Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mae M. Walters Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 668 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2014

This school need more support to this kids, My son goes to this school , and is very hard to get along with his math teacher. no support, no help. when i ask about my son i have to make and appointment if I'm lucky i get a call back. I think is very important the teacher and the parents get along. when i pick up my son she not even lock at me. no chance to ask how my son was is very frustrated, I ready have two meetings with the principal no help it all. I want my son to finish this year and try to move to another school. The really care for our future if we don't help our students know how they going to progress this students is our future. Please prepared this teachers our kids is in there hands..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

Teachers need to learn, to respect the students if they want to get respect back, they raise the voice to the kids. Is not a propitiate way to get respect.


Posted October 18, 2013

This school is losing rather than winning quality. Some teachers are good and concerned but not all. Others do not use the best methods to teach and achieve discipline, imposing punishment, shouting or saying derogatory phrases to achieve what is supposed to achieve with pedagogy and expertise, given that you're dealing with children, which I think they forget very often. In this case we have one PE teacher. The positive, the two people working in the office, very efficient, courteous and always help you to resolve any concerns. Esta escuela va perdiendo calidad en vez de ganar. Algunos maestros son buenos y preocupados pero no son todos. Otros no usan los mejores metodos para ensenar y lograr disciplina, imponiendo castigos, gritando o diciendo frases despectivas para lograr lo que se supone se logre con pedagogia y pericia, teniendo en cuenta que estas tratando con ninos, algo que creo se les olvida muy a menudo. Como algunas profesoras de PE. Lo positivo, pues las dos personas que atienden la oficina, muy eficientes, corteses y siempre te ayudan a resolver cualquier inquietud.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

I love Mae m Walters it's fun and always have nice techars you can always get a second chance with techars and you get to decide if you are going to that school I recommend you do


Posted November 21, 2011

I went too this school Pre-K through , 4th grade after I moved . I LOVE THIS SCHOOL . I have amazing , memories at this school & I wished I would've finished my elementary years there . <3


Posted October 11, 2011

School has earned an A for eight consecutive years, based on the State of Florida s Accountability System, priding itself on having knowledgeable and caring teachers and staff. Under the principal's leadership, teachers collaborate to provide the best education possible. Student achievement is also proportionate to the amount of parental involvement offered by parents who are interested in their children's success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2009

I could only rate the school from Pre-K -Kindergarten. The Pre K teachers are fantastic. They give the students a good foundation for kindergarten. Kindergarten has been a great experience. I am impressed with the curriculum this school has for this grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

It's a good school. Not too many extra-curricular activities, though. But overall I'm happy with the quality of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

Teachers that care about the education and well being of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

The school is excellent! The teachers are very caring and involved. The principal is well mannered and professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

I went to this school as a child and i believe it has great teachers and great techniques. The atmosphere is very happy and I have great memories of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2003

It a great school that has come very far thanks to its Teachers and Administrators. It is a shame that the only thing that brings this school down is the lack of involvement from the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 57% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 61% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2014.

157 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
51%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT 2.0) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, 3 through 8 in math, in grades 5 and 8 in science, and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in writing. The FCAT 2.0 is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Florida. The FCAT 2.0 has 5 achievement levels, with level 1 being the lowest and level 5 the highest. Florida considers scores of level 3 and higher to be on or above grade level. The goal is for all students to score at or above level 3.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % scoring at or above level 3

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Florida used the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) to test students in grades 4, 8 and 10 in writing. The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT) is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills needed to progress through school. The FCAT writing exam is scored on a scale of 1 to 6. The state considers a score of 3 or above as meeting state standards.

Source: Florida Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2008-2009, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Florida uses School Grades to measure the overall performance of a school each year on the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT). Each school is assigned a letter grade (A-F) based on three criteria: the overall performance on the FCAT, the percentage of eligible students who took the test, and whether or not students made progress in reading and math. The School Grades are calculated by adding points earned from each of the performance criteria listed above.

Source: Florida Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 97%
White 2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 55%N/AN/A
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/AN/A
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Bachelor's degree 75%58%61%
Master's degree 24%N/A36%
Doctorate degree 2%2%1%
Other degree 0%N/A2%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Classes taught by non-highly qualified teachers 2%N/A5%
Source: FL Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. YOLANDA L VALLS
Fax number
  • (305) 827-4465

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

650 West 33rd Street
Hialeah, FL 33012
Website: Click here
Phone: (305) 822-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


We Love Kids
Hialeah, FL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT