Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palm Springs North Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 1047 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2012

this school is one of the cleanest nices and one of the best teachers in miami dade county GO PATRIOTS R.I.P MR.M


Posted May 18, 2010

Because the teacher are very involved with the kids. Is a big sweet home!!! the staff really be nice with the parents and the children. is a great place for educate and great development for daughters. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

As a parent I'm can said excellent, this school have an excellent principal, an ameinsing staff, if I have to give a number for me they have 10
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

BEST SCHOOL EVER! My son is in the school and my daughter just left for the 2010 year for middle school. She keeps on blabbing about how much she wishes she could attend middle school there but they only have elementary. HIGH QUALITY SCHOOL!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

We are a great, experienced staff and sincerely care for the well-being our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

It has the best staff, and best administrators in the county.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

Palm Springs North (PSN) Elementary is wonderful school that offers its students a safe and nurturing learning environment. The teachers are outstanding and the students and parents are happy to be a part of PSN!


Posted October 5, 2009

I have been working here for 7 years and we have always ROCKED! We have been an A+ school for the last 4 years! We have an awesome staff, parents and most of all students. We work hard at PSN to make it the wonderful, special, unique school that it is. If you don't believe me come take a look for yourself!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

I have been a part of the Palm Springs North family for the last 7 years. With the support of our amazing administration, staff, students and parents, our school has always excelled academically. It is a wonderful feeling to truly enjoy where you work. PSN ROCKS!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

Our school has been an A school for the last 4 years. Last year, we had our highest 'A' EVER! We scored higher than the new schools nearby that have all the newest and latest technology. We also have an outstanding community school program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

PSN is awesome! It's my second family!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Best School Ever, What an incredible staff!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Love coming to Work at PSN-- At our school the administration as well as our teachers work as a team for our students to ACHIEVE!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

I love our fabulous administration and staff that make it a pleasure to come to work each day!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Palm Springs North Elemementary's admininistration and staff are old school--teaching Challenging Academics, Responsibility, and Hard Work equaling Success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I love PSN because the students and the staff are outstanding in every sense of the word. We are an A school, and continue to ride 'A' wave of success. Our administration is simply the best! I am a parent and a teacher of PSN... A dream come true!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I have worked at two other schools in the past and by far this is the best school in Miami-Dades County. We are a true community and feel like a family here. Teachers and students alike love going to school everyday because of the learning community that we have establised in our school where everyone is important and is valued.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2007

I am a proud parent of three children, two whom previously attended PSN. But now are attending Middle and High School. My daughter is now in first grade, I really have been blessed my experience so far with the teachers and staff have been great! There's definetly one person at PSN, 'Mrs. Moye' who I can say has been the best!!! I've never met such a loving and dedicated person. Ms. Moye thank you for all your help, you will be missed. Ms. Chi
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

My Daughter just finished 4th Grade with Mr. Leon and Ms Jones. Mr. Leon is a dedicated, hard working and patient teacher that knows how to bring out the very best of our Kids. He has taught my daughter to give her optimum and that she is capable to achieve greatness if she puts her mind into it (taught her how to write great essays:) He is always willing to provide assistance whenever help is needed. Last, but not least Ms. Jones the Science/Math teacher demonstrated day a by day her passion for her assignments and knew how to make our children more interested on this subjects. She found ways for us parents to spend time with our kids (Loved the projects!) :-) Mr. Leon and Ms Jones are a perfect example of Great Teachers. Thank you! Y. Rosello
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

My daughter is a transfer student to Plam Springs North. It has turned out to be one of the worse decisions I have ever made. She is in one of the advanced classes at the school and if the education she is receiving in the advanced class it would be a disgrace to see what the students in regular classes are learning. I will do everything in my power to make sure that my child is transferred from Palm Springs North Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

167 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

181 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

162 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 93%
White 4%
Black 3%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 67%58%61%
Master's degree 31%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 1%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 5%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIBEL B DOTRES
Fax number
  • (305) 825-0422

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17615 Northwest 82nd Avenue
Hialeah, FL 33015
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 821-4631

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT