Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mater Academy 1

Posted January 28, 2013
- a parent
This school is one of several run by the same charter management company that was investigated and had a 3 part expose' written about it in the Miami Herald. It is located in the middle of a factory district Avoid this school at all costs, if you do not, your children will be behind their classmates when they enter junior high and high school. Classes are overcrowded, there is no real music, art or computer program at this school, parent volunteerism can be avoided by paying cash, there is no PTA allowed, administration is unprofessional and this school is run on gossips, rumors, intimidation and fear tactics to keep parents and students in line. There's no diversity in this school. Many teachers and staff members can not even speak English. If you have problems with this school, write to the school board - that will be the ONLY way you get resolution.

Mater Academy 5

Posted April 16, 2012
- a community member
I love my school!! 4th and 5th graders went on a field trip to the marlns stadium,cause we did awesome on the fcat, and we won the award for most sprited school out of 20 schools that came to the game!! Last year I got a 6 on the FCAT writing thanks to my 4th grade teacher. Even though the Music teacher is mean the other special area techers are nice and helpful. We have a lot of bake sales,pizza sales and jeans day and last year with all of that money they built a new library and a classroom upstairs which I'm in. My teacher is super nice yet strict when it comes to learning. I have lots of friends at this school and we have lots of clubs like Green Club, Spirit Team, Student council and chess team which won first place in a state match....WOOOHHOOOO!!!!!!! I love my school and recommend it! GO BULLDOGS!!!!!!


Mater Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2011
- a parent
i LOVE this school. They have the most dedicated teachers and staff. My son loves this school as well, he comes home every day and tells me everything that he has learned. We live an hour away from the school and i still drive him down because we love this school so much. I would recommend this school to any parent that wants to see their children be successful in life, and this school is definitely the start for a successful child.

Mater Academy 1

Posted August 22, 2011
- a parent
I definitively would not recommend this school since it has not been graded yet for school year 2010/11, there is something happening that parents have the right to know.

Mater Academy 1

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
this is a horrible scholl and i definently do not reccomend it the teachers are awful my daughter i remember was in music and when i came her teacher was yelling at her because she missed a note the students are not very friendly my daughter came crying because a girl bullied her there are no security guards or police its terrible


Mater Academy 3

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
The grades are combined and this is not good for average students. The teacher's program @ Mater Academy is bellow the program at public schools. Sorry, but my two kids had been affected with the system of this school

Mater Academy 5

Posted January 28, 2010
- a parent
I've been a parent of students at this school for 11 years (2 students). This school educational program always proofs to be above nieces and friends children's academic level being in the same grade. All aspect of educational, security, learning and tutorial programs, extra curriculum activities and test prepareness are at the top level. I'm very proud have my kids at this school.

Mater Academy 1

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mater Academy 5

Posted June 16, 2009
- a parent
I love Mater Academy , My son has been there since kinder , The teachers are great and caring !

Mater Academy 5

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
This school is truly amazing, i'm very proud of their staff, their students as well as their overall curriculum, GO BULL DOGS!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mater Academy
7700 Northwest 98th Street, Hialeah Gardens, FL  33016
(305) 698-9900
Last modified Mater Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mater Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top