Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gulfstream Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 515 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2013

i wish that i could rate this school 20 stars! I am currently going into 8th grade and i will be taking 3 high school credit courses. I am very involved in extra curricular activities. So sad to say that I will be leaving this school next year.


Posted May 21, 2013

I attended Gulfstream Middle School for half of 6th grade and due to the bullying aspect, I left. Mr. Kingsley is THE BEST principle I have ever seen! I was in the STEM program as well as in the GEM class. Ms. Abe was the best math teacher I could have asked for and definitely helped me with my math. I actually love math now thanks to her. Mrs. Swanson is a phenomenal technology teacher who is also NASA certified. Reading was always my best subject and got even better with Ms. Wimberly :) All of my teachers were the best a student could ask for and the only thing about this school was that bullying was a fairly large problem. The teachers can only do so much to protect the students and they have tightened up a lot since I left. I can't say enough good things about the staff and Mr. Kingsley.


Posted April 30, 2013

This is one of the worst schools ever! If you care about the well being of your child look elsewhere. Because this school was so bad my child as well as all Hallandale elementary students whom were graduating to 6Th grade received a list of other schools that the children could attend. Worst school, ever!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

My daughter is in 7th grade. I am soooo proud of her and her teachers. Her teachers have been there for her and I since the begining of 6th grade. The teachers care and are excited for there students to succeed. The STEM program has helped my daughter reach goals, become more responsible, and succeed at taking AP classes in Middle Sch. Mr. Kingsley is preparing our kids for the FUTURE! Remember PARENTS its up to us to participate and be involved as much as we can. We cant blame the school or teachers for our children, we have to be involved. Oh do a little work research how GREAT GULFSTREAM TEACHERS are! FYI Mrs. Swanson in is the top 50 STEM Teachers in the US. I understand why. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK GULFSTREAM MIDDLE!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

this school is very poor when it comes to great teachers and when it come for fairness this has gave my child more problems then hes every been in his life at school this school is small and there are cerintinan teacher that dont teach at all they just give work and expect complet this school is very sneky with there tricks they have a great princeble but no good teachers and no big events like this middle school my child should be discovering new things and have fun and he gets neather
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

Gulfstream Middle School is a school that is just realizing that it has the potential to be the best school in this county. It is run on the belief that our students have the skills to be tomorrow's leaders and we have the teachers who are ready and able to facilitate this process. We are a school focused on PROBLEM-SOLVING! Personally, I am grateful and proud to be a part of what's going on here because it has allowed me to witness students, teachers, and a community realize that we are making an IMPACT everyday and leaving a LEGACY that at one time, some thought was impossible. Anyone out there who disagrees, I invite you to come inside and witness what is going on first hand. Our doors are always open to everyone! WE ARE...GULFSTREAM!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 19, 2012

I am an 8th grader at this school and i am proud of how far it has come. The terrific programs like STEM, sports, and other programs and the support from our principal and other staff members makes this school perfect to send your kids.


Posted January 9, 2012

STEM Program, GEM Math, Band, Chorus, Drama club, Dance Team, Soccer, Basketball, lots of extra-curricular activities - this school is incredible! Last year they were a "B" school and it was the largest increase in points out of all the schools in the county. The principal announced that now they were just a few points away from an "A" rating, and they expect to be an "A" school this year!


Posted May 3, 2011

Gulfstream Middle is in an an innovative zone with a brand new, dynamite principal, Brian Kingsley. He's got very dedicated & knowledgeable staff. I chaperoned a field trip with GS Middle kids at JA Cntr in CoConut Creek. They scored the highest in the history of this center and were very eager to learn and best behaved. with the new STEM program coming to this and all the other Hallandale schools, the grades and perceptions will greatly increase.


Posted December 5, 2010

I am sad to report that since 2006, this school, has been an underachiever! Since 2006, the school has earned - - - C in 2006, D in 2007, C in 2008, C in 2009 and C in 2010! Fortunately, under the " No Child Left Behind Act" parents can transfer their child to a either an "A" or "B" school; however, it is unfortunate that children have to tranfer to other areas in other to get an education. Hallandale Elementary does an excellent job, however, I can say the same about Gulfstream Middle. It gets worst when children leave Gulfstream Middle and enter Hallandale High, another underachiever school! It's a tragedy for the children, parents, and community at Hallandale Beach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

I have been a staff member since day one of the school's opening. The principal, staff and teachers are dedicated to the education and development of our students.


Posted July 2, 2009

i think this skool is gud. i attend there for all 3 years it is wonderful n i am in my last garde which is 8 grade. The teacher are really great. they teach us many thing everyday dat is gonna help us when we become in adults. Also the principal really care about the students .
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2009

I have worked at other schools and I would rate this school an 'A' when it comes to working with a caring staff. The principal is amazing...she really cares about her students and staff. The draw back is that it seemed like the parents were lacking in participation and some students missed alot of school. This might explain why the school is not rated as high as it should be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 2, 2009

I really think this school needs a lot of improvements staring with the teachers. As a parent I think Gulstream Middle School is not ready to teach any child needs a staff that really care about students. It really sad because is the only middle scholl for hallandale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

I as a parent think that Gulfstream Middle School, is the worst school I have sent my daughter to. The teachers are worst then the children themselves. The atmosphere and the people around make the enviorment the way it is. And I just completly think this school is unexceptable for any student or teacher to attend..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

for such a small school you would think that the teachers would take more time out for the students and spend more time on study skills
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

This school has excellent staff, the environment is very safe and the school overall is a winner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

I am very pleased with the school staff and the curriculum! great mixture of students! my daughter loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

This school is good in some aspects and bad in others. As far as academics no complaints but and this is a big but it is sad that this school has been in the making since my daughter was in the 4th grade. She is now finishing 8th grade and still there is no gym or track for them to do any sports. I think its pathetic that my daughter has to be driven to the nearest school for her to be in a band. I think board of education needs to step it up and get with the program. Also i think a lot of parents need to step up and complain only then will the school make a change, because this situation is getting past ridiculous
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

This school is more like an all-profit company rather than a school. Most teachers are here for the $3/hour, THAT'S IT. I give this school a very low F. Many schools out there are 'A' schools, but this school fails to realize all the things those schools are doing. (Cant they look at Nautilus Middle School?) People here are lazy and obnoxious.BAM! The food is recycled, or has recycle flavor.BING! The Principal is sad in every way.BAM! This school is too poor. Why must the school board insult us like this?BONG! No one here has a life.BAM!BAM!BAM!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

160 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

162 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
26%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

164 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
87%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 44%
Hispanic 40%
White 12%
Two or more races 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 41%53%61%
Master's degree 52%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 7%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 8%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • MR. BRIAN KINGSLEY
Fax number
  • (754) 323-4785

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

120 Southwest 4 Avenue
Hallandale Beach, FL 33009
Phone: (754) 323-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lanier-James Education Center
Hallandale Beach, FL



McNicol Middle School
Hollywood, FL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT