Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James H. Bright Elementary/J.W. Johnson Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 731 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2012

i will always love this school i have wonderful memories there i was a student there back in 1991-1996 n they were the best years of my life


Posted November 17, 2011

I was a student of James H. Bright from 1988 to 1991. That was back when 6th grade was still considered elementary school. My best school experiences were there. The teachers were phenomenal. Students and teachers were like one big,loud, goofy family. Back then we had the career lab in pod B, Mrs.Johnson( one of the P.E teachers back then) was in charge of cheer leading. It was my favorite part of the year when we got to cheer at the Jose Marti parade every January. Mrs. Gavinsky the music teacher was a wonderful music teacher who saw the music potential in each of her students and encouraged them all to learn how to play an instrument or work on their singing,and last but not even close to being least was Assistant Principal Mrs. Naveiras. She started "The Lunch Club" with just a few at risk kids and it grew like wild fire. Everyone wanted to come eat lunch at the office with her after a while. She would eat with us like parents do at the dinner table with their kids and discuss home, friends, class work,etc. It was more than just lunch, it was a great experience knowing she really cared about us. I WILL ALWAYS LOVE JAMES H BRIGHT ELEMENTARY. =)


Posted November 30, 2010

This school has a great autism program. The only thing I do not like is that they do not have the afterschool program available for children with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

There after school programs to help students that are lagging behind.


Posted April 28, 2010

I love my school because it feels like a family and all of the children are receiving a great education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 16, 2010

Great school, as the teachers are always going that extra step to help the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Where beter to relax, laugh and have a wonderful time? Just in James H. Bright...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 14, 2010

James H. Bright is the most awsome school in Dade County because it has the most amazing,caring and understanding staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Because we have amazing teachers that always have the students' best interests at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

I love my school because I work with such a great group of teachers. We are truly united and collaborate all the time! We are simply the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

This school are excelent,they have great teachers there when i went there and there still are. My dauther studing there and she says is the better school she have , and the teachers too. James h. Bright is amazin school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

i am soo lucky to go to tis shool i love my teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2008

James H. Bright is an amazing school. They have great teachers there when I went there and there still are.My son goes there and he say that 'He say that those teachers are great that he can stop studying to pass there classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

no communication among the administration. Where is the PTA or the money? I feel sorry for the kids next year.This school lacks much communication and organizational skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

130 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

123 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

126 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 95%
Black 3%
White 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 144%N/AN/A
Limited English proficient 263%N/A9%
Source: 1 FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014
Source: 2 FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 71%58%61%
Master's degree 28%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 4%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. MARITZA M GARCIA
Fax number
  • (305) 888-7059

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2530 West 10th Avenue
Hialeah, FL 33010
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 885-1683

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cinderella School
Hialeah, FL



We Love Kids
Hialeah, FL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT