Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Horeb Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Hialeah

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $90,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

We love HCS. The staff is caring and nurturing and truly teach the children. Great family atmosphere with lots of fun activities to bring families together. Our child is growing up with a strong Christian foundation and a has a great love for Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

This school is amazing as far as a family and Christian environment . Students are treated with love and kindness and many of the teachers are wonderful. That being said in the past two years their curriculum has become the downfall of thus school. The curriculum currently used not only does not challenge the students but if not up to par with other private or public schools. This needs to be changed and it will be the great school it once was!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

This is the "BEST" school ever! I am a student at Horeb and I actually feel like going to school! I never felt this way! I have more friends and the teachers are just AMAZING! I love Bible class it soooo interesting! I never knew about the Bible this much until I got here! It just impact my life! I love this school! Any Christian student WOULD TOTALLY LOVE BEING HERE! <3


Posted January 25, 2012

My son has been attending this school for many years and he has received the best education. The current principal is very proactive and gets involved in all the school activities. He cares for the school and his students and he works hard to have his students academically prepared. The school has gone over a lot of changes and is very up to date technologically. Parents are very involved and is a very family oriented environment. If I had to choose a school again this will be with no doubt my only choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

Horeb is an excellent school. Many changes have been taking place and I could not be happier. The new faculty and administration are really turning things around for the better! Horeb was a really good school in the 80's and early 90's. The good years are back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

Horeb is a place to learn many new things. It is a great school to be at. I love going to my school because there are many activities to participate in, and they are always a lot of fun. I love the staff, the teachers, and it is a great place to make new friends. I would have to say that PE is my favorite class because I love to run around and play outside all the time. The principal is great because he is doing so much for the school. I am a student in fifth grade going to sixth, right now I am on summer vacation and the principal has arranged a summer reading project and I like it because it helps us not fall behind on our reading. I love the school that I go to for many reasons.This school is a great place to learn, discover, and make new friends. I love my school.


Posted April 21, 2011

I love HCS - I have really good teachers and lots of friends. My favorite teacher is my English Teacher and PE Coach. The school has many strict rules but it good.


Posted April 21, 2011

Horeb is a great school with a family feel! Everybody knows eachother. They have excellent teachers and challenging academic programs. I love HCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

Wonderful school! Horeb seems to be moving in a positive direction. They are incorporating technology into every classroom. The teachers care about each of their students. The school has a family environment which is important to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

Horeb Christian is a very good school. I am very happy with the progress and with the family environment that the school provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

THE BEST SCHOOL IN HIALEAH!!! My son started the school this year and I could not be happier. I looked for months to find a good school before choosing Horeb. I could not have chosen a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

Horeb is a good school with a good environment and quality education for all students. I look forward to going back next year.


Posted October 3, 2009

Horeb is a school unlike no other, the education you receive from the teachers is amazing. I currently a senior and I can honestly say I am being prepared for college here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2008

Yes, there are not many activities...But the wholesome enviornment is wonderful, i am 25 years old, and did attend horeb for about 4 years and attended a public school for 2, if i had my choice i would have stayed in horeb. Not only do your teachers know you by name, but they also know your character, they know things a parent would know about their children. They teach academics, and most important...'Christ is the first priority'...'Joy means jesus first, others next, you last' words arent enough to describe the impact that school had in my life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2008

The High School leaves a lot to be desired. I put my son there after I had heard that the school was excellent. Apparently that was in the past. The high school students are not encouraged or challenged academically. They are being prepared for college. No counselors, no electives, mediocre teachers. He only has one more year so I will leave him there but my other younger son will leave if the high school remains the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

My child is a Horebi and I intend to continue to incourage the passion for the Lord and learning that is being instilled in him at Horeb Christian. The greatest thing that keeps me a raving fan is the chracter of the high school age students. I feel it has a lot to do with their experiences at Horeb as well as the poditive attitude of parents that have their children enrolled. It really feels like a self-contained bubble in which children are safe, holsum and stimulated in this fast paced society in which kids grow up entirely too fast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

The elementary was OK, the high school is terrible. A lot of good teachers are leaving. The school has lost a lot of good teachers and students all because of the new principal and aministrator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

07/25/07 They really need a good Principal that cares for the school and must important the future of the high shool studens. I always though my son and his friends were going to graduate together, we need to do what's best for our kids future. The school is not prepair for high school, need good high school teachers, AP classes, more electives, Honor Roll
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

Horeb Christian School is the worse school I have ever seen. They have no compassion toward the kids nor teach or give and example of Christianity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2006

To me, Horeb is a bad school. The elementary is okay, but the high school has much to be desired.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 94% 29%
Black 5% 23%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (305) 821-5048

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

795 West 68th Street
Hialeah, FL 33014
Phone: (305) 557-6811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Roblanca Academy
Hialeah, FL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT