Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John G. Dupuis Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 684 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, September 25, 2014

The lack of care and insincerity is incredible. My son was being bullied by another student in his class last year. He told me what was going on and I addressed the issue with his teacher Ms. Hecheverria and she got the principle at the time Ms. Windsor involved and the issues stopped. To my surprise when this school year started he was placed in the same class with the bully not only him but another student with the same bully issues as well. The "new" adminstration of Ms. Nu ez was fully aware of this yet failed to advise the teacher and placed him in the same class. When I addressed Ms. Nu ez she advised me that I had to wait as it was the first day of school and it was chaotic for them. Not satisfied with her reply I left the school and came back when all the parents were gone and was calmer. So I went to the office to speak with her she did not address me directly instead sent her response with an officer worker. Not sure how the superintendent selects his principles but he needs to think about this one. We are trusting our children to be taken care of not to knowingly be placed in hands of bullies when the school is very aware of the situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2013

There are a few great teachers at this school but are overshadowed by the poor administration. Nepotism and hypocrisy is rampant in the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2010

I have one child in the school and I find the teachers to be extremely dedicated. There is very little to no parental involvement. The principal and vice principal are too busy with FCAT to allow any extra curricular activities, such as field trips. Other schools go to the theatre, bowling and even skating at the end of the school year...none of that here. Events end up cancelled or postponed at the last minute. Yearbooks are scarce, meaning some years didn't even get one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

The school does not have many fund raisers for after hours at the school itself, I have never been invited to visit my daughters classroom for an open house. She has never gone on a field trip with her 1st grade class. No idea when the children are due their report cards. My daughter does not speak Spanish at all, however she is placed in a Spanish for Spanish speakers class. This is very unfair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

The Administration still has not imroved at our school. It still is not a very parent friendly school. The cafeteria workers do not speak english so if you have an english speaking child........your english speaking child will be placed in an esol spanish class because the regular spanish class is set up for spanish speaking students only. I stay because dispite these opionions of mine I love the teachers. Both of my children adore all the teachers they come in contact with daily. I stay purely for this reason. The teaching staff is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Teachers are wonderful but administration it not parent friendly. No activities or field trips allowed because the children can only think FCAT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

I'm a business woman that manages to take my daughter everyday to school to ensure that my daughter knows that I'm involved in her daily school functions. She is now on her second year with this school and it is important to me that I take her to school personally and spending quality time during breakfast time (reading, studying, reviewing class assignment). I work long hours and travel on business. My business scheduled revolves around her school. But day by day the school is becoming more rediculious- I'm 100% forward the security precautions that you are needed to make secure that our children are safety but this wonderful school is becoming a prison/bootcamp.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2004

This is a great school. The teachers really tey to bring out the intelligence some kids think they dont have. Some kids are stubborn and misbehaved but teachers try to improve their behavior. I hope any parent searching for a good public elementary school enrolls their child here. I'm a former student and wish that I could go back to fifth grade to be with my classmates and my fave teacher Mrs. Adis Garcia or Mr. Wood.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 30, 2004

This school needs to improve the activities for the children. It need to be more clean and neat. Give the student more motivation, and more discipline in the cafeteria.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2004

It has been my experience, most of the teachers at DuPuis go the extra mile to help their students. They have tutorial programs before and after school and even on Saturday mornings, to assist students with any deficiencies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

It has been my experience that the teachers are extremely dedicated to the success of their students...they teach with heart and determination. They also have an exceptional special education department. One major disadvantage I have come across is the lack of parent involvement.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

102 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 96%
White 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 55%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 55%58%61%
Master's degree 39%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 4%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CLAUDINE WINSOR
Fax number
  • (305) 825-2433

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1150 West 59th Place
Hialeah, FL 33012
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 821-6361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Roblanca Academy
Hialeah, FL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT