Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cholee Lake Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1050 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2011

MY DOUGHTER IS GOING TO THIS SCHOOL, FOR 3 YEARS, HER SELF STEEM IS MUCH BETTER, SHE IS SO HAPPY , SHE LOVES HER TEACHERS, SHE NEVER MAKES NEGATIVE COMMENTS ABOUT THE SCHOOL. SHE USED TO GO GO TO ANOTHER SCHOOL, AND SHE WAS DESCRIMINATED TO BE SPANISH, ANY TEACHER OR PRICIPAL DID SOMETHING TO HELP HER,. I'M VERY GRATEFUL TO CHOLEE LAKE STAFF.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

If there was a negative rating for this school we would have put it there. To add insult to injury its rated a "C".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

My son came to Cholee Lake last year from a private school that he had been attending since k4. He was diagnosed with a learning disability and also had problems with his speech. This was an issue that we had been trying to address at the private school since k4 to no avail. Though he was pulled out of class for extra help in math and english they did not address the core problems he was having in either subject (he ended up stressed and sick A LOT). When we decided to put him in public school I called Cholee and requested a meeting to discuss the problems he had been having in school and I was pleasantly surprised that from the very beginning (before school started) Cholee had a whole team assigned to my son This help continued throughout the year. He has progressed beautifully and is almost to the same reading/writing level as his peers. If you are a proactive parent and want help for your child you will get it at Cholee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

What a wonderful school! The teachers here are innovative, positive, and extremely dedicated to their students. I was especially impressed with the extra effort the third grade teachers provided for my son during this FCAT stressed year. I couldn't speak more positively about the principal, Dr. Feaman, and all the free programs/services this school provides. The only thing lacking is parent participation. I would highly suggest you get involved and participate in all the events this school plans for parents and their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2009

I think the teachers in this school are awesome...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

So far so good. My son is in kindergaten and is doing fantastic. They do run a tight ship and don't stand for a lot of nonsense. I commend this approach! A lot of children these days are out of control and it's great to see a school and it's staff so dedicated to not only educating our children, but teaching them values and instilling good behavior as well as demand it from it's students. They constantly push for and remind parents to be involved and out events together to encourage that. KUDOS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2008

My daughter has been going to this school ever sinced it opened in 2002. It was like a graduation but it was a ceremony from 5th grade. She felt very sad to be leaving this school and all her friends. The teachers and staff are the most wonderful people! I have been involved in some of the activities in Cholee Lake. Overall i would have to say this school is awsome! My daughter was sad to leave and go to middle school but she told me this school was great and is VERY safe. Go Cholee Lake!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Thumbs Up! for Dr. Feaman. She is there when you need it and she takes care of the small and big things. She is always there for the students, teachers, parents and anyone who needs her there to give a solution. Thanks for being there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

I have been a parent with two students at Cholee Lake Elementary School for 5 years now. I am an active participant in the school. I have seen great teachers and soso teachers. I have been through 3 principals and have worked with all of them. The new Pricipal Dr. Feaman has top marks from me. She is addressing the discipline problems, low teacher morale and encouraging parent participation. She is amazing! I think that the school will only see improvements all the way around. We are also expected to have a drop in enrollment, which will ease the car loop and the crazy lunch room schedules. Many of the problems in the past were due to too many people at a school that was built for 950 kids. Parents need to be involved in their childrens education, communication is key!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

some of the teachers are good like mrs disnati in 5th grade but others may be a little strict and the students misbehave alot there alots of fights.i would recomend other schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2007

The new principle at this school is amazing. So glad Ms. Gleicher joined the staff. She is an asset to education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

Not certain about all of the negativity about this school. My grandson is entering second grade this year. His previous years have been very productive and filled with learning. He had team teachers in kindergarten and first grade and they were on top of their teaching game. Yes, we spent time with him at home teaching proper study methods and habits and the teachers wrote a note regarding progress nearly every day.


Posted August 22, 2007

I just want to comment on some of the 'bad' reviews this school is getting from some parents. I have two kids going to this school and they have learned plenty and have had very good teachers. The communication with the staff is also very good. This school by far is not even close to being the worst school around they are an 'B' rated school only because they matched their test score from the year before, when they were rated an 'A'. As far as I'm concered this is an 'A' rated school. I guess the parents who are complaining are the ones who do not get involved with their kids homework and the school and think they should not have to help their kids because they go to school. As far as the car loop, we have the most kids than other schools around what can you do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

I have been involved with Cholee Lake for 3 years. The discipline in this school is a joke. The academic programs are soso, and the music, art and sports programs were soso, we need more parent involvement. And I recommend some security in this school other than the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

I love this school! From the staff to the awesome PTA it is a great school.As for the car loop its a big school and takes time for everyone to get through.The art,dance,and chorus program(which are free)are great.I would recommend getting involved with the PTA it only benefits the kids.The carnival at the end of the year is the best,and so is the 'NOT SO SPOOKY HALLOWEEN' book party.I am so glad to have uniforms this year as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

I have a 7 year old daughter ready to start second grade at Cholle Lakes. I was an active volunteer last year and enjoyed the great interaction between the staff, parents and students. Looking forward to another great year helping my daughter grow and learn with the help of the great teachers at Cholee Lakes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

My daughter has been at cholee Lake since kindergarten and know starting 3rd. My experience with her teachers has been great. Parents need to keep in mind that if you want success in your child you to must keep all lines of communication open and share any concerns with the teachers at all time regardless if your child is doing good or bad. All the effort can't be expected from the teachers. However I'm concerned about the disorganization of the car loop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

I have to say that there are just a couple people at the school that are GREAT!! (Ms. Ardane is wonderful) Past that, not so sure. Communication is impossible with my son's teacher, I understand they have incredibly HUGE classes so it is hard for them to focus on any particular student. I would recommend looking into different schools to find exactly what it is you want from a school....my son is learning here just not to the best of his ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

I am soooooooo glad this is my daughters last year at this school. It is the worst school around. I am soo glad that the stuck up principal is gone. There is no communication with the teachers, they never look happy. And that car loop is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2006

My child has been in this school since first grade. She is now in 3rd. I have never experienced any of the problems other people have said about this school. Every teacher is pleasant and wonderful.The education there is the best I know. I always hear people wanting to switch their kids there because of the type of school it is. They will be starting chorus, art programs etc. for after school. New to the school this year is a reading/drama room that all kids will experience. I think if parents can volunteer it would let them see first hand what the school is like. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
23%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

146 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 75%
Black 15%
White 8%
Two or more races 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 42%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%73%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARLINE CAMPBELL
Fax number
  • (561) 383-9650

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6680 Dillman Road
Greenacres, FL 33413
Website: Click here
Phone: (561) 383-9600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

West Palm Beach Jr Academy
West Palm Beach, FL


Pine Jog Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


Melaleuca Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


Forest Hill Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL


Everglades Elementary School
West Palm Beach, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT