Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

584 students|Dade
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mae M. Walters Elementary School 4

Posted September 17, 2015
- a community member
Mi hijo y sobrina perecen a la escuela y de verdad me gusta es bien buena

Mae M. Walters Elementary School 5

Posted July 28, 2015
- a teacher
My hijo pertenece a la escuela y es súper buena y My sobrinos igual la escuela es la mejor y los maestros y director


Mae M. Walters Elementary School 1

Posted February 04, 2014
- a community member
Teachers need to learn, to respect the students if they want to get respect back, they raise the voice to the kids. Is not a propitiate way to get respect.

Mae M. Walters Elementary School 3

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
This school is losing rather than winning quality. Some teachers are good and concerned but not all. Others do not use the best methods to teach and achieve discipline, imposing punishment, shouting or saying derogatory phrases to achieve what is supposed to achieve with pedagogy and expertise, given that you're dealing with children, which I think they forget very often. In this case we have one PE teacher. The positive, the two people working in the office, very efficient, courteous and always help you to resolve any concerns. Esta escuela va perdiendo calidad en vez de ganar. Algunos maestros son buenos y preocupados pero no son todos. Otros no usan los mejores metodos para ensenar y lograr disciplina, imponiendo castigos, gritando o diciendo frases despectivas para lograr lo que se supone se logre con pedagogia y pericia, teniendo en cuenta que estas tratando con ninos, algo que creo se les olvida muy a menudo. Como algunas profesoras de PE. Lo positivo, pues las dos personas que atienden la oficina, muy eficientes, corteses y siempre te ayudan a resolver cualquier inquietud.

Mae M. Walters Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2013
- a community member
I love Mae m Walters it's fun and always have nice techars you can always get a second chance with techars and you get to decide if you are going to that school I recommend you do


Mae M. Walters Elementary School 5

Posted November 21, 2011
- a community member
I went too this school Pre-K through , 4th grade after I moved . I LOVE THIS SCHOOL . I have amazing , memories at this school & I wished I would've finished my elementary years there . <3

Mae M. Walters Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2011
- a teacher
School has earned an A for eight consecutive years, based on the State of Florida s Accountability System, priding itself on having knowledgeable and caring teachers and staff. Under the principal's leadership, teachers collaborate to provide the best education possible. Student achievement is also proportionate to the amount of parental involvement offered by parents who are interested in their children's success.

Mae M. Walters Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
I could only rate the school from Pre-K -Kindergarten. The Pre K teachers are fantastic. They give the students a good foundation for kindergarten. Kindergarten has been a great experience. I am impressed with the curriculum this school has for this grade.


Mae M. Walters Elementary School
no rating

Posted December 04, 2008
- a parent
It's a good school. Not too many extra-curricular activities, though. But overall I'm happy with the quality of teaching.

Mae M. Walters Elementary School 5

Posted December 19, 2007
- a parent
Teachers that care about the education and well being of the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mae M. Walters Elementary School
650 W 33rd St, Hialeah, FL  33012-5113
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (305) 822-4600
Last modified Mae M. Walters Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top