Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gray Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1019 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2014

Gray Middle School is great! So glad we transferred our son from a charter school. Now my child is receiving a real education, has great teachers, various electives that are interesting and educational, and great leadership. The brand new building is clean and has everything the students and staff need. There is a police officer there daily. Well run, great teachers, admin, guidance and principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

My school is overall a great school. Im in all honors classes and I love all my classes & teachers! even if your in the lower classes as long as you try hard you will do fine! The only thing I do not like is that we have assigned seating arrangments and once we seat there we cant leave unless we have a very good reason! And the other thing is I don't think they offer enough electives. but other then that great school!


Posted October 28, 2013

My Grandson entered Gray from Groveland Elem. he was not interested in school at all. I have seen so much of improvement in his attitude and his knowledge of wanting to learn. He is A-B honor roll and the teachers have alot to do with that, I have never seen him this interested-please know that I want to thank all of you for keeping his attention and getting him ready for high school 2014.


Posted May 26, 2011

My child had a great experience at Gray Middle School. She received a great education from wonderful teachers. The administration & support staff are top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

Love this school! I have great respect for the teachers and administration. I really like the way they keep the different grade levels separated throughout the day. They really make an effort to keep the kids on track!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Great place to work. Caring teachers & administrators


Posted May 25, 2010

I am very unhappy with this school and its' leadership. This has been one of the worst years yet of my child's education. The experiences that I have had are "driving" me to go back to school. I will be getting my bachelors so that I can seek employment with in the district to try to help the children in the area. Highly unsatisfactory.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I wish they would fix the new school up because this is crazy having our children in portables.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I have a granddaughter that has LD and the ESE counselor office staff, and teachers have been so supportive of her! Great teachers because they have an awesome principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Gray really has some wonderful teachers, and it is a real shame that Lake County leadership continues to keep the same inept administration at this school. The principal is absolutely rude to parents and students, and never leaves her office. The Assistant Principals are also rude to parents and have absolutely no control of the students. A new building will certainly help next year, but until there is a huge shake up in administration, nothing will change. Finally, there is high percentage of Hispanic students, and literally 2 staff members who speak Spanish. The staff/faculty do not reflect the demographics of the school. There is also high teacher turn over, which is a huge concern of mine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Most wonderful school with amazing programs, great teachers, and the best principal!! We are ready to show off Gray Middle power!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2010

My Daughter went here for her 8th gade year. We pulled her out and switched to Windy Hill. I attended a parents day at this school I could not belive how run down it was and the staff could care less what the students did. Groveland/Mascotte is a low income area and it shows in the quality of this school and its staff. I cant see how this school has a A rating, it must be on a very low sliding scale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

This is by far one of the worse schools I have ever had to deal with. We relocated here over a year ago where my daughter was a gifted student. A year and a half later we are still waiting for them to 'test' her. The administrative staff leave much to be desired and the school as a whole do not make new families feel welcome at all! I am so glad that this is her last year there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

The administration of this school needs to be reviewed, they do not respect the students or the parents. They seem to only have two forms of discipline in-school and out of school suspension, which with the behaviour problems in this school, neither punishment seems to work. This is my child's third year at this school and I am so glad it is finally over. This is by far the worst school my child has ever attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2007

This is my daughters 2nd year here and, so far this is so far a good school to her... she loves her teachers, and she says that if she has a problem she can just ask ,and they will explain it... i do not worry about the violence atnthis school, this is a better school about that. they do need to rebuild, but i've heard that they are going to rebuild either this summer or next. this school is just run down a bit...some teachers are just grouchy, and some are really nice... this is overall a good school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

This is the 3rd and last year for my daughter at Grey. Yes , the school is very old and rundown. I can say for the most part the teacher are good. I believe most come from outside of the state, possibly to start there then find there real home. Most teacher are young and very attractive, almost fresh out of school. I have never had any problem with any of the teachers there. But! There is this one woman who is the rudist person I have ever dealt with that works in the main office. I have complained about her for the past 2 years and still she contiunes to be rude, almost down talking to the students. besides that the school is pretty good, my daughter loves all her teachers. Advise, Rebuild!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

My child has gone to Gray for 3 years and likes the school. I don't worry about violence. The programs I have been to I have noticed a great turnout by the parents. The school provides a few after school programs. The school is old but the classrooms that I have seen and been in are freshly painted with clean desks,clean carpet,and the grounds are well kept. The important part is they do provide a good academic program. When my child brought home a low grade on her progress report I emailed the teacher that night to see what the problem was and got a quick respone. Email is a very effective tool. I have always gotten a good response through email since my daugter started school. There is always room for improvement but I am satisfied with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

I am very discouraged by Gray Middle School. When my foster son had problems in a particular class, the administration would do nothing to resolve it until there were extreme behavior problems-- from both the student and the teacher! Also, his FCAT scores declined tremendously although he attended intensive reading and math programs for a year at this school. And, although his FCAT scores were extremely low and his grades were failing (he is unable to read, write, or multiply), he was promoted to the next grade. -sn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

I am so happy that this is our last year at this school. It has been one horrible experience after another. Administration does not care about the students and neither do the teachers. I was very upset when I received misinformation about my child because the administrator did not take the time to look at the file. The teachers can't even take the time to write comments in the agendas when a child is not doing well in class. They claim that they have no time. That is something they are supposed to do on a daily basis. I only encountered one teacher who actually took the time to speak with me about my child's progress. With respect to academics programs they are very good. However, I would prefer that Spanish would be offered instead of an elective like dance or drama. The campus is also very run down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2006

Well this will be my third year attending Gray. I have to say that it is a horrible school. The administration is not fair to the students. They don't show us with any resect. The campus is very shabby. I Don't recommend anyone to go to it. (Just my opinion)
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

320 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

320 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

343 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

184 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
26%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

327 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

328 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

325 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

321 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 48%
Hispanic 34%
Black 10%
Two or more races 4%
Asian 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 79%62%61%
Master's degree 21%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. DEAN HAACK
Fax number
  • (352) 429-0133

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

205 East Magnolia Street
Groveland, FL 34736
Website: Click here
Phone: (352) 429-3322

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT