Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hialeah Gardens Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1759 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, August 17, 2014

Soo amazing love the school the teachers are very involved I had trouble with my daughter in a different school but in this school... No way she has straight As but in the other school not one A
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

Great School! Teachers, principal and office staff are always available. My son is in his 8th grade now and likes it a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Best Principal Ms Jimenez!. Very involved with the kids. Mr. Gonzalez is awesome handling parent-teacher situations. Very blessed to belong to that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

The school is a good school, but one thing I don't like. Every 9 weeks they have a little ceremony and the kids get a certificate for being on the honors roll. Sometimes, the principal decide that she don't want to give your child a certificate for that 9 week so every year your child will be missing a certificate if he/she are on the honor roll all year. This really makes the kids feel like they don't matter, I can understand if something happens and they don t have time for a ceremony. The principal should still hand out the certificate so the kids feel like they matter. And the last 9 week they don't give out any certificates to the kids that have received regular and superior honor roll just the presidential kids get a Metals. If your child really feel good about all the certificate he/she receives and treasure them they will definitely be missing certificates so be prepare. It is also hard to get anybody in the office the phone will ring and ring and you will have to call numbers of time before anybody will pickup.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!my daughter is now going to seventh grade she loved all her teachers and mainly ms.perez her math teacher she loved her.I would really recomend this school to other parents for their kids.It also is easy to get around the school when you get to no it.I also like the uniform.There is always fun events and almost every friday its dressdown my daughter loves it.


Posted June 15, 2011

This school in a overall rating is satisfactory. This was my son's first year in this school and he had a hard time with staff and teachers. Once the teachers got to know him, then both were at ease but it took almost all year. Now the Social Study teacher, Ms. Patricia Willis, was very rude and uncopperative with my sons and me when it came to his school work and exam. She didn't return my calls and when she did, was two to three days later; it seems as if she didn't want to be bothered. The rest of the teachers were cooperative and willing to put the effort and help me towards my son's education. Now, the school staff will notify me of any report when it was already too late to resolve. They would blame it on the budget cuts and the teacher union regulations. My child is only 12 years old and still under my care; he is not an adult to make his own decisions. I definitely had a difficult time at this school and specially with Ms Willis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

That school is outstanding. I am blessed my son belongs to that school, and the parent involvement specialist, Ms. Yohana has a great program for parents, she is always helping parents and students, and she is someone parents can definitely count on. Mrs. Acosta is awesome and the securities too. I highly recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

This school is the best I am currently at this school it rocks especially the multi-media teacher ms.faden and the civics teacher ms.viana I have them both this year and I feel so blessed that I have great teachers that really care about all their students at a level that they seem like great friends Im going to miss this school it rocks Hgms class of 2011
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

This school is fantastic, it has amazing teachers and great qualities. The law studies program has just outstanded me with theyre incredible teacher Mrs. Viana. Hopefully this school year the school will be an A school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2009

Oh my god, i love this school. Is the BEST of the BEST. They have the BEST Asistant Principal Mrs.Villazon. I love her soo much. I wish i was there. But my dad transfer me. But i miss my teachers one of them is Mrs.Hernandez she was like a mom.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2014.

551 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2014.

551 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

199 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

607 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2014.

223 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

610 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2014.

381 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
32%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

607 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 78% in 2012.

647 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

583 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

229 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

212 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
92%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 98%
Black 1%
White 1%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 1%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 9%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARITZA D JIMENEZ
Fax number
  • (305) 817-0018

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11690 Northwest 92nd Avenue
Hialeah Gardens, FL 33018
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 817-0017

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT