Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

847 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
68 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 80 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Youth Co-Op Charter School 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a teacher
Happy to see the school finally growing and accomplishing all their goals. The new building is now officially under construction. They are adding another 44 classrooms to the campus. This means smaller class sizes and more curriculum diversity.

Youth Co-Op Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Good policies carried out. Great discipline. Teachers and administrative staff all friendly and helpful to students and parents.


Youth Co-Op Charter School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful school. We have had an excellent experience. Our children are progressing well. It is great that now the school offers high school grades as well.

Youth Co-Op Charter School 3

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
This school has a major access issue. The administration doesn't address it and they mark children late when it is physically impossible to access their facility. The police does a terrible job at directing traffic flow and there is only one street access to this school. This is a very sad situation and the school is on denial and parents are frustrated as it is a repetitive issue and no one addresses it. I feel that in order to enforce such strict tardiness policy (within a min), the administration needs to fix this major problem.

Youth Co-Op Charter School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
It is a great school.The parents should be very happy if your son/daughter are studying in that school.All the educator team and staff in general are examples of dedication and responsibility each day.


Youth Co-Op Charter School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
I very happy with youth co op it a very school and was very pleased of how much my little girl has learned. I think this is a very good school.

Youth Co-Op Charter School 1

Posted March 17, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been in this school for two years now. She began in the preparatory section in Hialeah Gardens. Last year the staff and teachers were amazing and cared for their students had different activities for them to do. This year since both schools were combined into the new building the school is horrible. The entire staff from the preparatory section was fired. I have never seen such a horrible staff. The immediate front office staff lacks customer service big times. They are rude and treat parents as if we were children ourselves. They embarrass the students in front of everyone but, yet they are putting ads everywhere around the schools about being against bullying. When they are the main bully's. My youngest daughter says her teacher spends the whole yelling at her. If she tells the teacher her stomach hurts she doesn't call me she tells her that's because she's hungry to just wait till lunch time. I expect to get a call and I be the one to decide if to believe her not. Then, my oldest daughter tells me her two teachers chit chat all the day long whole drinking Starbucks and yell at the students. There are way better charter schools.

Youth Co-Op Charter School 3

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
Last year the environment was much more dedicated to our children. This year the teachers assigned to my son's class lack that commitment. Suffice to say that his math teacher announced her departure on a Friday to the children. Come Monday they had cafeteria teachers overseeing the class. Instead of engaging these teachers expect the children to be quiet and actually punish the entire class if several of the students misbehave by NOT allowing them recreational time outdoors. When asked I was told the older children - jr high kids- have priority. My son has also told me the teachers label kids in his class "lazy" and I've personally witnessed the schools principal yelling at kids for being late. These children can not control traffic or the departure time their parents plan when driving them to school. Is this better than public school? Barely, but yes. Just be involved in your child's day to day activities and keep applying to other charter schools. We as parents are not there to bake friends but to safeguard or kids. By being visible and letting the administrators and teachers know these children have a vouce, your voice, the school will eventually improve.


Youth Co-Op Charter School 3

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
The School is great but my kids say that the teachers sometimes yell a lot I know the teachers they say but i dont wanna point out names or anything. But they also give a lot of homework! I mean my kids never get to do anything at home except for homework!

Youth Co-Op Charter School 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
All I have to say is that this is a great school with great teachers and administrators. Thank you all for all you do for our children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Youth Co-Op Charter School
7700 West 20th Avenue, Hialeah, FL  33016
(305) 819-8855
Last modified Youth Co-Op Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Youth Co-Op Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 80 reviews. Top