Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 972 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

This is out second year here and I am not impressed! The assistant principal is a joke and racist! The principal is off in la la land somewhere and is useless. I ordered my childs school shirts over a month ago and still do not have them. The aftercare complains about EVERY little thing. Do not work with children if you can not handle it. Kids will be kids and have off days! I am looking into other options.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2014

I am looking forward to moving so that my son can change schools. The curriculum is poor, and they offer no room for advancement. My son has been bored since day 1, and I feel he is being held back. I've met some very nice teachers here, but again, the quality of education is extremely poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

The school's ESE program is very inadequate. As a parent of child with ASD, the teachers are not well trained and the curriculum was poor. The more you voice your opinion, the more your are frowned upon. The principal runs the place like a police officer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

My kids have been going to this school for 2 years now. Great school, great teachers, great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

amazing i recomend it Yup Yup Yup Yup Yup Yup Yup Yup Yup Yup Yup
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Next year will be my 7th year being a parent of children @ Heritagee. I bought my house specifically in the Heritage boundaries because i love this school. I feel informed and on a personal level with the staff. I havnt had any bad experiences. And i believe making Mr. Moldavan principal was a wonderful choice! I'm going to regret when my last child at Heritage leaves !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I really like Heriatge Elementary. Bth my children went and go there. It is a caring and well structured school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I give Heritage Elementary a 10 rating. My daughter is in kindergarten here and from her teacher to the principal, to the after care program everyone is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

This is the first year my children have attended this school and they love it. I have a daughter in K and a daughter in 5th both attended other schools and this school year is the easiest to get them there with no problems as far as them wanting to be there. It is very laid back providing a great education and a caring staff. My daughters have learned to be more independent, and I love it. The only slight issue is the parent pick up. It's just a little disorganized.. but thats a minor issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

The new principle is bringing the school back up to where it needs to be. Mr. Moldovan is very pro-active and has decreased the unnecessary pressure on the teachers that was seen last year. The ESE coordinator that came in last year is making a huge difference compared to the previous one. My daughter is in 5th grade and has been there since kindergarten. I am an involved parent and my daughter has been given the assistance she needs throughout. I don't know what might have happened if she didn't have the opportunity to go to this school. Thanks to the staff! Especially the excellent 5th grade teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

there is a new principal and i look forwarde to working with him. i find the new principal to be interested and concerned about the children in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

I would not recomend this school to any parent. The principal is poor at her job
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

This school is an excellent school. My kids have great teacher who care and are on top of things. They always write note to parents to let them know if there is anything wrong or right with the kids in school. The only thing is that parents should be able to go on line and double check there kids homework assignments , just in case the kids miss school ,forgot to write it down or was not paying attention to what was on the board..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

My Daughter has been a student since Kindergarten. She is now in 2nd grade. I disagree with the policy of not allowing a parent to walk the child into class. My Daughter was extremely frightened her first few weeks of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

My child attended heritage and it was a total disappointment. ESE teachers did not work well together, opposed suggestions from parents. The principal and VP not well liked and not focused on ESE at all. Hired staff assistants for ESE with no experience. My child learned nothing that whole year he attented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2007

I am a teacher at Heritage Elementary. The principal s focus is on regular education and not on ESE. That is the main problem at the school lack of focus . I would not send an ESE child to Heritage Elementary. An ESE child needs a caring teacher and administration in order to be successful in school
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 2, 2007

I feel the quality of the school is going down. My child has been at the school for a couple of years. The principal seems disinterested in her job. I disagree with some of the discipline. My child was late for school. The principal made my child stand in the hall way for 10 minutes which made my child even more late. The administration just does not care. The academics at the school are focused on FCAT leaving very little room for anything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2006

This school seems to be headed in the wrong direction. We have been attending since K and now 4th grade. The leadership changed at the Principal and Vice Principal level and it appears that there is a lack of proven experience. The 'Blame Game' seems prevailent there. They will provide a listening ear for your concerns but, no action is taken. When my A+ student starts telling me he would rather stay home because they aren't teaching anything new I became concerned. So much time is spent trying to reach minimum standards that no one excels. I guess it's good that the minimum standards have become lower. Life is easier for the staff. It was a nice place only a couple of years ago!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

This is a wonderful school! The principal and vice principal are always visible and available. I feel that my child is always safe when he is there. Their education is top quality. My child has excelled there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 70%
Black 16%
White 10%
Asian 2%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 74%73%61%
Master's degree 26%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Nina Lant
Fax number
  • (561) 804-3250

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5100 Melaleuca Ln
Greenacres, FL 33463
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 804-3200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT