Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Gulfport, FL
Students enrolled: 616

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
It's a great school! It has everything an elementary school has to offer! Great teachers that really care about the kids! A principal who is fantastic! My child is getting a well rounded education there.

Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School 5

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience with the Montessori program. My child just completed 5th grade and went K - 5 in the Montessori program. It is great that children can learn at their own pace, use materials that give them a bigger understanding than just rote memorization, and with 2 teachers in a class (one assistant with each teacher) it makes for a 1:9 ratio until 4th grade and then 1:11. Great! My suggestion for those who have heard not so positive things in the past, or who are wondering about the program is to "get involved". If you are active in getting to know your teacher, going to the PTA and school events, and seeking information, you will resolve any concerns you have. While my initial concern in entering kindergarten was the school within a school portion, the Montessori classes go to music, art, etc with their own classes. PE is typically all Montessori on the field at once, but can be combined some years where schedules don't permit. There is a great music and art program. Lots of extra activities through the years - yoga, soccer, football, etc. Try it for yourself, get involved, and you will love the personal connection both you and your child experience.


Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School 4

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
We liked the Montessori program, the teachers were nice and our kids did well. Unfortunately the atmosphere in the cafeteria is pretty tense, just like at many other public schools that we have seen. The kids are not able to eat in a nice, relaxing atmosphere.

Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2011
- a parent
My children attend Gulfport Montessori and I couldn't be happier. Another commenter complained about the Kindergarten program. In the past, this may have been true, but this year there are different teachers in the Kindergarten classroom. Yeah! These are not new teachers - they are Montessori teachers who have moved from other grade levels to teach Kindergarten. It is a new day for the Kindergarten program at Gulfport Montessori! If you have a child entering Kindergarten, you should DEFINITELY check out Gulfport. Your child will have a 1:9 teacher/student ratio for K-5...something that you will NOT find at any other school (public or private). And the Montessori method allows your child to learn new concepts without ever finding them too hard, or feeling defeated that they "can't do it". The Montessori teachers work with your child to teach new concepts in a way that makes even harder tasks something that your child will not be overwhelmed by. I highly recommend this school! Also, the Montessori method teaches respect, grace and courtesy in many small ways...something we all need more of these days.

Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School 4

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
great teachers and staff my son is doing very well there will be staying there thru 5th grade


Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School 2

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
Very disappointing for kindergarten. Thought it was supposed to be an exciting time for your child and it was derogatory, sad, and no positive reinforcement. Children are 'fired' from tasksand made to feel like they failed. I would not recommend this school to new little children who need a positive experience for their first years in school.

Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School 4

Posted May 17, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School 4

Posted February 19, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 20, 2004
- a parent
This is a new school with emphasis on hands-on learning. My mother sends all of her foster children to this school because of the laid back environment. She can't say enough good things about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School
2014 52nd Street South, Gulfport, FL  33707
(727) 893-2643
Last modified Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gulfport Montessouri Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top