Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public charter
Hialeah, FL
Students enrolled: 798

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mater Academy Lakes Middle School 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a community member
I am a former student at Mater Lakes and this school was one of the best that I've gone to. Academic wise, they do a very good job. Although they give you a lot of homework, it helped me a lot when I toke the FCAT. There is very few bullying and some drama, like every middle school. The teachers here do a very good job and are always involved in your studies and are very nice, just like a lot of the staff. The principle and vice principle are always very involved in whats going on and overall do a very great job. I definitely do recommend this school to anyone that's in this area.

Mater Academy Lakes Middle School 5

Posted June 08, 2014
- a community member
This school is very good the teachers push the students to there best its short and simple if you think you should go then go and if not then thats your decision but be prepared because this school is hard and pushes you to your best.


Mater Academy Lakes Middle School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
So far the school the has been average, but yet it is the first week of school, my kids love there teachers and there classes.. I'm writing this review to let everyone know and update as the school year goes by, so far so good.

Mater Academy Lakes Middle School 1

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
Don't walk RUN from this terrible school. It's a typical charter that care only about $$$. Last yr the 8th grade class dance was canceled at the last minute. No true gifted program and your child will have to drop his gifted category from miami dade. Also a total disconnect from the office to the portables of the middle school, which is a huge concern. Teacher complain all the time of not getting correct info from office. Principal is super low class and no PTSA ever available to help. School also lost my sons money for yr book. They charge high fees for sport and then need to walk 10 blocks to PSN for practice lol. Make the 5 minute drive and change to Jose Mast Academy or Bob Gram

Mater Academy Lakes Middle School 2

Posted July 12, 2012
- a community member
this school stinks seriously. the sixth graders are stuffed into a long portable with half the 7th grade population and a few 8th grade classes equaling in horrible traffic were some one with clausto phobia can easly freak out, there is no cafeteria just a big tent, then the pe students must walk a 3 minute walk, plus the 2 muinites it takes to get through traffic, you barrley make it, then it is to a class room to change with the next door class, were the teracher is not pleasent, and are forced to wait outside wile the boys change! overal i fled to another !!!!!!!


Mater Academy Lakes Middle School 1

Posted February 10, 2012
- a community member
I WAS going to send my child to this school but I couldn't get anyone on the phone to get information. Looks like that was a blessing in disguise.

Mater Academy Lakes Middle School 1

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
the communication between teachers and parents is non existent! if you ask to speak to the Principal she is never available to speak to you as a parent! The teachers do little to motivate the students and are not very flexible in the approach they take with the children.

Mater Academy Lakes Middle School 3

Posted June 30, 2011
- a parent
I think Mater lakes academy is an average school . They don't have the best teahcers there, nor the worst either. If i had to recommend any school it would be Bob Graham Education Center Hialeah Gardens Middle school or Mater academy. when you call the school , they never pick up either, send you're child to one of the schools recommended,


Mater Academy Lakes Middle School 3

Posted June 03, 2011
- a community member
Why doesn't anyone ever answer the telephone(s) at this school? I have called there over the years and dial every extension from the office to administration to the cafeteria! I find this to be a hazard, what if there is an emergency????

Mater Academy Lakes Middle School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
I love because its first comminment is that the Kids Learn. They constantly fight very hard to give the students the best education they can.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mater Academy Lakes Middle School
17300 Northwest 87th Avenue, Hialeah, FL  33015
(305) 512-3917
Last modified Mater Academy Lakes Middle School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mater Academy Lakes Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top