Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Charity Private School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hialeah

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $65,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2013

My son is entering OLOC school this year. Can anyone give feedback to the Mckay program? I investigated the full year price and the amount they are charging is 4 times higher. I also checked with specialist such.as CMS and UM and they are not familiar with this school and told me they do not have teachers qualified to deal with autiscic children. Though their.site says they do. Just checking to make sure this is a good move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

I went to this school growing up so I tried to send my children. Totally disappointed at how much it has changed. I recommend the school my children are attending now, Academir. They are in the Miami are and are excellent. My son is in Pre-K and can already read, add, and subtract.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

the truth is im a student at this school and i love it
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2009

My child is 6 years old and she is entering second grade, she has been attending this school for 3 years and she can write complete sentences, she reads books on her own, she knows her 1-5 times tables, and I can go on and on, meanwhile some of her cousins that are older than her, that go to public schools, are still unable to read on there on, and have to use there fingers to count. I do have to say that OLOC is the best investment I have done, towards my child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

My child is going to the 4th grade and has been attending this school since Kindergarten. I love the personal attention and the great communication starting from the busdriver to the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

My kid is in 1st grade and has been attending this school since Pre-K. I personally love the personal attention he gets. He loves the school and his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

This is my sons second year and he's loving school like never before. The school has great teachers and outstanding communication with the school staff at any level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I went to this school for 10 years, from Pre-K to 9th grade. I have already completed my Master's Degree and am currently getting my Doctorate in Child Psycholgy at the young age of 22. This school was a definite foundation to my current academic success. I would reccomend it to any parent.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 24, 2007

I am a parent who has two children in this school a 6 y/o boy and a 3 y/o girl. I strongly believe that the education that our children receive in this school is second to none. The teachers are very professional and devoted. The rest of the staff give their very best to ensure our children are safe. The administration treats everyone like family. Overall this school is the best place for our children to grow!!! Proud Parent of OLOC :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

my child has been in this school for a very long time. I have no complain about the teachers. as for my childs teacher she is very attentive and has open communication w/ the kids in the class. the children in her class are well behaved. The overall school is not best but not the worst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

My daughter has been attending OLOC since 03/05 and I am very pleased with the overall progress she is making. The kindergarten class sizes are small and the teachers are very attentive and affectionate with all the students. The school could use some updating on aesthetics but for me the quality of care is more important. I also wish they would have a website where they would make available things like the school calendar, lunch menus, etc. so that I wouldn't have to rely on my 5 year old to bring home the flyers. I enjoy that they offer artistic after school curriculums also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

Our lady of charity has not met the standards that I want for my children, I applied for both one is 4 and the other 8 and unfortunatley I believe I have to say the term 'I wasted my money'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

The teachers are devoted to their student, however it is in great need of a better administration. It also needs lots of repairs, they should do something to fix the entrance apperance, repair the big leaks on the roof.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

My child just recently started coming to this school for the first time. Some teachers are more devoted than others. It's hard to find a good teacher, much less a great mentor. Hope my child finds good guidance for adult years. P.S.- The school needs to do a little renovation to the front entrance, to give it a more ethical, better looking appearance. Also fix up the lobby's large ceiling holes.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 93% 24%
Black 6% 29%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 44%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • FCIS
Fax number
  • (305) 819-0057

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Miami
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 W 44th Place
Hialeah, FL 33012
Phone: (305) 556-5494

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Mater Academy Charter Middle
Hialeah Gardens, FL




Mater Academy
Hialeah Gardens, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT