Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mater Academy Charter High

Charter | 9-12 | 1723 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2014

I graduated from this school about 5 years ago, and remember what horrible experiences I encountered at this place. Now I have my sister in this school and she is suffering from panic attacks because of how much work is given to her. This school is horrible...has no good qualitites. Please do not send your children here. The principal and administration are rude and do not care for your child. All they care about is the money. My poor sister doesn't even have time to eat at school because of how crowded it is. This is ridiculous. This school should be closed or put under new administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Warning: Do not send your kids to this school. The administration is comprised of bullies who would rather scream at and insult concerned parents instead of answering their questions and addressing their concerns. What's more, my son went from being a top student at his elementary school to being completely unmotivated and apathetic in regards to education and school. If you are thinking of sending your child here and would like to hear how they treat a parent with legitimate concerns I would be more than happy to provide you with a recording of experience with the principle of the school and it's administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Mater has like every other school it's bad qualities, like over population, pointless discipline (at times), and favoritism. But people should stop moaning about how horrible it is, because its as good as it gets in this town. And in all honesty it's certainly not the best school in the world or the U.S. but it's the best school in the city, seriously have you seen some of the other schools? What I like about Mater is that a lot of people have one common goal: getting into a good school and there is a competitive edge about everything which makes you want to try to be a better. Being top ten percent is an honor and people don't go around calling you a nerd or whatnot, they congratulate you. All in all it's a decent school, it gets the job done. Nobody should expect them to be perfect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2013

This is a for-profit school, meaning the money the get from the district they keep it in their pockets and they do not buy textbooks for students and place 45-50 students per teacher. THIS SCHOOL IS HORRIBLE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

Horrible, extremely dissatisfied, DO NOT GO HERE because the teachers are semi-adequate, and the curriculum is easy and not college prep ...
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2012

Im a freshmen at this school and i have been here since 6th grade. This school has both good and bad qualities. The good qualities are that they have very good discipline,and safety. There are security cameras everywhere and youll always find a security officer around. There are some teachers who go to amazing lengths to make kids understand and pass the subject. Personally i have always passed my classes with good grades. Also, everyones friends with each other. Now, onto the bad... the school lunch they serve is horrible. Mostly its either overcooked or undercooked. Some teacher show favoritism towards other students. Some teachers dont know where the heck theyre standing, and no matter how many complaints the office gets, they still dont get fired. The school worries about the silliest details on earth like having blue nail polish or boys having their hair too long(i dont mean that long, imagine the old Justin Bieber.) The classes are too crowded and the teachers spend have of the class telling the kids to be quiet. They dont have too many fun electives, like home ec. When the students are in high school, the staff doesnt care any more and lets them do whatever they want.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2009

A school with the most safe environment that is also very disciplined. You don't find another like it. This school is above the rest.


Posted April 28, 2009

I'm a junior at Mater Academy and I would say that the school is decent in some cases, but they worry about things that don't have to do with education. I've seen people go to CSI and get detentions because they have a white line on their shoes or don't have the school's name on their sweater. Honestly, I think it's dumb for the school to be worrying so much about specific things we're wearing and not worrying about the education we're getting. A few teachers don't know what they're doing or aren't doing their jobs right. The food isn't great because they leave it cold or don't cook it right, and it's also too expensive. Sure the school's an 'A' school and give the impression that it's a great school, but in reality they are very disorganized and have a distorted discipline. Luckily, most of the people there are friendly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2008

I have to say that mater was a good school once upon a time but my experience this school year has been pretty bad. First I agree, phones ring for ever, I had a situation with my son & short of going to the school & making a scene, it took 2 months to get a AP on the phone. Still the problems were not addressed properly & I have to say that although they try to put on a great facade as far a leadership, they are really lacking as far as organization, communication & acting in the students best interest at heart. Somewhere along the line, they have just become a student ID & not a person we are trying to educate. My child will be graduating next year only because I don't want to change him now , but my child that is in middle school will not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

Great school, just needs less kids or more buildings because my only pick on it is the obvious over crowded building. Also like evryoyther school some teachers should not be there but most are great and work really hard for your kids. The office is almost always busy and hardly ever pick up their phones, but the school administration is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

if you would like your child to enter a school where they would learn but have fun at the same time then you should go to Mater Academy, the school is High and Middle together but on different sides of the building. They school keeps you up to date with everythin you child is doing, trust me your child will have many friends and lots of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

