Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK, 9-12
Public district
Haines City, FL
Students enrolled: 2,371
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Haines City Senior High School 3

Posted May 06, 2015
- a community member
I went here for 2 and a half years and left to Polk State Chain of Lakes Collegiate High School. A lot of the staff members (counselors, deans, etc.) are amazing and really want the best for the students. Your child's success in this school is based of the friends that they make. A good majority of the student body is basically useless but there are many student that are going places (IB students, theatre students, AP students). The school is extremely over populated (poinciana needs there own high school for students zoned for HCHS). Many of the teachers are under appreciated by the school board and are actually very good but some are completely useless. School spirit is basically nonexistent here. The sports aren't really that good so if your child is amazing at a sport its kind of easy for them to stand out. As a parent make sure you befriend a school counselor and ask about good opportunities for your child. This school is very dirty (never have toilet paper cause the students basically try to clog the toilets and stuff) and unsafe. Its EXTREMELY easy for anyone to walk on campus and your child to leave campus.

Haines City Senior High School 1

Posted July 18, 2014
- a parent
This School is the worst of the worst in Polk County. Do what you have too to get your child out of the school or send them to another school. And it is very sad that this is the only school that all Polk county student who live in Poinciana have to go too. Shame on the School Board and all who work or teach in this school.


Haines City Senior High School 2

Posted December 27, 2013
- a community member
This school is not soo bad only some of the staff members are nice but that is hard to find. I don't understand at first they enforce dress code now they don't even care. I'm a recent student and the teachers doesn't even challenge their students to their full potential it is sad actually. Unless your an Ap or IB than your someone. The classes they have are widely selectable and the Guidance counselors are always informative but the teachers are lazy, disrespectful and rude only a few are actually very nice and sweet. This school wants their children to starve you cant even eat snacks in classes and you know well these kids wake up early in the morning of course they going to be hungry while in class. Its like this school has become one of those either you "survive" or your just like the rest. Too much fights, drama, poor environment and trash is all over the place smh.

Haines City Senior High School 1

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
There is a physical fight at this school almost on a daily basis, usually influenced by racism. If you or your children do not speak spanish, this would not be the safest school for them to attend.

Haines City Senior High School 5

Posted July 02, 2013
- a community member
This school is a good school. The kids might be a bit vulgar and at times inappropriate but when it comes to school work they do what they have to do to get a high grade. Are the teachers strict? Most of them now are. They are very helpful and understand and will help you if you need it. I am a proud graduate from this school. As long as you are dedicated and hardworking you will graduate. Just watch the company you keep because most of the students are back stabbing and liars but as long as you know what you want out of each class you'll be fine. My advice is BE QUIET and the less popular you are the less drama


Haines City Senior High School 1

Posted September 03, 2012
- a community member
yo soy un estuadiamne de haines city. La escuala es muy malo.. no me gusta

Haines City Senior High School 5

Posted April 28, 2012
- a community member
Umm i've been going here for awhile. it feels like middle school. everything is whatever. ohh and they have a sand problem, like if you had the beach minus the water. so you know your shoes will get ruined. i suggest you take AP classes because anything under is a joke. like honor classes are really easy. everything is just really whatever. rules aren't really kept too. dress code is whatever. great school if you don't want to learn.

Haines City Senior High School 2

Posted April 28, 2012
- a community member
HCHS as a unit is an okay school? Lets be real this school sucks. Not only is the school full of everything from fake people, pregnant chicks, want to be popular, and pathetic jocks. The school is full of stupid rules, that does not benefit the students. If you're not in I.B or AP classes you mean absolutely nothing to the staff. The school is dirty, old, and disgusting, and as our school grade goes up more rights are being ripped away from the students. If I did not know any better I'd say Haines City High was a prison. If you have a better chance at a better opportunity for your child, then I suggest private school but keep your kids out of Haines City its not worth the unnecessary stress on the child. On a positive note there are some pretty amazing teachers there. Emphasizes on the word "some".


Haines City Senior High School 1

Posted March 28, 2012
- a parent
Cuando my sun entre en haines city, the skool was terrible. Hoever, jis maester showed jim wich jallways to aboid. He was en the cafateria allway cuando a big chico come and give him wegie. his had f's en todos of jis clases. porque maester no espeke espanol. Los ib chicos ar muy meen a mi sun, and tink que we no espeke ingles. i come to skool but tey dice que i no can take my sun out.

Haines City Senior High School 4

Posted April 13, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attends HCHS and she loves it. All of her teachers have been very supportive, especially Mr. Reed. I hope that the remaining years of her high school career are as wonderful as this one has been. Thank you Mr. Reed for all that you have done for Baileigh! Jennifer Williams

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Haines City Senior High School
2800 Hornet Drive, Haines City, FL  33844
(863) 421-3281
Last modified Haines City Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Haines City Senior High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top