Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodlawn Beach Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 994 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2014

listen, the school is neither good nor bad! I will tell you this. Unless your child is an overachiever he's not going to be treated as an equal! My son attended the 8th grade here and was not allowed to go on the 8th grade field trip because of having a low grade when he transfer, which he brought up, and because he did not receive any awards for outstanding academic, band, or extra curriculum, he did not get to attend the 8th grade promotion ceremony!!!! Something every child should be able to do! My son is 14 and tells me that the teachers don't care if he's learning. That they dont t rd y and engage the students. He says that one of his teachers sits in every class and text on the phone! so, yes an A plus school for the area, but not A plus in general. If I HAD to pick a florida school this would be it...but dont set ur expectations high...especially if your child wants to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

The best school my son and daughter ever attended in their life. The teachers and staff are just awesome! I very much enjoyed my children attending Woodlawn Beach Middle School!!! My son starts high school this year but my daughter now has to go back to Holley Navarre Middle School due to the fact she is ESE and they did not have enough students in ESE in Woodlawn Beach Middle School to keep them their .I do not like Holley Navarre Middle School at all I have had only bad experiences with that school with some of the teachers and especially the principal who seems very uncaring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

Woodlawn Beach Middle School is an AMAZING school!!I'm now an eight grade student here at Woodlawn and i LOVE it!! Yes we have are ups and downs,but its a great school! I have been here since the sixth grade and i love everything about it!WBMS is one big family literally.Everyone is friendly and the teachers are awesome! Yes they can be strict,but without strict teachers we could end up having crazy classrooms!We don't have lockers(except for in the band room and girls/boys lockers room) but we are allowd to carry backpacks.Woodlawn is a great school everyone is nice. Now don't get me wrong we do have some people who can be rude at first,but that doesn't mean were all like that.Were a family and sometimes families argue and have disagreements.I love everyone at Woodlawn and if you plan to come here as a student,or teacher/staff member or if your are just a concerned parent who wants to know more about the school your child goes to then pick this school because honestly its just plain amazing!! Go Wildcats!!(:


Posted September 13, 2010

My son is currently enrolled at WBMS in seventh grade. We have had all good experiences there so far. He has special needs, so we have dealt with administration, guidance, county liaisons, and individual teachers. Every experience has been a positive one and every single person has been responsive and exhibited a wonderful attitude. My son has been challenged academically, but with flexibility for his special needs. I am a big fan of electronic communication, and WBMS provides online grades and weekly email newsletter updates so that I always feel informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

Woodlawn Beach is a great school, but the teachers seem to be a little more harsh than necessary. They will take objects from the students and either: Not give them back, or wait until the end of the year. But the classes are excellent, the principal and dean are nice. ((I'm starting seventh grade in two days, and I'm a military child. I've been to many schools, but this is by far my favorite.))
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2009

I love woodlawn its a great school i'm in 6th going in to 7th.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2008

Woodlawn is the best school. The dean is awesome, the principals are cool and the teachers are out of this world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

My family and I have lived in 7 states and my children have attended school in each. This school is by far the worst we have experienced. Their inability/willingness to communicate either with or between administrators, staff, and teachers to students and parents is the impetus for all their shortfalls. If your child has educational challenges, do not think of enrolling him/her in this school. Their challenges will be either ignored or the school will place a band-aid on them. We read the reviews on this page and we were excited to be attending WBMS. Don t believe everything you read. Take my message here with grain of salt, but do your research more carefully than we did. Maybe, with a new principal next year, things will change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

This is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2007

While the front staff welcomed you with open friendly smiles and were always very helpful. The Principal very professional and appeared to care for her children the way you hope a Principal will, the majority of the teachers I met always quick to attend to the needs of child and parent alike, and the choir program at this school has a reputation for being outstanding
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

I love Woodlawn Middle. It is a newer school so it does not offer everything that Gulf Breeze Middle offers, but it is on its way. One of the best things about this school is it's Principle. She is positive and believes in the kids. My son has loved 6th grade and does not think that it is too strict. His teachers have been responsive to email and have held him accountable when needed. I wish there were more honors programs and Science Olympiad and more Art but like I said they are on their way. Excellant Math 6th grade teacher (Mr. Koger) as well. Teachers say they are happy teaching there. I expect to see even better things from this school each year. Go Woodlawn Wild Cats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2006

I was very impressed by the behavior of the students, and the concern for their safety at this school. The teachers I was involved with were very concerned with academics, and I thought their lesson plans were interesting and appropriately challenging. I did not see a whole lot of parent involvement, but I think that's typical in middle schools compared to elementary schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

Over all Woodlawn is an acceptable school, but I am disappointed with their course availablity for the sixth graders. My son was in GT for fifth grade, but had no honors courses he could take at Woodlawn except Social Studies. Also, I feel the school is very strict. No lockers. No back packs allowed. The students' binders become huge, heavy and difficult to carry.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

312 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

332 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

333 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

307 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

345 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

347 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

344 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

335 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

140 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 7%
Two or more races 6%
Black 5%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 58%65%61%
Master's degree 42%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%1%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 Woodlawn Way
Gulf Breeze, FL 32563
Website: Click here
Phone: (850) 934-4010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT