school. After School Sports are fair. The teachers and staff involved do try and the students seem to enjoy the after school sports. Parent involvement - Fair. Communication is poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

I like Dr. Samore's attitude towards not putting up with any nonsense from the students. I feel that my child is safe there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

I graduated from this school, class of '04, and it wasn't really that good of a school. The gifted program, however, is pretty good and can get you into a prestigious school like Suncoast. There needs to be more varied activities, though.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 19, 2004

This school is great. Great teachers, great curriculum. Great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

I think this is a good school but as far as some of the teachers goes, there is a problem. I've contacted this school 3 different times in a two week span. I left 3 different messages for a teacher to contact me in regards to my son. I never received a phone call. Not one phone call. It wasn't until I threatended to contact the principal before she contacted me. I was unable to go to the school being that I live in the Tampa Bay area. My son lives with his father and in WPB but I still try to stay on top of things with the school. I am very upset in regards to the matter. I hope it never happenes again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2004

This school presently lacks communication efforts by teachers. As a parent, I have made many attempts to get in touch with my child's teachers via voicemail. In most occasions, I have to call the counseling office and have them leave messages. Students are not allowed lockers and must still use plastic or mesh backpacks. I also feel that more parents need to be involved and attend PTSO meetings and let their voices be heard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2004

As a parent, it has been my experience that parental involvement at the school is not only not encouraged, it is discouraged. In my opinion, overall morale at the school is very low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2004

Okeeheelee middle school is a very diverse school, there are many different cultures attending this school. In my opinion I think this is very good. However I also think that Okeeheelee has taken some drastic security measures like making all students wear only white, blue and gray colors, long pants, mesh or clear backpacks, and banning lockers. I think these security measures arent needed because of the safety of the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2003

I have a much different experience at this school with the ESE department. My child is an ESE student here and receives the fullest support and attention from the ESE office and staff. With their assistance and support he has being able to take advanced classes, reached the highest grades in the FCAT and enjoyed his schooling at this school. It is important that an excellent and comprehensive parent-student-ESE coordinator team and working relationship be developed and cultivated and the parent is well informed about the educational rights and responsibilities of an ESE student. An ESE student requires and needs a good parent-ESE coodinator team. The number of ESE student at this school is very high and the ESE staff is limited. The parent of the ESE student can assist the ESE coordinator for a more efficient resolution of any problems that comes up. It is difficult to get an appoinment, but with patience and kind persistence the ESE staff will see and meet with each parent or child that needs to. I agree that the backpack with the heavy load of books is too much and I am concerned about the significant orthopedic and muscular effect and damage that this is causing in these young children and what effect all this weight is having in the their bodies. I think that this needs to be look at carefully by medical professionals before this causes medical damages to these children. I don't think that this is a good policy and I recommed and suggest that needs to be stop or change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

Guidance doesn't return calls, neither does ESE people. Gangs and fights are out of control and the school is not safe. Students must have clear back packs and are not allowed to use lockers. What's with that? Students are hurt by older students even with teacher supervision. It is done behind their backs when they are not looking. Records are lost with confidential information with no explanation. I paid $1500.00 for an evaluation and it is also lost with a confidential 504K plan.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

440 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

439 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

450 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

489 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

371 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

503 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

501 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

496 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

446 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
81%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 67%
Black 16%
White 12%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 9%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%73%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 11%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DR. DAVID SAMORE
Fax number
  • (561) 434-3244

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2200 Pinehurst Drive
Greenacres, FL 33413
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 434-3200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

West Palm Beach Jr Academy
West Palm Beach, FL



Summit Christian School
West Palm Beach, FL




The Open Doorway
West Palm Beach, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT