Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cholee Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 966 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2006

My daughters teacher is very nice! I am very happy with her. The drop off and pick up is very un-organized as I see stated from alot of other reviews. I am very concerned at seeing the negative comments that are on this blog.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

This is one of the worst schools in this area. First of all the carloop is very unorganized and it is almost impossible for me to get back to work from a 45 minute break, second of all my daughter had 40 kids in her kindergarten class with one teacher. she hasn't learned anything in this school. It should be closed down and all staff members should be given a lesson in kindness. I see the stuck up principal is no longer there. I feel bad for whoever has her now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2006

I think this is the worst school in the area. Both my children had a hard time in this school with not only the learning element put the displine was a joke. My kids will not be going to this school next year. I would not let any child I care about go there, fight to get them in another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

Cholee Lake is one of the worse schools around. You can see on the faces of the staff that they are not happy. Look at how many staff members are the original ones and maybe that will tell you something. The discipline of the students is a joke. My child no longer goes there and I am so thankful! If you have an opportunity to go elsewhere, go for it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

I also have another child enrolled in a different local elementary school for their ESE program & they (the other school) even complain when having anything at all to do with Cholee Lake & have recommended that I go out of my way to keep my child from enrolling at Cholee Lake next year. So, apparently it's not only the parents of students who are treated like garbage by Cholee staff. Fabulous role models.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2006

I was not pleased with this school and fortunately was able to move to a different city with what I feel is a better school. My son is in Kindergarten and was having a problem learning as he put it. He also attends Sylvan Learning Center for tutoring. He was scared of one or more teachers that he told me were always yelling at his classmates. One student in particular that was always in trouble for being mean to the other children. Since he has changed schools he no longer wakes up with nightmares and he doesn't cry and try to argue with me about going to school. this school has a few concerned people in administration, but they are few, approximately 3 that I had good experiences with in the short time my son attended Cholee Lake. I would definitely not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

Although this school is A rated. They need to focus more on the reading and math scores of their students. The acheivement level for these students is just above 60%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2005

There are free tutorial programs for students who are at risk.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 76% 29%
Black 11% 23%
White 9% 42%
Asian 2% 3%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%73%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jacqueline Perkins
Fax number
  • (561) 383-9650

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6680 Dillman Rd
Greenacres, FL 33413
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 383-9600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

West Palm Beach Junior Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Pine Jog Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


Everglades Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


Melaleuca Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


Forest Hill Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT