Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

913 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marcus A. Milam K-8 Center 1

Posted April 16, 2015
- a community member
This is the worst school. I recommend that you put your child in a school where teachers educate their students correctly and not be so much on there students pressuring them because they might have problems that they don't want to share. I recommend schools such as Palm Springs or Ernest R. Graham K-8 or High Gardens Elementary, Middle & High School.

Marcus A. Milam K-8 Center 2

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
I am disappointed that my kids attend this school. I am presently searching for another alternative. The school is backwards, like other posts show. The parents who post excellent reviews have no idea how other schools operate. It's so apparent that leadership is lacking in this school. Yes, the staff is caring, but that doesn't necessarily make them effective, or the school excellent.The school has no parental involvement. I am the only parent sending supplies for my kids' teachers. The administration is never visible. Teachers morale seems low. So they made learning gains in three years. Well, up is the only way you can go with kids that don't speak the language and perform low initially. Take a look at their scores again....all the way down once more. Administration should start of thinking of ways to bring them up again. A working computer in my kids class would be helpful too. Are there worse schools? Probably. However, this school is not a 5 star school. For those that think it is, try visiting other schools, and you will be enlightened.


Marcus A. Milam K-8 Center 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
Milam K-8 Center provides a nurturing, family-like atmosphere for children from Pre-K to eighth grade. The school building itself is old, but the teachers are well prepared with excellent pedagogy and provide the students with a rigorous academic experience. Staff members are caring and kind to students. The administration is excellent! In fact, the principal, a humble and extremely caring lady, was recognized this past year as one of the top principals in the state. This award was given to her after an extensive study showed that Milam was one of the top six schools in Florida with the highest learning gains over the last three years. Obviously, the teachers are doing an extraordinary job of preparing students for high school and beyond. The school encourages parental involvement and holds numerous family events. I am very happy that my two daughters are students at this extraordinary school! I highly recommend Milam to all parents who want to provide their kids with a high quality education in a wonderful atmosphere.

Marcus A. Milam K-8 Center 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a community member
This place is like a second family. A second home, if you will. The past 7 years that I've spent this year are probably the best compared to years at other schools. However poor this school may look, I swear, there is no other school as us and as responsible and educated as us. The teachers care personaly about the students and do everything in their willpower to make sure that the students have a bright future. Milam has tought me sooooo much more than I could have ever imagined. I truly belive that the definition of family is In fact Milam. #Milamclassof2014 #milamstrong I hope one day, everyone else at other schools realize just how great Milam is.

Marcus A. Milam K-8 Center 2

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
This is the most backward and most unprofessional school I have ever seen. From security in flip flops that speak no English to the clinic nurse that also lacks knowledge of this countries language. I had middle schoolers transfer here and they would tell you themselves that it's a joke. There is no academic rigor and they scare kids to perform well on tests by telling them all the teachers will be fired. Of course there a few stellar teachers but the overall third world country atmosphere over shadows it.


Marcus A. Milam K-8 Center 5

Posted July 31, 2012
- a parent
The School atmosphere is great. Teachers are very involve in their students. I have three girls of my own and they all have had awsome teachers and great learning experience i can't ask for more. I plan for my daughters to be there thru their middle school years as well.

Marcus A. Milam K-8 Center 5

Posted April 02, 2012
- a parent
Great school and great office comuntication with parents the fact that the middle and elementary is seppareted is great very nice school only thing it would have been great if they would have two pre k classes one is just too small.

Marcus A. Milam K-8 Center 5

Posted June 18, 2006
- a student
As a student of this school for a total of nine years I must truly say that Milam is a very special place. The gifted program of which I was privelaged enough to be a part of provides a quality and rigorous curriculum. The school is truly like a family, however, not far too sheltering to the point where students are inept upon reaching the world of High School. It is one of the better schools in Hialeah and the county as a whole. One grievance I hold for the school is the fact that it has a limited extra-carricular program.

Nearby schools

Marcus A. Milam K-8 Center
6020 West 16th Avenue, Hialeah, FL  33012
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (305) 822-0301
Last modified Marcus A. Milam K-8 Center is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top