Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Royal Kids Academy

Private | PK-4 | 189 students

Our school is best known for our award winning Kindergarten program.

 

Living in Hialeah Gardens

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 15, 2013

Royal Kids Academy...This is by far the best school my girl has attended..The teachers are wonderful and caring. I have never heard a complaint. Everything they do is for the kids. Love it!!!! A++++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

I have been blown away by how amazing this school is! They really make you feel loved and at ease knowing your children will have a great time and be cared for. I have seen drastic improvements in both my children in the few months they've been there. They are learning so quickly and are more confident and excited to go to school everyday! ALL of the teachers are excellent, the staff goes above and beyond normal expectations, and the curriculum puts the students ahead of their peers in public schools. I plan to keep my kids here as long as I'm in Miami. :o)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2011

Royal Kids Academy is the best school in Miami. The principals Mr. and Mrs. Barimo are always ready to help and go out of their way to help each parent and student in whichever way they can. I've had my children here for 3 years now and I am glad I put them in RKA. Students come first and the administration and faculty really fulfill the school's slogan.....A high quality educational program. The school also holds a 5 star quality counts rating, which I believe is well deserved. I recommend RKA to all of my friends and even to strangers I see on a day to day basis. RKA stands out TALL among the other schools in the surrounding areas because of the quality, the pride in teaching, and the helpfulness. If you're looking for a top notch school then RKA should be your choice my children love it, they learn a lot and fast, they never waste the children's time here at all and they have many different strategies so your child is guaranteed to learn no matter what. -Danielle
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

I have a son and daugher enrolled in Royal Kids Academy and I am very happy every aspect of the school. In the two years that I have been there, I saw the amazing progress my children have made. The teachers are caring and loving towards all the children and the curriculum is excellent. The administrators, Mr. & Mrs. Barrimo always do what ever it takes to provide the best for the children. I also like how you can call the school or show up any time. Mrs. Baro is always there for you when you need her. Thanks Royal Kids Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

My daughter attended Royal Kids Academy and she loved it. Her teacher was Ms. Gundar, which is the best teacher. The administration is not good but the teachers make the school great. They should appreciate the teachers more. If it was not for the teachers, I would have pulled my daughter out a long time ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

My daughter attends Royal Kids Academy for Pre-K. Her teacher Ms. Sanchez is the main reason my daighter is still attending this school. Administration is not good at all, but Ms. Sanchez and the other teachers make it the great school it is. My daughter can read small words and write and she's not even 5 years old yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

All the teachers are great. However, the principals has been cutting off a lot of activities and field trips because it's a pain for them. Also, they never have a backup plan if a teacher calls in sick. All the teachers there are not appreciated by their administration staff as well as the principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

My daughter is in RKA and it's great. Her Teacher is Ms. Sanchez which is a great teacher she is very caring, nurturing and knows how to teach the kids. My daughter by the 2nd week my daughter knew how to spell her name. Parent involment is great and I speak to my daughters teacher every single day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

My daughter attended RKA from the age of 2 until the 2nd grade and it is the best school in Miami-Dade County. Betty Hendl
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

This may have been a good school in the past, however the overall education is subpar. Students' mostly work with handouts instead of concrete examples. There were many instances where my daughter received the same handout.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2006

All 3 of my children attended Royal Kids Academy. The teachers are caring and very involved. The individualized attention is superb. RKA provides a nurturing environment where children enjoy learning. The leadership and involvement of the school principal is outstanding. I highly recommend RKA to any parent who wants their child to have a strong educational foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

great fre-k program, and even better elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

This is an excellent school. My son began attending this school in pre-k4, he had an awesome teacher Ms. Gondar. She is a jewel. That was a stong base in my sons education. He has continued in this school until so far 3rd grade and he is doing assignments that my neighbors kids two grades ahead of him are also learning. Academically it is very advanced, they have art and Music classes but not much of a PE program. Parent involvement is also superb. I would not hesiatte to recomend this school to anyone that asks me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

Academic programs are overall very good and so is discipline. However over the past two years we have noticed a decline in quality of teachers many of which have left to teach at public schools for better salaries.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 100% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Five-Star Quality Counts Rating (2012)
  • Five-Star Quality Counts Rating (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • The Sisters of Charity Food Drive (2012)
  • The Sisters of Charity Food Drive (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:00 am
School end time
  • 6:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • CSF
  • SACS/CASI
Fax number
  • (305) 557-5579

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • 1:1 iPad Program
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Gifted / high performing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
170
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
376

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$0 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12503 W Okeechobee Rd
Hialeah Gardens, FL 33018
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 557-5437

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Primary Learning Center B
Hialeah Gardens, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT