Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palm Springs North Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1047 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2006

My daughter just started 4th.grade with Mrs.Jones and Mr.Leon. Even though She's having some problems with some homework (writing)she is getting better. Mr.Leon has been extremely great and patient with her. Mrs.Jones as far as I know is been really good. Last year my daughter's teacher was Mrs.Grace Gonzales and I was really happy with her job. She made my daughter tried her best in everything she had to do and my daughter did. I am really happy with this school,I know some moms that complain a lot about the percentage that the teachers require to get an A (my daughter got 95% in a writing essay and got a B, this made a mom really unhappy) but I think that if the teachers require more from the kids,the kids eventually will arise to their expectations. I really want my 2 other kids to go to this school. Ana,their receptionist is the nicest person you'll ever meet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

Nice school, clean and quiet area
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

My children have attended PSN Elementary for 3/4 years. I have no complaints. It is an outstanding school in a wonderful very family oriented community. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

Great school, many extracurricular activities, such as ballet, music, languages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

I have mixed emotions about the school since I have 2 children at different levels. My daughter, who entered 4th grade only made it through the first day. Although there was to be 26 children in the classroom, we found that because of space limitation they forced 2 class rooms in the music room with 2 teachers, each teaching different subjects. There is NO way that a child can optimize their education in classroom where they can not see the boards, barely hear the teachers. On the other hand, i found the Kindergarten having a much better set up. Although a bit crowded for this grade level, I found the teachers to be more cooperative with the children, specially my 5 year old, who needed the extra attention. Thank YOU Mrs. Mahoy and Ms. Fernandez.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2006

This school after first grade don't have a individual ESOL program, the student with ESOL level 2,4,5 or English speakers going together in the same class and they don't use the specific strategies for this type of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

The school does not not provide 'After school tutoring programs' for kids that are below average. Also, there reading programs are not helping kids with reading problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

This school has done nothing but try to intimidate my daughter into fear. For the last 3 yrs of her attendance, the first day of class has always been a massive confusion and she has never been placed in the correct class. If your child complains about his/her teacher, listen. Trust in your child. These are your children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2005

This school was a Blue Ribbon School and has achieved an 'A' rating for 3 out of the 5 years. The Principal is very week weak and one of the major areas of opportunity. Dr. Hurns who left for bob Graham hurt the school by take some of the top teachers with her. The art, sports ans extracurricalr activites are light. parent involvement is average to above average. Overall, school is making strides to regain status it once had when Dr. Hurns was at the Helm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. Mys son's teacer Mrs. Del La Vega was a great example of what a teacher should be and I will miss her very much. Thank you Palm Springs for bringing out the best in my child and giving him the encouragement and confidence he needs to continue with his education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2005

My daughter attends Palm Springs elementary. I have nothing but great remarks about the teachers and staff. I would greatly recommend this school to any parent who takes their childs academic standards serious.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

162 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 93%
White 4%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIBEL B DOTRES
Fax number
  • (305) 825-0422

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17615 Northwest 82nd Avenue
Hialeah, FL 33015
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 821-4631

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT