Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hallandale Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 1124 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2014

My son and daughter went to this school and I was force to move them because we had to move to an other state, but this school is amazing!! I would recommend it to every parent. Ms. Duga, Ms.Messa, They are the best. The front office is always ready to help. Overall I have only great things to say about the Hallandale Elemantery! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

My child had Mr. Hoolihan and Ms. Mason this year. They were incredible as a team. I greatly appreciated their daily communication and positive approach to education. Our family enjoyed working on the cool projects they sent home, our favorite was the robot! Mr. Hoolihan gave a great speech at the awards ceremony, I can tell her really loves what he does. Thanks for such a memorable year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

My 18 year old attended this school and they were excellent the teachers went above and beyond to help my daughter. The communication between teachers and parents is incredible. My daughter attended from k to 5th and we loved every year, now I have my 2nd child attending this school and it keeps getting better. Good luck mrs.Ludwig!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

Where is Mr. Holding!!! We miss him so much. He made Hallandale a great school. I always thought he would be the next principal after Mrs. Ludwig retired. He made such a difference at that school. Peace
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

The Staff is great at perparing their students in moving foreard in their education and a postive future. In Middle and High scholl and beyond.


Posted June 12, 2011

Hallandale Elem, is a excellent school. My kids development and learning skills improved so well. The teachers are awesome and very focus on thier students learning abilities. The Principal and the assistant Principal are wonderful they do a remarkable job with the school,safety,studentsetc. WE LOVE HALLANDALE ELEMENTARY :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2010

My children have attended Hallandale Elementary since Kindergarten! The teachers are very caring, the counselors are supportive, and the principal and asst principal are doing the best they can to keep it an " A" school. Howver, I do have concerns with my children getting head lice every three months! I feel that my children are being targeted because the nurse is not checking any of the other kids in the class for lice. It is unbelievable, that no one in the school has head lice, except for my daughters! Also, the school does not offer kids any sports or extra curricular activities. Field day was cancelled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

I loved the Open House presentation that the school conducted last night. Mrs. Ludwig and Mr. Holding with his charisma were just great. The presentation on safety was great. Finally parents can see and understand what they should be a doing. Officer English and Mr. Holding and Mrs. Ludwig make a great team. Not even to mention the teachers. Children are coming to school with more problems and the school has to take on what parents should be dealing with at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

I have always been a big supporter of Hallandale Elementary. I know that things are changing in our neighborhood and society as a whole. My concern is that my child is coming home saying that there are a lot of negative things gooing on at school and that they are noticing more fights. It seems that a school this big needs more supervision. Mr. Holding has been a great asset to our school but I see how hard he tries to get the traffic moving in the morning. What is wrong with our parents and why are they not being more cooperatiive. I am worried about saftety and bullying. Mrs. Ludwig is a great prinicpal but needs to be more visible at these critical times. When I arrive and pick up my children it is very chaotic. Parents also need to take more responsibility. This school is beginning to change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

Hallandale Elementary School is truly a GREAT school. The administrative staff is supportive and nurturing to all students, teachers, and parents. They teach the 'whole' child involving all stakeholders to become an active member of the educational process. I am blessed to be a part of the Hallandale Elementary School team!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 16, 2008

My son is a gifted student, he is in Hallandale Elementary. The school is great, but unfortunately they do not have gifted class for second grade, this is my only concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

Our daughter is finishing kindergarten and she has been learning, growing and maturing by leaps and bounds--what a difference this year has made for her development! Her teacher Ms. Galiana is simply an incredible teacher-- a model for all teachers. We are very grateful to everyone at the school for making our daughter's experience such a fruitful one. Ernest & Ildiko DeConti
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

I think the policies make the teachers very strict with the students. Sometimes it is forgotten that the pupils are in fact just kids. Lighten up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

Mrs. Ludwig is a remarkable principal, Mr. Holding an amazing assistant principal, and the teachers are beyond compare. Students of Hallandale Elementary School are given extremely high expectations and each year they exceed them. Extracurricular activities and the community connection are impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

Hallandale Elementary is a GREAT School & an 'A' School at that! I have two children enrolled since kinder., on orange track. The teachers have always been great! Mrs. Ludwig is such a wonderful principal, one of the best! I have had minor issues but overall I am very pleased with having my children attend this school. I believe and feel the entire staff does their best & cares very much, which is so important & hard to find! My children are currently in 4th grade. Every program is good, and well organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

Mrs. Ludwig has just hired a brand new assistant principal, Mr. Holding. From what I have seen, the children, parents, and staff, have embraced him. My son came home from school and was so excited that he was able to have lunch with him. He projects this warmth and caringness that has instilled such a positive outlook toward my son's education. Brendon looks foward to coming to school each day and now is more than ever eager to learn. I am very greatful, being a single parent to have such a positive role model there for him
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

The quality of the academic program is excellent. Mrs. ludwig strides to give each child the best in education possible. I feel if they would have build the school big enough they would have been able to have a better music and art activity. Those rooms were given to house two fifth grade classes. The preant involvement is very poor. Thank you to all the teachers staff and administration for all they do for our children.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted June 23, 2006

This school is fantastic. It has made 'A' six times. Every child here is driven to succeed, no matter his or her background. After having my child attend this school, he has gone from an 'F' student to an 'A' student. Thank you Mrs. Ludwig and all the teachers for a wonderful job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

Continuing FCAT Grade A school, Year round, super session, Free FCAT tutoring before test time. A great school and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2006

Despite being a 'Title 1' school, the year-round school has a vigorous curriculum, and has been an A school for the past few years.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

189 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

189 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

163 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

172 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 47%
Black 43%
White 8%
Two or more races 2%
Asian 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%53%61%
Master's degree 45%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 0%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LEENA ITTY
Fax number
  • (754) 323-5990

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Southwest 8th Street
Hallandale Beach, FL 33009
Phone: (754) 323-5950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lanier-James Education Center
Hallandale Beach, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT