Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

644 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John G. Dupuis Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
Best private school in east Hialeah. Awesome school, excellent teacher. Very clean, love it!! Very happy to have my kids in world children,s academy

John G. Dupuis Elementary School 1

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
The lack of care and insincerity is incredible. My son was being bullied by another student in his class last year. He told me what was going on and I addressed the issue with his teacher Ms. Hecheverria and she got the principle at the time Ms. Windsor involved and the issues stopped. To my surprise when this school year started he was placed in the same class with the bully not only him but another student with the same bully issues as well. The "new" adminstration of Ms. Nu ez was fully aware of this yet failed to advise the teacher and placed him in the same class. When I addressed Ms. Nu ez she advised me that I had to wait as it was the first day of school and it was chaotic for them. Not satisfied with her reply I left the school and came back when all the parents were gone and was calmer. So I went to the office to speak with her she did not address me directly instead sent her response with an officer worker. Not sure how the superintendent selects his principles but he needs to think about this one. We are trusting our children to be taken care of not to knowingly be placed in hands of bullies when the school is very aware of the situation.


John G. Dupuis Elementary School 3

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
There are a few great teachers at this school but are overshadowed by the poor administration. Nepotism and hypocrisy is rampant in the administration.

John G. Dupuis Elementary School 3

Posted November 27, 2010
- a parent
I have one child in the school and I find the teachers to be extremely dedicated. There is very little to no parental involvement. The principal and vice principal are too busy with FCAT to allow any extra curricular activities, such as field trips. Other schools go to the theatre, bowling and even skating at the end of the school year...none of that here. Events end up cancelled or postponed at the last minute. Yearbooks are scarce, meaning some years didn't even get one.

John G. Dupuis Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
The school does not have many fund raisers for after hours at the school itself, I have never been invited to visit my daughters classroom for an open house. She has never gone on a field trip with her 1st grade class. No idea when the children are due their report cards. My daughter does not speak Spanish at all, however she is placed in a Spanish for Spanish speakers class. This is very unfair.


John G. Dupuis Elementary School 3

Posted May 09, 2006
- a parent
The Administration still has not imroved at our school. It still is not a very parent friendly school. The cafeteria workers do not speak english so if you have an english speaking child........your english speaking child will be placed in an esol spanish class because the regular spanish class is set up for spanish speaking students only. I stay because dispite these opionions of mine I love the teachers. Both of my children adore all the teachers they come in contact with daily. I stay purely for this reason. The teaching staff is amazing.

John G. Dupuis Elementary School 2

Posted January 11, 2006
- a parent
Teachers are wonderful but administration it not parent friendly. No activities or field trips allowed because the children can only think FCAT!

John G. Dupuis Elementary School 4

Posted August 19, 2005
- a parent
I'm a business woman that manages to take my daughter everyday to school to ensure that my daughter knows that I'm involved in her daily school functions. She is now on her second year with this school and it is important to me that I take her to school personally and spending quality time during breakfast time (reading, studying, reviewing class assignment). I work long hours and travel on business. My business scheduled revolves around her school. But day by day the school is becoming more rediculious- I'm 100% forward the security precautions that you are needed to make secure that our children are safety but this wonderful school is becoming a prison/bootcamp.


John G. Dupuis Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2004
- a student
This is a great school. The teachers really tey to bring out the intelligence some kids think they dont have. Some kids are stubborn and misbehaved but teachers try to improve their behavior. I hope any parent searching for a good public elementary school enrolls their child here. I'm a former student and wish that I could go back to fifth grade to be with my classmates and my fave teacher Mrs. Adis Garcia or Mr. Wood.

John G. Dupuis Elementary School 3

Posted January 30, 2004
- a parent
This school needs to improve the activities for the children. It need to be more clean and neat. Give the student more motivation, and more discipline in the cafeteria.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John G. Dupuis Elementary School
1150 West 59th Place, Hialeah, FL  33012
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (305) 821-6361
Last modified John G. Dupuis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top