Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oriole Beach Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 806 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

This is a great school. My 3rd grader has been here since kindergarten, and we've loved all the teachers and staff that we've worked with. The principals seem to set a good tone and are very involved with the kids - working the car rider line, greeting them as they arrive for evening or weekend activities, etc...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Our children just transferred here from out of state and we all love it here. The teachers have been wonderful as well as the administrators. My children have made some wonderful friends it seems and have not once come home complaining about a mean incident. I have no problem with all of the fundraisers, schools these days seem to be getting less and less money so if I can help
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

IF THIS REVIEW MAKES IT TO POST I WILL BE SHOCKED! IT SEEMS THEY HAVE TEACHERS WRITING REVIEWS! SO......IF YOU HAVE AN ESE CHILD YOU SHOULD BE AWARE THAT THE FOCUS WILL NOT BE ON YOUR CHILD. THIS SCHOOLS MAIN INTREST IS ON PARENTS THAT CAN FUNDRAISE OR BROWN NOSE THE HIGHER UPS. I STRONGLY ENCOURAGE ESE PARENTS TO CONSIDER ANOTHER DISTRICT THAT CARES AND HAS MORE RESOURCES TO OFFER. YOUR CHILD WILL BE SEPERATE FROM THE GROUP. THIS SCHOOL IS NOT UNITED. IF YOU DO NOT BELIEVE ME THEN GO AND EXPERIENCE FOR YOURSELF BUT JUST KEEP IN MIND THAT YOU WERE WARNED!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

Awesome School my kids have attended K-5th. I am very pleased with the security, Teachers-Principal. front desk staff is also great .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

My son attended OBE from first-fifth, and my daughter started K there and is currently in third. Overall, we have had a great experience. OBE has a lot of parent and community involvement, and the atmosphere is very welcoming. I have been pleased with the academics and relationships with most of the teachers. Interaction with the principal has been a bit spotty. My son has special needs and that road was a bit bumpy from time to time - not a lot of focus on special needs kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

Oriole Beach really is the greatest place to be. The teachers and staff are so wonderful. They love the children and the children definitely love them back. My children go to school with big smiles on their faces each day and come home with all kinds of fun stories about how their day went. I love this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

OBE is the place to be! Great teachers and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

It has the greatest students, teachers and parents in the world!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2009

My children attended an escambia county school before coming to obe and we could not be happier with our decision. This school rocks. The principal and vp are awesome and always around interacting with the kids and parents and the teachers are the best ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

There is a core group of teachers at this school that are excellent in both their teaching ability and their dedication to their school community. They put in extra time, keep open communication with parents, stay involved with 'extra curricular' activities that help support the students and the school and just go above and beyond what is required by the job description. This is what makes Oriole Beach a great school. The rest of the teachers are well trained and seem more than capable to handle the challenge of educating the students of today. It would be nice to see more emphasis on making the students technologically adept but that would probably require more training of the current staff. Still, I am very happy with my children's experiences at Oriole Beach. Congratulations to all faculty, staff and administration on the Blue Ribbon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2008

This school is great for my 5th grader, who is a fast pace learner. But, I can tell you, if you have a child who has a learning curve and does not learn at the same pace as average children, you can hang it up. Oriole Beach is not the place for your child. Teaching is at one pace only, they seem to think all these children are 25 and can remember everything. The time is not given to those children who so desperately need and want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

Not one negative thing, teachers are great, principal and assistant principal are Christians, and family people. I worked here, worked one on one with them. It's not numbers 'A school' that counts, it's the grown-ups they are making, and it shows.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted September 26, 2007

As a parent and also a volunteer, I can tell you firsthand that these teachers care about their students (at least the ones my kids have had)and are dedicated professionals. Many times I drive by the school on weekends and see my son's kindergarten teacher's car there. She always makes things such fun and exciting so the kids want to be there. All personnel seems caring and concerned with the students' total well being. Mr. Charlie is a saint! The expectations are high but teachers help the children achieve the highest level possible by working with them in a variety of ways. Much praise to this shining example of what public school can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

I am the grandparent of a 4th grader at OBE. My grandson has done very well at this school and the faculty seems to care a great deal about the children enrolled. Family involvement is what makes a great school and OBE has that. Linda Stapleton
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

This school excels in treating your child as an individual,teaching them about the world and their community,taking pride in their troops and their veterans,an incredibly talented and enthusiastic librarian and art teacher - and superb staff. You cannot go wrong here and hopefully the one weakness- not teaching a secondary language- will be met soon! Parent involvement is encouraged and very high- you will feel welcome here anytime. Your children will love going to school- as an education specialist and parent- this school exceeds expectations. Bravo to this A plus public school !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

This school has a very gifted art teacher, who excels in teaching much more than how to draw. She has fun with the kids and is a wonderful artist herself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2005

Excellent school. Teachers and parents have great communication. Great place to send kids to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

This is a wonderful school overall. The environment is friendly and encourages a lot of parent interaction and involvement. The only downside is there is a small problem with getting messages relayed to the teachers when you call the office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

Oriole Beach Elementary is a great school. The teachers are excellent and employ developmentally appropriate practice in their teaching. I wouldn't send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 84%
Hispanic 6%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 2%
Black 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 73%65%61%
Master's degree 25%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 15%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1260 Oriole Beach Road
Gulf Breeze, FL 32563
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 934-5160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pensacola Beach Charter School
Pensacola Beach, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT