Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,759 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mater Academy Charter High
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 25, 2016
- a student
THERE IS SO MUCH HOMEWORK. The teachers here don't teach they send homework whether it's IXLs, or book notes, or random questions from a book. IT'S JUST TOO MUCH!

Mater Academy Charter High
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a student
If anything this school rips our persistence to shreds and destroys our will to continue getting good grades and graduating


Mater Academy Charter High
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 23, 2015
- a teacher
The administration has a hard time balancing everyone's needs and desires. While it is a charter school, there is a lot of money to be spent on things. Some things are out dated (like textbooks), but no money goes into anyone's pockets. I am most grateful for their leadership and the ability for students and teachers alike to be able to go talk to any of them at any time about our most pressing issues and getting them resolved. Mater has its problems, but all schools do. We're a team and trying to make everyone's education tomorrow better than it was today.

Mater Academy Charter High 2

Posted October 01, 2015
- a student
I'm an 8th grader at Mater Academy, I have been there since 6th grade and I have to admit; I used to love Mater, I thought it was an excellent school but now that I'm in 8th, I have to say that Mater is a bad school, DONT SEND YOUR KIDS THERE. The teachers and the administration staff only cares about your grades and the money; they don't care about your education. The counselors will scream at you and get on the teacher's side even if he/she is wrong. I had to go see my counselor because one of my teachers was embarrassing me and treating me bad in front of the class and she just said "talk to him after school"; they don't even try to help you. Even if you have anxiety or some other disorder they wont pay attention to you. I cant even get lunch sometimes, and when I do, I have to throw it away because it is disgusting. I would like to go to another school but my mom doesn't believe me when I say Mate Academy is becoming a terrible school.

Mater Academy Charter High 1

Posted May 11, 2015
- a student
This school is horrible.it dosnet help kids at all and says they only except smart kids when it's all stupid the teachers are horrible and curse in ur face .the school doesn't give a rats but if ur okay .they don't help bullying .it stresses kids I go here and I completely do not recommend it


Mater Academy Charter High 1

Posted December 15, 2014
- a student
This is a fair warning. Do NOT take your children here. I graduated 3 years ago and I hated it and still hate it. The teachers think they are the best and even yell and scream profanities at the students. Never in my life have I ever seen a teacher yell at a student that way. Whats more, the principal only cares about the money and doesn't help the parents when they are concerned with their children. My brother now goes here and he is always telling me how horrible it is. Because of this school, my brother no longer feels the same inspiration that he has before to continue studying and continue his education. Because of this school, he no longer wants to go to college. Please, please, please DO NOT send you children here. Send them somewhere much more caring and passionate.

Mater Academy Charter High 1

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
I graduated from this school about 5 years ago, and remember what horrible experiences I encountered at this place. Now I have my sister in this school and she is suffering from panic attacks because of how much work is given to her. This school is horrible...has no good qualitites. Please do not send your children here. The principal and administration are rude and do not care for your child. All they care about is the money. My poor sister doesn't even have time to eat at school because of how crowded it is. This is ridiculous. This school should be closed or put under new administration.

Mater Academy Charter High 1

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Warning: Do not send your kids to this school. The administration is comprised of bullies who would rather scream at and insult concerned parents instead of answering their questions and addressing their concerns. What's more, my son went from being a top student at his elementary school to being completely unmotivated and apathetic in regards to education and school. If you are thinking of sending your child here and would like to hear how they treat a parent with legitimate concerns I would be more than happy to provide you with a recording of experience with the principle of the school and it's administrators.


Mater Academy Charter High 3

Posted September 30, 2013
- a student
Mater has like every other school it's bad qualities, like over population, pointless discipline (at times), and favoritism. But people should stop moaning about how horrible it is, because its as good as it gets in this town. And in all honesty it's certainly not the best school in the world or the U.S. but it's the best school in the city, seriously have you seen some of the other schools? What I like about Mater is that a lot of people have one common goal: getting into a good school and there is a competitive edge about everything which makes you want to try to be a better. Being top ten percent is an honor and people don't go around calling you a nerd or whatnot, they congratulate you. All in all it's a decent school, it gets the job done. Nobody should expect them to be perfect.

Mater Academy Charter High 1

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
This is a for-profit school, meaning the money the get from the district they keep it in their pockets and they do not buy textbooks for students and place 45-50 students per teacher. THIS SCHOOL IS HORRIBLE.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mater Academy Charter High
7901 Northwest 103rd Street, Hialeah, FL  33016
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (305) 828-1886
Last modified Mater Academy Charter High is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top