My son is a Junior this year and I have to say that his first two years in Mater were pretty good in comparison to other schools but this year I have found that they lack in organization as far as the staff & fairness to the students in certain situations with teachers. I personally had an incident the 2nd week of school & I did not get a call back from an AP til approx. a month later. I now am experiencing a problem with incorrect credit information, scary when you have a Junior. At the end of the day, public & charters may not be so different.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

Mater academy is a great school. But they go a little overboard on the discipline. The school offers a lot of activites for the student just like myself. The food there isn't really good sometimes the food is left cold and that's how there gonna serve it. One thing that they can change is all of that and try making the time of arrival a little later, so the students can sleep a little longer so they have more energy to survive the school day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2007

The school is ok.what I like about it is the mandatory Uniform. the classed are way to crow and is to hard for Student and teachers. Food is not good or healthy. for new year resolution. thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2007

Mater academy is a school with high amounts of potential.However,it is seldom displayed.My son goes to this school and he always tells me how lay back his teachers are.He tells me that about two out of his seven teachers actually teach.Mater academy I think you should start hiring and firing. Another problem is how the football team is how the j.v football team is so unorganized.Coach Lewis knows his stuff,yet he can't really do it by himself.So please hire some more really good coaches. I know that as time goes by the school will become a much better known school only if all the parents,students,and faculty work very hard.''With a little bit of luck and effort anything is possible''.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2007

I think that mater academy is a very good school once is compared to others, but it also has his low points like: terrible parking, very expensive meals, lately it has been dirty, and a HUGE LACK OF organization for activities, and a big misinformation when it comes to drop off the kids in the morning, they close doors and open different onces without prior information to parents. I think that matter will improve if they are a little more careful to chose some of the teacher and sports coaches who have no clue on how to talk and discipline the kids. On the other hand there are some amazing teachers who go the extra mile to help the kids to excel. Discipline and Safety is one of the strongest points of mater and the principal participation in all activities has amazed me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

Mater is a wonderful school however there are two problems with it . They never answer the phone and the lunchs are very high priced.Other than that the teachers are very caring and go the extra mile to help all the students and the principal is great!My child is very very happy at Mater.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

I am a Mater Academy Parent and my biggest concern is that I want to have an easier and/or better access at contacting my kids' counselor / teacher or any Office Staff Member. Every time I call the school I get a Answering Machine where the mailbox is always full. I rather have a Human answer the phone and provide me assistance with the particular issue/request I am addressing at the time. I think that the school has improved a lot in the passed three years that we have been there. Mrs. Marty is a Great Principal and I admire her dedication and leadership skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

Unlike every other review here, I can actually say that I go to the school, and can provide some quite accurate critics considering that I actually experience everything that goes on in the school. The lunch is way too expensive, and do not have a wide variety or foods, the electives they have to offer are very much overcrowded since they barely have any electives to offer, they barely have any parking. But on the other hand, if you put your child in the school at an early age, they would have a better chance to get great advanced class opportunities than if you put them in a regular public high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2006

Acadmic programs are good and advanced. They just opened an art program. I just don't like they way the phone is almost never answered. The lunch food is not good at all too expensive and not a good amount to pick from.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Reading

The state average for Reading was 53% in 2014.

429 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2014.

411 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2014.

410 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2012.

270 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 66% in 2014.

202 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
57%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 68% in 2014.

395 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
79%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 64% in 2014.

398 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
83%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 65% in 2014.

439 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the End-of-Course Assessments (EOC) to test students in Algebra 1, Biology 1, U.S. History, and Geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The Algebra 1 EOC has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 95%
Black 3%
White 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 48%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/AN/A
Female 52%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Attendance and completion

  This school District averageState average
Dropout rate 0%N/A2%
Graduation rate 98%N/A74%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 54%58%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 7%2%1%
Other degree 5%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JUDITH MARTY
Fax number
  • (305) 828-6175

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7901 Northwest 103rd Street
Hialeah Gardens, FL 33016
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 828-1886

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT