Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Twin Lakes Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 583 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2013

Sad, twin lakes is the worst school , good teachers and a very polite assistant principal, but sadly I can't say the same about new principal. A very uneducated person. My SON is now ATTENDING Palm Spring Middle, and I am very glad. Hope she learns how to treat parents and teachers, because if she keeps on like that, she will have to retired, I can't understand why she is like that because she is very smart. :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

The new principal in this school is very rude, they care more about attendance then the health of child or situation. When you try to set up a meeting they take FOREVER. I am concidering changing my child from that school to North twin lakes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

I can rate the school a 0% due to the principal that the school has . teachers are very nice, but the principal is very rude, has no professional ethical at all screams to all the kids in the hall way, kids are afraid when they see her. Don't let them finish there breakfast, insults parents verbally and thinks she is in the army, if you walk in the office the ladies that work in the office have to whisper because she doens't allow them to talk to nobody. She treats the teachers like if they were kindergardten. You cant enjoy the award ceremony anymore everything is running no pictures can't be taken, no christmas show, no spring show, the shows is were the kids use to show there talents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

I TOTALLY AGREE WITH THE PREVIOUS COMMENT , SINCE THE NEW PRINCIPAL, THIS SCHOOL IS GETTING EVERYDAY WORST.I CAN'T EVEN BELIEF HOW RUDE AND UNPROFESIONAL SHE IS.. I AM GLAD THAT THIS IS MY LAST YEAR HERE SO THE PAIN IS GOING TO LEFT ME SOON. I RECOMEND NORTH TWIN LAKE, THERE YOU CAN TAKE PICTURES OS YOUR KIDS WHEN THEY GET THEIR CEREMONIES, A PRIVILEGE THAT WE LOST AS A PARENT OF TWIN LAKE SINCE WE HAVE NEW PRINCIPAL.. YES BECAUSE THE OTHER REVIEW FORGOT TO TELL THAT YOU CAN'T EVEN TAKE PICTURES OF YOUYR KIDS ON CEREMONIES. SO SAD...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

This school used to be one of the bests schools in hialeah area, but now it is not like that any more. Since, Ivette bernal pino begins as or new principal. It have been a mess, parents are treat as garbage, she screams to kids, parents, and staff. All the parents have been calling to the region but the region have been doing nothing. I am a very concern parent, I can't even belief that I will have to move my kids because of her.... She doesn't care about kids or staff... On rainy days , she doesn't let the parents go with a umbrella to where the kids are.. You have to wait under rain until a staff member bring your kids to you! It is incredible I haven't seen this situation in any other school.. I am very disappointed as a parent.. Also school activities such as Christmas have been cut... Also parents can't be in school as volunteers . . Since Mrs the Leon left this school have been a big mess... It is really sad because the school staff taking out the principal is really good.. Here we have excellent teachers that care about their students and about their well being..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

My 2 boys have been going to this school for 2 years now and overall it is a pretty good school. Some of the pros are: They have a lot of activities, they are organized, they have amazing teachers and staff that work hard to get your child what they need, and they make sure every child is at appropriate reading and math levels. Some of the cons are: after school pick-up takes forever, you are not allowed inside the school, it is hard to speak to the teacher after school (have to set up meeting), they give A LOT of homework, and they are super strict about attendance. Overall, though my children are happy, learning, and improving everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2011

There is a new principal its is no longer mrs.de leon the new principal is very tough on the kids sometimes but she is well educated. she is excellent she plans lots of fun activities for the kids and i especially love it to as well i am a student at this school


Posted August 24, 2009

This is my daughters' first day of school in kindergarten. I was very suprised to hear from my child that she never washed her hands in school. I believe that as a priority teachers should make an effort to make sure that they wash their hands. Also the school is very nice and the teacher, but to pick up your child was a nightmare. There is no organization to pick up you lil ones.... maybe because it was the first day...lets see what happens in the next few days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

this school is a very good school.all of my 2 daughters went there and Im very happy with the outcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2007

This is my son first year in twin lake and so far the teacher have been wonderful they take there time to help you if you don't understand sometihing being a one child mother it makes me feel happy leaving my son at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2006

This school is more concerned with keeping it's A grade then the students. They put so much pressure on the children with very little reward. Children should enjoy participating in school. It is the schools responsibility to make learning fun. Unfortunately, this is not the schools priority. I am very glad that my child only has one year left in this school. The after care program is very un-organized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

This school is very good and is concerned about the education and safety of you child/children. The only thing I do not agree with is the unfriendliness of the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

Great School. Very clean and very attentive of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

The facilities are great. The teachers are excellent. There are lots of programs and ceremonies that my daughter loved. The separate art and music classes, even in kindergarten, are great. There were just 2 things that really disappointed me. Firstly, every assembly, or program that was held with the parents was bi-lingual. I don't speak spanish, but i had to sit through a program that was twice as long and i couldn't understand half of it. The PTA meetings were also in Spanish. One person had to translate the main point for me. The second problem I had was very limited parent involvement. The PTA was a foreign concept to most parents and not many were interested in doing anything. It is a great school for spanish speakers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Both my children have attended Twin Lakes Elementary. Ms. De Leon has been the principal and I would like to express what a wonderful principal she is. She truly cares about her students, teachers and faculty. I couldn't ask for a more caring principal than Ms. De Leon. she is tough but her dedication is an A+. I would like to add that from the PTA to all the teachers this is a great school... Sincerely, Martha Latour
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 93%
Black 5%
White 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 50%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 66%58%61%
Master's degree 32%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 0%2%1%
Other degree 2%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 3%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. IVETTE BERNAL-PINO
Fax number
  • (305) 824-0915

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6735 West 5th Place
Hialeah, FL 33012
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 822-0770

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT