Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK, 9-12
Public
Haines City, FL
Students enrolled: 2,371

2 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Haines City Senior High School 1

Posted July 18, 2014
- a parent
This School is the worst of the worst in Polk County. Do what you have too to get your child out of the school or send them to another school. And it is very sad that this is the only school that all Polk county student who live in Poinciana have to go too. Shame on the School Board and all who work or teach in this school.

Haines City Senior High School 2

Posted December 27, 2013
- a community member
This school is not soo bad only some of the staff members are nice but that is hard to find. I don't understand at first they enforce dress code now they don't even care. I'm a recent student and the teachers doesn't even challenge their students to their full potential it is sad actually. Unless your an Ap or IB than your someone. The classes they have are widely selectable and the Guidance counselors are always informative but the teachers are lazy, disrespectful and rude only a few are actually very nice and sweet. This school wants their children to starve you cant even eat snacks in classes and you know well these kids wake up early in the morning of course they going to be hungry while in class. Its like this school has become one of those either you "survive" or your just like the rest. Too much fights, drama, poor environment and trash is all over the place smh.


Haines City Senior High School 1

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
There is a physical fight at this school almost on a daily basis, usually influenced by racism. If you or your children do not speak spanish, this would not be the safest school for them to attend.

Haines City Senior High School 5

Posted July 02, 2013
- a community member
This school is a good school. The kids might be a bit vulgar and at times inappropriate but when it comes to school work they do what they have to do to get a high grade. Are the teachers strict? Most of them now are. They are very helpful and understand and will help you if you need it. I am a proud graduate from this school. As long as you are dedicated and hardworking you will graduate. Just watch the company you keep because most of the students are back stabbing and liars but as long as you know what you want out of each class you'll be fine. My advice is BE QUIET and the less popular you are the less drama

Haines City Senior High School 1

Posted September 03, 2012
- a community member
yo soy un estuadiamne de haines city. La escuala es muy malo.. no me gusta


Haines City Senior High School 5

Posted April 28, 2012
- a community member
Umm i've been going here for awhile. it feels like middle school. everything is whatever. ohh and they have a sand problem, like if you had the beach minus the water. so you know your shoes will get ruined. i suggest you take AP classes because anything under is a joke. like honor classes are really easy. everything is just really whatever. rules aren't really kept too. dress code is whatever. great school if you don't want to learn.

Haines City Senior High School 2

Posted April 28, 2012
- a community member
HCHS as a unit is an okay school? Lets be real this school sucks. Not only is the school full of everything from fake people, pregnant chicks, want to be popular, and pathetic jocks. The school is full of stupid rules, that does not benefit the students. If you're not in I.B or AP classes you mean absolutely nothing to the staff. The school is dirty, old, and disgusting, and as our school grade goes up more rights are being ripped away from the students. If I did not know any better I'd say Haines City High was a prison. If you have a better chance at a better opportunity for your child, then I suggest private school but keep your kids out of Haines City its not worth the unnecessary stress on the child. On a positive note there are some pretty amazing teachers there. Emphasizes on the word "some".

Haines City Senior High School 1

Posted March 28, 2012
- a parent
Cuando my sun entre en haines city, the skool was terrible. Hoever, jis maester showed jim wich jallways to aboid. He was en the cafateria allway cuando a big chico come and give him wegie. his had f's en todos of jis clases. porque maester no espeke espanol. Los ib chicos ar muy meen a mi sun, and tink que we no espeke ingles. i come to skool but tey dice que i no can take my sun out.


Haines City Senior High School 4

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attends HCHS and she loves it. All of her teachers have been very supportive, especially Mr. Reed. I hope that the remaining years of her high school career are as wonderful as this one has been. Thank you Mr. Reed for all that you have done for Baileigh! Jennifer Williams

Haines City Senior High School 1

Posted August 18, 2010
- a community member
I hate haines city high school! I've been going there ever since 2008 my freshman year and now I will be graduating there 2011. I've made very few friends and out of those few frinds none of them where true. Even though it wasnt fun I'd rather be alone then struggle to make some stuck up friends. The teachers are not really into there work but i dont know if its because the children are discouraging the teachers. the administraters are just as bad as the kids but i dont wnt to get into detail. Having your kids surrounded by the kids at haines city is a bad influence. Oh yeah and waaaaaaayyyy to much teen pregnacy going on and too much drama I stongly do not reccommend haines city high school for anyone's children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Haines City Senior High School
2800 Hornet Drive, Haines City, FL  33844
(863) 421-3281
Last modified Haines City Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Haines City Senior High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top