Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Meadowlane Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1097 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

This school is filled with bullies. Teachers and students are bullying every day and no one is doing anything about it. Waiting for my child to get out of class is a terrible experience. Most of the kids are physically abusive towards each other. Girls are hitting boys, boys are hitting each other, and adults just turn a blind eye. Profanity is their main choice of communication. The bus drivers are all always screaming at the kids while they hang out of the windows of the bus spitting on kids walking by, or throwing items out of the bus. The security is friendly but thats it. There is NO safety. They lock the gates but thats the only measure they take to secure the school. The school counselor is not helpful in any way. She delays call backs, meetings, and NO results. Always just a waste of time trying to get something resolved. The classes are overcrowded and the assistant principal lies about other teachers assisting the overcrowded classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I was a student there from 2001-2003 as a Pre-Kinder to 3rd grade and back then it was really great! Teachers were loving, kids were nice, I had best friends, no bullying as far as where I was standing, and it was a great community. Don't know about now, since times change but it along with YMCA was so wonderful when I was there


Posted January 23, 2013

good school ,but i agree that there are a bullying problem at the school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

There is a bullying problem at the school, but this is due to no cooperation from the parents. There is also no implementation of anti-bullying program. On the other hand, my children have been lucky to have excellent teachers. The principal spends time getting to know the kids and is a great leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

Horrific bullying problem, which is ignored by the staff. Miami-Dade Public Schools anti-bullying program has not been implemented at this school. Some teachers are exceptional. New AP lacks common courtesy towards students, staff and parents. For parents with boys, I recommend reading 'Raising Cain - Protecting the Emotional Life of a Boy.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

meadowlane elementary is the best i am child and i have being in it 5 years and the teacher are the goodes teacher ever Meadowlane rocks!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2007

I am very happy with the school! My oldest son went to this school and now my younger son is attending. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

I love the school and the teachers. They have the best interest in helping and making sure the kids learn and understan there grade and age. The only thing i dont like is that there is no extra activities involving all the kids of there own age. Like dances especially for the 5th graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

The school is excellent. They have top notch technology; there is a Smart Board in every class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

My child is in Pre-K we as parents are very exticed and so is she. We feel very comfortable with her teacher she is very extrict. She cares about her class and education, and I have noticed my child improvement. As a concern mom I volunteer to work at school. I'm working in the cafeteria and I'm very disappointed on the behave of the children. For sure this is not the school that I want for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

Meadowlane is an outstanding school. The pre-kinder program is excellent and the 3 grade with Miss vento-Prieto is the best I have ever seen. I have 3 kids ages 5, 9, 12 all attend or attended Meadowlane.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

The school is very well kept, however the teachers are overloaded with work and are not able to actually see which kids need help (with present assignment) and which kids don't. In other words, they are so cought up in the routine that they are not focusing on teaching, instead preaching from a book or a list of things to do with time limits not dedication to the students learning. My child is in second grade and i am not satisfied at all with the school nor the teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

This is a terrific school. It is catagorized as an 'A' school and it's gotten there due to the great staff of teachers. They have a terrific curriculum for the children. They strive and work hard for the kids to leave each grade at or above grade level. You'll enjoy it and much as I have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2004

I think its a very good school. Lots of security and the way they teach is a very high standard, but it has 2 bad things: the parking to pick up the kids are not too good and my child is in pre k and they do not provide them with a sleeping mat nor they accept us to bring one they sleep on top of a carpet which they walk on and they only ley us bring them a towel to put under them when they sleep. And they only nap for 25 min these are pre k kids not grown ups!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science and writing in grades 4, 8 and 10. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

218 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 98% 29%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian N/A 3%
Black N/A 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A59%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 63%58%61%
Master's degree 34%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 3%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Kevin P Hart
Fax number
  • (305) 362-9904

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4280 W 8th Ave
Hialeah, FL 33012
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 822-0660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Big Star School
Hialeah, FL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT